We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Ruined by noise from Chapeau Rouge Bar”
Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metamorphis
Ranked #201 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Ruined by noise from Chapeau Rouge Bar”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I cannot agree more with previous reviewers.
Spacious rooms in a fairytale setting, ideally situated for Old Town Square, Astronomical Clock, Wenceslas Square et al.
Beware however the pounding noise and noisy revellers leaving the Chapeau Rouge Bar
barely a few metres away across the road.
Even making allowances for Christmas Day, I still think 4 a.m. is unacceptable for window rattling volume, and I have no reason to assume that the summer high season would be any different.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    223
    60
    18
    11
See reviews for
117
306
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I was on a conference in Prague and stayed at the Hotel Metamorphis for 6 nights with my son. It is a perfectly located character filled hotel, ideally located for sightseeing, public transport, restaurants etc. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and with double glazed windows the outside noise is irrelevant. There is more than enough choice at breakfast and the staff are always friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

Loved this hotel. The rooms were very large by European standards and very clean. The bathroom was huge with a large jacuzzi tub and a shower. Also had towel warmer. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Old Town Square where the Cathedral and Astronimical Clock dominate the setting. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

This was our second stay at the Metamorphis and it didn't disappoint. Our room was as big as an apartment with a fantastic view of Tyn Square and Cathedral; furnished with two double beds and gorgeous furniture. We had a couple of small problems which the staff sorted out immediately (the young man who works on reception went above and beyond what could ever had been expected of him).
The breakfast is buffet style with plenty of choice, but it was let down by the fact the cooked food was kept in a cold container and therefore wasn't hot! This said, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Perfect location for exploring Prague.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pre-RapheliteGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Room as big as an appartment with refurbished bathroom.
TV with two english channels.
Tea & coffee making facilities but had to ask reception for replacement tea & coffee.
Breakfast buffet was extensive & included hot bacon, sausages & egg.
Location is superb in being only three minutes from the main town square and less than ten minutes to Wenceslas square

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalesman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

The Hotel is in a very good location for a sightseeing break.
We took advantage of the hotel pick up service from the airport which is about £30.

The hotel is split over several buildings our room 46 was across the way next to the restaurant. The rooms here are in a courtyard setting, with the back door to the restaurant opening out here so you pass staff smoking, food deliveries, rubbish and about 5 in the morning they take out empty bottles in a trolley!! This is the biggest down side as usually you don't see this side of hotels.

Having said that our room was on the second floor and huge. We had a lounge area with two sofas, magazine table, table and chairs, telly including 2 english channels, single bed for our 8 year old son, tea/coffee area with a mini fridge.

Our bedroom area was a good size though it had two single beds pushed together and made as a double, personally i don't like this as you have the hard ridge where the mattresses are together. There was also a wardrobe and desk.

The bathroom defiantly needs looking at, its not bad but there is no 'proper' shower. There is a bath with a shower head halfway up the wall and no shower curtain. The toilet is in a separate little cupboard off the bathroom - but would not be suitable for larger people!

The cellar restaurant is where the buffet breakfast is served, it's a lovely setting the buffet is ok, cold meat, cheese, cereal, fruit, pastries, bread/toast, sausages, bacon and scrambled egg. The staff were struggling to keep the buffet stocked and cutlery available.

The hotel restaurant is Italian like about 50% of all restaurants in Prague - so it seems. It was averagely priced except for water. Water is expensive everywhere £8 for a liter bottle. Though a new law has just coming in in the Czech Republic where restaurants have to give free tap water!! You can order food from the restaurant to eat in your room but it costs 30% more!

There is no reason why I would not return to this hotel but I might go somewhere else just to try it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delacourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Stayed in Prague for 2 nights, and booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews on here. The hotel is perfectly located in the old town and is round the corner from Wenscelas Square. Like I say - you can't get more central in the Old Town. So having given it 5 out of 5 for location, I really needed more stars for the room in the hotel itself. It was STUNNING! (room 811) The bed was around 6 foot wide, tons of room and a spa style bathroom. The shower was so powerful I swear there's bruises on my back.

The staff were incredibly friendly, showing us the main sites to see on the map, gave us a few guides and how to booklets. Really couldn't have asked for more.

If there was 1 criticism - and I mean we are really splitting hairs here, there is a little bit of noise from the street - Not from bars or anything, but the occasional car passing through the pedestrianised square, or deliveries to the hotel and restaurant. But I think this is mostly attributed to our room being on the first floor. But I really wouldn't let this put you off!

Unfortunately, due to a combination of excessive sightseeing, Staropramen and flaming absinths, we didn't make it to breakfast. However it was included in the room rate and is apparently very good in the restaurant over the road.

The best thing about this hotel besides everything above, is the bar about 2 minutes walk to the right of the front door. Chapeau Rouge was quality with live bands, DJ's cheap beer and really great atmosphere.

All in all I would really recommend staying here. The rooms are really competitively priced (I thought it was a bargain or a mistake!) and it really made a fantastic base to see the city from.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueuk808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#313 of 649 in Prague
136 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#77 of 649 in Prague
1,514 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#221 of 649 in Prague
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,296 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,333 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#81 of 649 in Prague
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Property: Metamorphis
Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Family Hotel in Prague
#155 Business Hotel in Prague
#167 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing