We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved sofia”
Review of Hotel Sofia

Hotel Sofia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sofia
Ranked #530 of 649 Hotels in Prague
aberdeen scotland
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved sofia”
Reviewed July 18, 2008

hotel sofia
nice cheap hotel.rooms cleaned every day and breakfast enough to start you off.we found the staff at reception very nice and aggness is the best and so helpful,she is such a nice person and she made myself and husband laugh.nothing was a problem for them and if you wanted anything, they did their best to make sure they satisfied you.we enjoyed our stay and the location was great.

  • Liked — location and friendly reception staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aliwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
1
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

3 night break in March.

Location: ok. 15 min walk to Museum and Wenceslas Square and 20 mins from the Old Town. The metro station is about 2 mins away which takes you everywhere else. Good variety of restaurants and bars surrouding hotel. Quiet location which was welcomed after the hustle and bustle of town.

Room: Decor's a little tired but the room was huge, clean, warm, comfortable and welcoming. Plenty of space, big bed, massive wardrobes, TV, radio alarm, phone, clean on-suite. However we were on the top floor and there are NO lifts! Found this really hard going after a busy day of walking.

Facilities: Reception stuggled a bit with the language but still were very helpful booking all of our tours. Good filling breakfast.

Overall: A little tired but clean and welcoming. A good budget base for exploring if you don't mind a walk.

  • Liked — Budget base for exploring
  • Disliked — NO LIFT - loads of steep stairs
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Booked as package with easyJet airline, this three-star listed hotel is really just a good, clean, friendly, quiet and quite small guesthouse. All the very small bedrooms are on the second and third floors and there is no lift !!
Well placed though, just off-centre with excellent tram and metro stations, 300 metres away with several really good Czech and international restaurants just a short walk away.
For what we paid it was excellent value for money.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank UKNobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

A nice hotel in a lovely part of town. All the staff were excellent. Reception were so helpful it is worth extra praise. Rooms were spotlessly clean although quite basic. The continental breakfast was very good and was enough to start the day. We had a lie in one morning with a do not disturb sign on the door. Fresh towels etc were left outside the door when we woke. Only thing this hotel lacks is an elevator. It has 4 floors and the 1st floor is offices. We were on the second floor which was quite a hike. All in all we would use this hotel again for a short break but for longer stays I would like an elevator in the hotel. Fit & healthy people would really enjoy this hotel for it's nice location, clean comfortable rooms and excellent friendly staff.

  • Liked — Really friendly helpful reception staff
  • Disliked — No Lift / Elevator
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

My wife and I spent four days in Prague staying at Hotel Sophia.
It was very easy to reach the hotel from the airport using public transport. The 119 bus from the airport connected with the metro and the hotel was just a few stops along the line, conveniently placed less than five minutes walk from the metro station. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful and language was not a problem. Breakfast was quite adequate plenty from which to choose. The room although modestly furnished was clean ,tea and coffee was supplied each day and we were well look after with clean towels although we had not requested them.
The only negative comment is that as the hotel has no lift it was quite an effort to carry luggage up the stairs.
For an economic hotel I would recommend the Sophia Prague

  • Liked — Convenient for public transport and friendly staff
  • Disliked — No Lift
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mafsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My gf and I stayed here in July '07 for 3 nights. We got an extremely good deal on expedia and were attracted by its location. Its about a 15 min walk to Wenceslas Sq and about 20 mins from the Old Town + other touristy areas on the metro (station is round the corner). From this point of view it was perfect. Only problems were we were on the 4th floor with no lift (more a problem if you are not able bodied) and we were there during a heat wave (37 degrees) with no A/C!!

But you do get what you pay for so it was more than adequate for our needs

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no a/c or lift
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaanthan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stayed at this hotel with 2 friends in Aug 2005 and thought it was great value for money, it is a budget hotel but the room was comfortable and spacious, we had a triple on the top floor which was 92 steps up but burned off all the lovely food and drink we consumed! there was a kingsize bed and a big single, a huge wardrobe and a massive bathroom, tea and coffee facilities. It made a great base to see the city from as its a 2 minute walk from the tube station and bus station with quite a few nice bars nearby too. The staff did seem a bit surly at times but this was mainly at 5am when we wanted to buy cigarettes! otherwise they were very helpful, recommending places to visit and the best ways to get there.
we didn't make it up in time for brekkies but it smelled lovely!
I would recommend this hotel to someone who has visited Prague before or is a good map reader! we did get a bit lost at times as it is a bit out of the main area but overall a nice place to rest your head!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — 92 steps!!!.....after many Bacardis!
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racheyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Miss Sophie's Hotel
Miss Sophie's Hotel
#102 of 649 in Prague
689 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Trevi
Hotel Trevi
#254 of 649 in Prague
275 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
EA Hotel Tosca
EA Hotel Tosca
#168 of 649 in Prague
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#355 of 649 in Prague
332 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#77 of 649 in Prague
826 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#8 of 660 in Prague
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sofia

Property: Hotel Sofia
Address: Americka 744/28, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Vinohrady & Vrsovice , Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #530 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sofia 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pleasant Hotel Sofia is located directly in the centre of the city, in a residential quarter, close to the metro station and only one stop from the Wenceslas Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing