We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, lots of character”
Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metamorphis
Ranked #193 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in March 2012, during a 10 day vacation in Europe. Metamorphis had a ton of character and was just behind the old town square in Prague, which was an amazing location. The hotel arranged for transportation to/from the airport, it was very convenient. There are cute restaurants steps from the hotel, an Irish bar and a great crepe stand! Our room was at the top of the hotel, (accessible via an elevator and then stairs) and was very spacious, complete with a couch and minibar. The bathroom was also very nice. It was a great deal at 186 Euro total for 3 nights (breakfast included). Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank wtraveler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Metamorphis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 658 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Likes:
We liked that the room was spacious and beds pretty comfortable, with two nice leather couches. The room was also quiet, and the bathroom was cleaned quite well in general.

Hotel staff at front desk was nice and helpful -- they seem to work long hours.

The room needed refreshing, specifically the paint was quite worn and cracked in places.

Dislikes:
-No shower curtain in the tub, water temperature very variable
-Dust bunnies under bed, at edges of walls, hairdryer powercord
-Cheap hairdryer would quickly overheat and turn off... long haired ladies beware or bring own
-Most lights not working in bedroom (chandelier, and 1 night table with no bulb)
-Bedroom blinds are translucent: there is much light in the room from 5:30AM, so we had a tough time sleeping past 6 AM (we like it dark for sleeping)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inside yard to be shielded from noise from restaurants and entertainers in Ung...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colombob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Understand, we are Americans and thankful for a decent place to stay with a comfortable bed, air conditioning when it's hot, and a breakfast that energizes us until lunch or dinner. This hotel delivered, and then some. Hotel Metamorphis is located in the best place if your destination is Old Town Square, the historical center, but getting your luggage there requires hand-carrying them from however close your transportation can arrive.

I highly advise checking out the hotel's website. The photos show the rooms and they are spot on. You should specify your particular needs since that will direct the hotel staff what room they should reserve for you.

Room Tip: See review above.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fja57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The location for this hotel was superior - just outside the town square. The hotel itself however was sadly lacking in service, room detail and for us, room access (4th floor). Contrary to other reviews, our room was neither large nor stately. We had a very small room overlooking the roof. The size was adequate and the underequipped bathroom was quite large. We found the nights quite noisy due to the street (square) activity. Our room was on the 4th floor which was only a problem on the first day. Hauling the bags up the stairs was significant because the elevator stopped at the 2nd floor. No help was offered from the front desk. The include breakfast was OK but don't expect too much. This was our last stop in Europe and the previous hotels that we stayed at had excellent rooms and service. When I booked this hotel I was expecting the same, but it was quite disappointing, given the 4.5 star review.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scbrown757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent a great 5 nights there. Location is perfect - about a block from the old town square. It's on its own small square that is much more sedate than Old Town. It has about 6 restaurants and a few shops in it, and it can be somewhat noisy - we found that noise pleasant during the day, but at night the hotel had very sound-proof windows and we were able to shut that out. Breakfasts were very good, and seemed varied enough to appeal to American, as well as Western and Eastern European tastes.

The stairs did get a bit old - we were on the 3rd floor (that's the 4th floor in American). I think the attic rooms were one more flight up.

One complaint - not the fault of the hotel: There is a short passageway on the way to the square along the side of the church - it has several nooks which must be appealing to late-night street people, or inebriated spring-breakers - and this passageway smells heavily of urine. Either the city or the local merchants need to clean this out with a firehose periodically.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmhultin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The location of this historic and atmospheric little hotel could not be better. The interior is attractive and well presented and we loved our huge room (which they call an 'apartment', who knows why) with its ancient painted ceiling, large windows and view to the cobbled square below. So far so good. The let down was in the detail, really. The ensuite bathroom was adequate but, most unusually, there were no products at all apart from a wall soap dispenser. Towels were ok but thinnish and there were no towelling robes or slippers. There was no turn down service and yes, the curtains in front of those beautiful windows were quite thin as mentioned by a previous reviewer. The staff in the hotel were pleasant enough but didn't in any way offer exceptional service. In view of a rate of Euro135 per night, we felt that a little bit more effort would have gone a long way.
As for the breakfast restaurant, I didn't know whether to laugh or cry! Situated in a windowless dark and dingy basement accessed by a long, long winding metal staircase, we found not only dark brown tired and dingy furniture but completely incongruous white Roman plaster columns set pointlessly against the ancient pebbled wine cellar wall. The breakfast buffet was in a curtained off alcove into which staff barged with little respect for the customer. The breakfast on offer was limited but actually quite good but tables were not cleared of debris during a meal and no service at all was offered. On one occasion we also had an evening meal at the Vabene restaurant which offers both local and Italian cuisine. The portions were enormous and I quite enjoyed my spaghetti aglio et olio but our Czech friends were very disappointed with the quality of the czech dishes they had ordered.
This hotel could so easily be exquisite, all the basics are in place, but the effortless laissez faire attitude sadly lets it down.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Perfect location for visiting the old town center on foot. Our room was in a building in front of the main body of Metamorphis Excellent, and our room was very spacious as it was the bathroom. The breakfast served in the italian restaurant in front of the hotel was good, and we loved it even more when it was in the basement, thanks to its atmosphere. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigiballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#327 of 648 in Prague
140 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#74 of 648 in Prague
1,529 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#221 of 648 in Prague
346 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#141 of 648 in Prague
1,155 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#26 of 648 in Prague
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#123 Family Hotel in Prague
#154 Business Hotel in Prague
#161 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $91 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing