We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We would be back in this hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Metamorphis
Ranked #189 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We would be back in this hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

EXCELLENT LOCATION of this nice and small hotel, very friendly and helpful personnel, not expensive at all.
Good breakfast, you have to go down the stairs (just in case you have knee problems), other than that all is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selvamaria71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    216
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
116
293
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels in many countries but the room that we were given was one of the largest and best that we have ever had. This is an unusual hotel in a brilliant location near the town square, offering little in the way of amenities apart from the reception. Rooms are scattered around one end of a small and ancient square and our's on the second floor, reached via a circular staircase, was more like an apartment with an entrance into a dining room with a six seater table and a large bedroom accessed through grand double doors, with a pleasant bathroom. The room overlooked the small square and was about 100 metres from the Dubliner bar so not quiet until late. Breakfast was adequate if unexciting. Rooms vary in size so when booking ask about the details. The lift is small so we used the stairs that are not ideal for some people. Room 31 is one that we would book again though. And make sure that the air conditioning is available and switched on!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Metamorphis and we enjoyed our stay every bit as much as the last time. The staff were friendly and the room was a great size.
Not much else to add to my last review but I do not think you will regret booking this hotel for your visit to the beautiful city of Prague.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caliprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARBONDALE, CO
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully located very close to the the market square. Our room was quite large and spacious. It was fun walking down the spiral staircase to the breakfast room. I definitely would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoJil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Perfect location in the Old Town about 2 minutes walk to the market square. We had a very large room which was very comfortable, clean and very nicely furnished. The bathroom looked new and had a nice big shower. The hotel is surrounded by bars and restaurants which is very convenient although we could just about hear them from our room it wasn't a problem, and not terribly loud. This is a lovely old building in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belfields01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had four nights here. The room was unique and spacious, and the staff were terrific. However, for a hotel of this calibre, the breakfast was very ordinary. We had read that food in Czech was hit or miss. Guess this breakfast was a miss. Very little choice, ordinary quality. This was one of 5 Eastern European cities we visited, and while the room and experience was on par and more, the breakfast was the poorest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 137Jennifer137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for seven nights, perfect location,central to everything, would recommend this hotel if you want to visit Prague. Staff were very good and helpful, breakfast was great. We would recommend this hotel for your stay in Prague,

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38 it was perfect,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finbar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#315 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#217 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Property: Metamorphis
Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#123 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#124 Family Hotel in Prague
#155 Business Hotel in Prague
#158 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing