We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel right in the centre of Old Town”
Review of Rott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rott Hotel
Ranked #80 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel right in the centre of Old Town”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

A great hotel right next to the old town square. The rooms are bright and clean and the staff at the hotel are all polite and helpful and the concierge Martin is a great guy. The breakfast is ok with a selection of standard european cold meats, cheese, cakes, breads and fruit. The hot sausages ,bacon eggs could have been hotter. We had a great stay of 4 nights and did not have to walk far to see a lot of the old town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razor690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    562
    119
    34
    17
See reviews for
316
687
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very centrally located right next to the Old Square so close to all the major attractions of Prague. We had an Executive Room which was beautiful and comfortable although somewhat overpriced.

The Hotel is badly let down by very indifferent and unfriendly staff and a lack of attention to detail. The room was not cleaned very well, dirty glasses left out and toiletries/tissues not replaced daily. The breakfast is adequate but the juice is insipid as it comes out of a machine and the fresh fruit is cut in half so it is brown by the time you get to breakfast.

We would not recommend staying here as there is a good choice of other hotels near this prime location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guanabana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear madame, dear sir,

thank you very much for your review, although it is not an easy reading for me. The words you are writing about the staff are not a usual kind of words I am used to hear - most of our clients praise the staff and the services, and I feel really sorry to read you were not satisfied. I will certainly talk to everyone concerned and we will do our best to improve the points you mention.
For the fruit at breakfast, some other guests prefer having just pieces of fruits, as they want to taste a bit of several kinds, and would not eat the whole piece. But we can certainly and easily improve this point of your review and have the fruits prepared both ways- cut and whole.
Please, would you accept my deep apologies for the inconvenience you met in our hotel, and I do hope you might change your decision and come to hotel Rott again in the future. I would appreciate having the occasion to improve the image of our hotel in your eyes.
Nevertheless, thank you very much once more for your feed back.
Wishing you all the best,

with regards,

Jana Budinska, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel has one of the best locations in Prague, next to Old Town Square with the famous clock and bustling stalls and artists. From Here you can take a tour bus or as we did, went on a Segway Tour which I think was the best way to see Prague in view of the cobbled streets and large area, we were able to view the castle up close and got an excellent optional summary by the guide. Two of our party had never been on them before but enjoyed the experience. The Hotel is very near the shopping mall and also the main shopping street where we went to The Railway Pub which has a miniature railway delivering drinks. The rooms were large and clean and next to the Hard Rock Cafe where we did most of our drinking. It was never packed and the food and drink was plentiful and cheap. The Staff at the hotel were very helpful and the breakfast was also of a high standard. We loved Budapest but Prague more and would definitely recommend and stay at this Hotel again. It was also near the Ice Bar which was well worth a visit

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor but all rooms seemed nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is our third time staying at Hotel Rott. We would not choose anywhere else. It is in a perfect location situated in Old Town which is one of the most central and beautiful parts of Prague. The staff at Rott were all friendly and paid particular attention to our 16 month old daughter, which she loved. The breakfast buffet had a large selection of food including pastries, fresh fruit, ham, cheese, fresh bread through to eggs, bacon and sausages. The restaurant at Rott is one of the best in Prague and very reasonably priced; we were also given three vouchers for 20% off for our stay. The rooms are spacious and are of a high quality with wooden floors. We stayed in an executive double and there was plenty of space for a cot which the hotel supplied. We will be going back to Hotel Rott again in the near future.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanJeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Ian, Charlotte and Mia,

I appreciate your kind words about hotel Rott, thank you for your valuable feedback! As the essential aim of our hospitality business is making people´s lives better, easier, and more enjoyable, we are really glad we succeed in doing so...
Thank you for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our hotel soon again.
Wishing you luck into all of your journeys,

Jana Budinska, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at the Rott for three days and we had no complaints. It's round the corner from the main square (less than a 30 second walk) and just under five minutes from the Charles Bridge. The hotel is next door to the Hard Rock Cafe which was handy for a meal and you couldn't hear a sound from the restaurant in your room.
The rooms are spacious and the staff were very welcoming and helpful.
There's loads to do near to the hotel as well as a bundle of restaurants.
I'd stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1991Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear madam, dear sir, our guests,

thank you for your kind review, and even if not within a heart beat, I hope we will have the occasion to welcome you very soon again!
With my heartfelt appreciation of your time and efforts,
sincerely,
Jana Budinska, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hotel Rott is located in the ideal spot in Prague. You can step out into the bustling atmosphere of the Old Town Square and can walk within 5 minutes to Charles Bridge. The room was comfortable and well supplied and the breakfast was one of the best I've had with plenty to choose from and keep you full until late afternoon! I would have no hesitation in staying again and friends of mine have already booked their stay here in a couple of months!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear sir,

thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel: it is always the most pleasant moment of our work to hear - or read - our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Which is the fact we all are striving for. Thank you once more, and we will be looking forward to meeting you here in Prague upon your next journey to our city. And I wish you all the best into all of your journeys!
With regards, Jana Budinska, GM, hotel Rott Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Rott is located in Old Town; 5 minutes from the Astronomical Clock one direction and 5 minutes from the Charles Bridge the other direction. The room was very clean and comfortable; nice warm showers with a view overlooking the square. The staff is very helpful and for Americans who are concerned with a language barrier there is always someone around who speaks English. The breakfast buffet is ample with several choices. Had a great meal in the evening for $12 which included a glass of wine. Really loved Prague and if I were to return I would stay at the Hotel Rott again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RottHotel, General Manager at Rott Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words about hotel Rott! I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Prague and do hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again upon your future stay in Prague.
All the best into all of your journeys,

with kind regards,

Jana Budinska, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
1,115 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 649 in Prague
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#151 of 649 in Prague
997 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#71 of 649 in Prague
720 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#109 of 649 in Prague
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rott Hotel

Property: Rott Hotel
Address: Male namesti 138/4, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of historic Prague at The Little Square (Male namesti), Hotel Rott is just a few steps from the famous Old Town Square and Old Town Astronomical Clock.Hotel Rott is on four floors, consisting of two buildings and offers 94 rooms, meeting facilities, café and a restaurant.One of the buildings proudly displays beautiful frescoes inspired by Mikolas Ales paintings.Our hotel provides the perfect starting point for all business and sightseeing locations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing