We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
Ranked #205 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We travelled as a couple and stayed here for 6 nights in February. We'd booked a package (flights and hotels) through Expedia and got a really good deal. The hotel has a modern interior although the main building dates from the early 19th century. We had a corner room on the third floor (313), and although it faced two streets it was very quiet. The room and bathroom were quite spacious and very clean, with all the expected amenities, including WiFi, safe and a flat-screen TV which included CNN and BBC World. Our room had no minibar or fridge though, but it being February, leaving our drinks between the double windows did the trick.

Housekeeping was excellent. The bedlinen was automatically changed after 3 days and the towels were replaced as requested (by either leaving them on the rail or on the floor).

The buffet breakfast was OK but not outstanding. Some of the hot dishes were merely lukewarm on some mornings, and from our point of view some menu choices (pasta, boiled rice and vegetables, soup) were peculiar for a breakfast, but of course tastes vary. There were more than enough alternatives to assure a hearty start to the day.

The reception staff spoke adequate English and were polite without being overly friendly. We'd arranged a taxi through the hotel from and to the airport and this arrived promptly every time.

The Hotel Páv is located within walking distance (10-15 minutes) from the Old Town and we walked everywhere, even twice up Neruda Street to the Castle. In fact we only used public transport once, when we took a tram-ride just for fun across the Vltava.

There are quite a few restaurants in the area, including the famous brewery U Fleků which is right next door. We tried it once, but although the food was OK we found it rather raucous, due in no small part to the incessant live accordion music. A better choice is the restaurant on the corner opposite the hotel (excellent goulash!).

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epukiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    632
    234
    48
    31
See reviews for
190
667
71
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights from the 20th February. We stayed in room 320 which was a no smoking room on the third floor overlooking the back of the hotel and was very quiet.

We are a married couple but budget travel and we really liked the hotel. The hotel is in the best possible location we think for a great holiday in Prague. It is situated on the edge of old town and new town so it is possible to walk to all the sites. We chose to do this instead of going on the tours which we found really expensive! Also it is very close to the metro and tram stations and stops and it is easy to get around Prague when you master this! The hotel is soooo close to the stop for tram 22 which takes you all the way up to the Castle which saves the legs!

Also around the hotel is also really great. The hotel is up a small street but up this street and the streets around it I think it is a young trendy area and there is some great restaurants, bars and beer halls which is cheaper than the more touristy areas.

The hotel itself has a small bar which is reasonably (Prague) priced which we did sit in, the rooms have free WiFi which was great. The rooms were clean and had everything you needed in this hotel and the price you are paying for it (think Travel inn in England).

The breakfast wasn't the best we have ever had but again you have to relate this back to the price of the hotel and the location - you are getting a bargin, and really it is fine with lots of choice, but not necesssarily tailored to the English (and why should it!) so tea, coffee, juice, cereal, toasts, pancakes, meats, cheeses, breads (even soup and pasta!) etc but no full English if you get what I mean (but there is bacon and hard boiled eggs).

In Prague everyone smokes. EVERYONE. There is smoke everywhere and your clothes stink of it if you are a non smoker. The hotel is no exception. The staff smoke etc and although the room we had is non smoking you can smell it in the corridors but then it is also like this everywhere in Prague and after sitting in any restaurant for a bit you smell like a smoker too!

Although on a budget we did get the hotel taxi service to and from the hotel which was 680k each way and although costly (but normal price of a taxi) we would recommend it as it was so easy and promt both ways it was just great. Also our flights wasn't until the evening and we left our luggage in the luggage room no problem.

If going back to Prague we would definitelty stay here again.

Room Tip: No views out the back but it is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dringo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Nice and clean. Walking distance of trams and subway. 20 min away from the Old Town Square.
The hotelnis simple, but clean. Service is fine, so it has a good cost benefit.
I recommend to use the massage chair close to the hobby. Great for relaxing while waiting for the taxi.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCecchetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at the Pav for 4 nights during a short trip to Prague. It's a lovely modern building, in a great location, close to Old Town Square, Wenceslas Square, New Town and within walking distance of all main attractions and landmarks.

We arranged our own transport from the airport, which was cheap and easy. The number 100 bus outside the main terminal goes to the metro station (Zlicin), and from there, jump on the metro at line B to the nearest stop from the hotel, which is Narodni Trida. Journey took around 50 minutes in total, including waiting on the bus/tube, which run very regularly, and cost no more than a couple of pounds for the two of us using a 90 minute ticket. The hotel is then a 5 minute walk and very easy to find.

Our room was lovely, very spacious and spotlessly clean with a safe, LCD TV, hairdryer, plenty of towels, lots of space for clothes, etc and free wifi. There were no tea and coffee making facilities but the information in the room said we could request this at reception, which we did on day 2 and promptly had the amenities delivered to our room (after some stern looks and deliberating from the receptionist).

A couple of little niggles about the room - alot of the TV channels didn't work, and of the ones that did, there were no English speaking channels. We booked a double room and got two single beds pushed together. (I've come to accept this as common practice for alot of hotels, especially in Europe, but there weren't even double sheets or a double duvet on the bed, they were both made up as completely separate beds... having accepted this in the past it just makes you think.... is it really ok to try and pass two single beds off as a double??)

Only one niggle about the hotel overall - the staff. Very sullen, not particularly helpful, and not so much as a good morning or good bye.

It was nice that breakfast was included in our rate but it wasn't up to much to be honest. The only good thing was it was served until 10.30am and it was buffet style so you could help yourself to whatever you wanted and leave. You could make your own toast and tea or coffee, which was fine. There was cereals, muesli, bread rolls and fruit, aswell as boiled eggs, which were there each morning, and a strange selection of other things, sweet and savoury. There was bacon one morning and a peculiar looking broth/soup another morning.

There were no meals available in the evening, but there was a bar and seating area in the lobby, which we didn't actually use.

The hotel was a fantastic base for visiting the nearby sights of Prague, and the warm room was great to return to after a long day out in the cold.

If you get fed up walking, public transport is cheap and very easy to use - the same ticket will give you access to trams, buses, metro and even the funicular railway. Note beforehand though that you can't buy tickets on the trams or subway, these have to be purchased at metro stations using the self-service ticket booths or from the main ticket desk (you can get them on buses though).

We'd definitely return to the Pav is we visit again, which we might do in the summer as it would be nice to experience such a wonderful city in a slightly warmer climate!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

+price (we got a deal for 49Eur /1night)
+location
+modern design
+nicely warm room even though outside was freezing cold
+breakfast

-the whole hotel smelt like cleaning product (savo) when we arrived
-the walls are extremelly thin
-room rate blocking on the credit card for weeks prior arrival

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvinkaBrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights. The outside of the hotel was clean and welcoming. When checking in we were asked to fill in a form with our address and name and our credit card details which come as a surprise to us as we have never been asked to do this before in any other hotel. We were then given the key and left to find our room ourselves.

We stayed in room 218 which was very nice, modern and clean. Outside was VERY cold -13 to up to -20 however inside was lovely and warm. There was a TV on the wall however most channels didn't work and those that did would sometimes blink. There was only one working English speaking channel (CNN).

The hallway is full of the smell of cigaretts so if you cannot stand this (the smell IS VERY strong) do not stay on floor 2.

The breakfast was fresh and the ladies working in there are very nice. There is a lot of variety regarding drinks and food.

Our taxi pick-up was at 7pm and we had to check out by 12pm. We asked how much it would be to keep the room for an extra 5-7 hours and we were quoted 1000 czk or £35 which in our opinion is expencive. There is a room upstairs where you are given a key and you can store your suitcase.

The hotel is well located, within walking distance of key attractions.

The night manager is very nice as is the breakfast staff, however the rest could be a little bit more friendly. When our pick-up car come (we were waiting in reception) they didn't even say goodbye- they just ignored us.

In conclusion the hotel is clean and equipped, breakfast was satisfactory however staff are not that friendly.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker stay on floor 2, if you are not a smoker DONT! Take a credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aglot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
721 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed for three nights. Hotel is located around 10 minutes walk distance from "Mala strana". The staff is ok, but should work on being more friendly. The rooms are modern and new. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Choose the room on upper floor, the ones on ground floor can be noisy because of the bar/cafe they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Best Western City Hotel Moran
Praha 5
Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#169 of 649 in Prague
826 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#126 of 649 in Prague
330 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#159 of 649 in Prague
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
Address: Kremencova 1250/13, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Old Town, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Páv offers easy and fast access to the historical parts of Prague and its most prominent landmarks. Both Charles Bridge and Old Town Square are within 10 minutes walking distance. Our BEST WESTERN Hotel Páv was completely renovated in March 2007. Our hotel is in the immediate vicinity of the U FLEKŮ brewery, with a tradition that goes back to 1499.BEST WESTERN Hotel Páv offers 89 rooms with all modern facilities. Each room comes with a bathroom equipped with a bath or shower, WC, hairdryer, towels and hotel cosmetics. Rooms have a telephone, satellite TV, safe and free unlimited Wi-Fi internet connection.The hotel BEST WESTERN PÁV’s ground floor has the outstanding and cosy interior to the lobby bar, which is an ideal place for private and business meetings.Visitors to the lobby bar have free WIFI internet connection along with 2 independent terminals with unlimited internet access. A big-screen LCD TV with 12 satellite sports and news channels helps create a pleasant atmosphere.We strongly recommend the pleasant seating with a LAMBORGHINI coffee, which comes in a variety of exotic liqueurs. A speciality of the lobby bar is Swiss chocolate with rum. Last but not least is the draft beer Plzeňský Prazdroj, which is a Czech national treasure. The Hotel bar offers a wide range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks of both Czech and foreign provenance.The Hotel atrium has a summer garden, an amazing and calm oasis in the very heart of Prague.We seek to provide comfortable accommodation with the following services:■The rich breakfast in the form of Swedish smorgasbords comes with the price of the room and is served Monday to Sunday from 7:30 to 10:30.■Lobby bar■PC terminal with internet connection free of charge in the lobby.■Each room has a telephone with direct calling.■Reception has secretarial services, fax, and photocopying.■Wi-Fi connection free-of-charge throughout the entire Hotel.■Correspondence and e-mails delivered to hotel guests.■We help find flight information and information on bus and train departures.■Reservation of tickets to the theatre, concerts and sporting occasions.■Tours, trips and excursions according to the latest offer.■Laundry, ironing and cleaning services.■Children’s cots on request.■A garage on request is available 150 m from the hotel – paid service.■Pets are permitted in the room only upon payment of a surcharge.■Credit cards – we accept: Visa, American Express, Eurocard-Mastercard, Maestro, JCB, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Best Western Pav
Hotel Pav Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing