We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room and breakfast not impressive”
Review of Rott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rott Hotel
Ranked #74 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We like other reviewers loved the location of this hotel and that was why we chose it. I was really looking forward to staying here as last month we stayed across in the Lesser Town so this was going to be a different perspective of Prague. All attractions are so close to this hotel. Our room was small with vaulted ceilings and heavy beams that were very low on one side of the bed. The only light was through the door that led to a small balcony. This balcony looked over rooftops. There were no windows in our room so it was rather dark.
The floors were very creaky. We were on floor 4 and we were glad we didn't have anyone above us as the creaking was loud, even when you tried to creep. The bathroom was miniscule. Two people were not able to stand near the basin mirror area at the same time.
Breakfast was very disappointing. The fruit was whole, cut into two or three pieces, unskinned. Bananas were on the platter, cut into two, skin on. Just no aesthetic presentation used at all. Only two types of bread available. Cereal was limited in choice. Porridge was provided. We did not eat from the hot selection. The design of the breakfast benches was galley in style and made manoeuvring difficult. Coffee was really poor. I could not drink it. We returned to our room to make our own as there was a jug. We decided not to eat in the restaurant based of the standard of the breakfast. We had been given a card on check-in that entitled us to a discount for being hotel guests but that couldn't entice us.
We have friends travelling to Prague later this year and we would probably not recommend this hotel and would probably stay elsewhere ourselves next visit.

Room Tip: Probably avoid room on Floor 4 with a small balcony and vaulted ceiling if you want some natural lig...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racandtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your review, although reading it was not a pleasant moment for me. I would just like to add a few notes and comments - partially to explain some facts, and partially to express apologies.
As you might be aware of, the hotel was built into a very old building and due to the architectural heritage rules, the inner houseplan as well as many architectural elements had to be left untouched- that´s the wooden beams in your room, as well as the old and original 19th century "creeky" floor. There is not much about these facts that can be changed - and there are some of our guests, who just love these old authentic elements, and come back to hotel Rott in search of authenticity. Our reception staff is always willing to change the room, when there is something our guests do not like, so you could have been provided with another room upon request. Please, would you accept my deep apologies for this inconvenience.
For the breakfast, as you noticed, the possibilities of displaying the food and drinks are limited, too, and for the same reason - the medieval basement of the hotel is just as small as it is. You are perfectly right with the quality of coffee, and we are going to change the breakfast coffee machine within a week, it´s been ordered for some time already.
The display of fruits is a matter of personal taste, and again - some of our guests prefer having the banana cut just into halves, as they want to eat it the way they do it usually, and wouldn´t do otherwise.
I really regret all the facts that made your stay unpleasant and do hope you would change your mind and give us an occasion to improve our image in your eyes upon your next stay with us.
I wish you all the best into your journeys, and hope to meet you again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Jana Budinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,529)
There are newer reviews for Rott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

just had a fantastic stay in prague , such a beautiful city, lots of cobbles and tram lines, so high heels are a no no, . the hotel rott is round the corner from the old square 2 minute walk, would like to thank the managemet and staff for a nice stay, all staff very pleasant and helpful nothing to much trouble, breakfast better than expected bacon eggs etc, you will not go hungry, we were in room 316 , good view of the clock tower, room was spotlessly clean, with coffee making facilities, would stay there again.

Room Tip: 316 good view of clock tower.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your kind and pleasant words: it does make me happy to read our guests enjoy Prague and Hotel Rott - it means we fulifilled our mission!
I wish you good luck into all your journeys, and look forward to meeting you with us again.

With kind regards,

Jana Budinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotel has unbeatable location and is reasonably priced especially given the excellent breakfast. The reception area is most attractive and the breakfast area in the basement interesting retaining some of the features of the original building. We had room 107 which had comfortable beds with good quality linen and air conditioning and all the necessary furnishings. Clean towels every day. Noticed that the bathroom had under floor heating which in June we didn't want but would be great for a winter break. The service we received after booking was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel is right in centre so there is potential for noise. we had 107 overlooking a side street as we...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank npor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in hotel Rott for 3 nights on a recent girls city break and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location, literally round the corner from the famous Clock Tower in the old town square, where there were plenty of cafes/restaurants.

We were checked in promptly by the friendly and helpful staff. Our triple room was clean and spacious. There was a stocked minibar (prices was reasonable), a good size wardrobe, dressing table/desk, table and chair. The bathroom was also of a good size.

The popular sights, such as Charles Bridge, jewish quarter, etc all within short walking distance, as were many shops (several shopping mallls close by), bar and restaurant. The only down side to our city break was the poor weather, which was out of anyone's control. We had a wonderful few days and a very enjoyable stay in hotel Rott. I would certainly stay there again when I next visit Prague. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fierce-Spicy-Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Right in the center of Old Town Square. All the sights are within walking distance. Restaurants and shops are all right there. Katerina in the reservations department was extremely helpful in making sure that we had six rooms and a dinner reservation in their restaurant the day we arrived. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The ones that face the square might get a little noisy at night. Only one receptionist on the desk when the line was 5 deep would be my only complaint. Otherwise, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear sir,

thank you for your words about our hotel, I only regret to read your comment on the reception, because you are absolutely right - there should have been two receptionists to provide the most efficient - and sufficient - service. There actually are two receptionists on the day duty, and I will see to their unconditional presence at the reception during the day.
Our guests comments certainly help us to improve the details in service that might not be perfect.
I do hope upon your next stay with us the service - and not only at the reception- will be flawless.
Looking forward to meeting you in hotel Rott again,

Jana Budinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is less than 2 mins walk to the main square, where the astrological clock is. There's loads of shops and cafés all walking distance, plus the price of the room includes a brilliant buffet breakfast. Unlike a lot of European hotels this one also includes free wifi! I highly recommend staying here to anyone going to Prague.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Arianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very nice hotel for a visit to prague ....maybe a little out of the price range for the budget minded but the location is perfect to explore prague and its surrounds ....the room is nice ... breakfast was good ..staff were very helpful and their cost of airport pick up was competitive to the taxis ...750cz$$ I think ....at any rate without being overly wowed by any one thing we enjoyed our stay and would consider the rott again ..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear madam, reading words such as yours is a great pleasure, thank you very much for your time and efforts to write them, and we look forward to meeting you in Hotel Rott again!
Wishing you all the best,
Jana Budinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,305 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 648 in Prague
1,143 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 648 in Prague
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#70 of 648 in Prague
723 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#109 of 648 in Prague
849 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#105 of 648 in Prague
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rott Hotel

Address: Male namesti 138/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $94 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Prague at The Little Square (Male namesti), Hotel Rott is just a few steps from the famous Old Town Square and Old Town Astronomical Clock.Hotel Rott is on four floors, consisting of two buildings and offers 94 rooms, meeting facilities, café and a restaurant.One of the buildings proudly displays beautiful frescoes inspired by Mikolas Ales paintings.Our hotel provides the perfect starting point for all business and sightseeing locations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Rott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing