We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metamorphis
Ranked #189 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a great hotel right in the heart of old town in its own cute square not surrounded by a million tourists. Very central location to walking to all of the sites in Praha. The room was huge and very nice and a very good big breakfast. We also did the beer spa located in the hotel which was a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    216
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
116
293
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gower Peninsula, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fantastic location in a quieter square just off the old own square. Great staff, rooms, restaurant. They even have a beer spa (not cheap though). They are attached to Restaurant Vabene which did some great Pizza and more local dishes. The square also contains a great Indian restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 31 is awesome - top floor, great view & huge - 3 separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

great location - 2 min from the old city squar and 5 min from Paladium mall! good public transportation to all the main atractions! great room - clean, big and comfy! great staff! great brakefast! great value!
the only thing that was'nt that good is the elevatore... really small! for one person only...

Room Tip: high floor with windows to the inter yard.. room 46 is amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. A brilliant location which is handy for all that Prague has to offer. The staff were most helpful when we arrived with our car. Our room was more an apartment, it was complete with kitchen, bathroom and a sitting room. The breakfast was served in the cellar which involved quite a few steps which might not suit anyone with a disability. It was such a shame we couldn't have stayed longer. If we return to Prague we shall stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagittarius09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location in the old town of Prague whit excellent rooms. Friendly and service minded staff. Definitely a favorite hotel and I've been around ;-).... Strongly recommend. And I think we will try the exotic beer spa before we leave :-)
Yes and I also recommend that you use the hotel airport pickup services because its good value for money and so nice with a private chauffeur to take you direct to the hotel it's a 35 minute drive from the airport ....no fuzz :-)!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jolu010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a GREAT location, just off the main square-tucked away behind the church in a plaza. There was a very nice restaurant immediately across the cobblestone path, which was really a busy walkway. There are actually two hotels here that share the same check-in and breakfast. We stayed in the "Excellent". We understood the other was a "lesser", but have no knowledge of that. (Someone said there was actually an elevator there?, not ours.) We paid $150.50US in advance through Expedia for a couple, per nite. We arrived via the train station on the overnite from Krakow. (Beware of cabs charging HIGH fares. We knew it was only ~2km, and cabbie insisted on $30 Euro's?! We made the morning walk pulling luggage-in about 30 minutes.) The hotel graciously allowed us to check in at ~9:00 AM. It was very hot, the AC in the hotel was okay, not professional grade. Both inside courtyard veranda and plaza views. There is no elevator, we were on the 4th floor. Still, we thought for the money, the AC was ok, stairs were ok, staff was very polite, not overly busy, the two story DOWN cellar breakfast was a very unique venue, with history ....and good (complementary)food. For those that say Euro rooms are small, ours was huge. The location was great...........We fell in love with Prague!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location in old town, very short walk to the square. The room was large and had 20 foot ceilings that were amazing. Place was clean, the front desk was very helpful and the breakfast was great as well

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbhb4l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#315 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#217 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Property: Metamorphis
Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Family Hotel in Prague
#155 Business Hotel in Prague
#158 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing