We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely room but lacking in detail”
Review of Metamorphis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metamorphis
Ranked #195 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The location of this historic and atmospheric little hotel could not be better. The interior is attractive and well presented and we loved our huge room (which they call an 'apartment', who knows why) with its ancient painted ceiling, large windows and view to the cobbled square below. So far so good. The let down was in the detail, really. The ensuite bathroom was adequate but, most unusually, there were no products at all apart from a wall soap dispenser. Towels were ok but thinnish and there were no towelling robes or slippers. There was no turn down service and yes, the curtains in front of those beautiful windows were quite thin as mentioned by a previous reviewer. The staff in the hotel were pleasant enough but didn't in any way offer exceptional service. In view of a rate of Euro135 per night, we felt that a little bit more effort would have gone a long way.
As for the breakfast restaurant, I didn't know whether to laugh or cry! Situated in a windowless dark and dingy basement accessed by a long, long winding metal staircase, we found not only dark brown tired and dingy furniture but completely incongruous white Roman plaster columns set pointlessly against the ancient pebbled wine cellar wall. The breakfast buffet was in a curtained off alcove into which staff barged with little respect for the customer. The breakfast on offer was limited but actually quite good but tables were not cleared of debris during a meal and no service at all was offered. On one occasion we also had an evening meal at the Vabene restaurant which offers both local and Italian cuisine. The portions were enormous and I quite enjoyed my spaghetti aglio et olio but our Czech friends were very disappointed with the quality of the czech dishes they had ordered.
This hotel could so easily be exquisite, all the basics are in place, but the effortless laissez faire attitude sadly lets it down.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 683 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Perfect location for visiting the old town center on foot. Our room was in a building in front of the main body of Metamorphis Excellent, and our room was very spacious as it was the bathroom. The breakfast served in the italian restaurant in front of the hotel was good, and we loved it even more when it was in the basement, thanks to its atmosphere. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigiballa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Pros
- Location!!! (1 minute to Old town sq.)
- room and bathroom are clean
- service was OK

Cons
- there's an elevator till 2nd floor only (there are 3 floors!). As other guests, the receptionist take our luggage up, but still, having elevator for 2/3 of the floors is not OK.
- room (we got room 40) was small, very far from the pictures you can see on the hotel website.


P.S FOR JEWISH PEOPLE WHO PLAN TO SPEND SHABBAT THERE
1. in metamorphis hotel, tehre are keys. No magnetic card. (pay attentiion, to access metamorhpis excellent there's a automatic door)
2. at floor 3, the lights are automatically switched on...
3. 2 minutes walk to Chabad center.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaMoBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is well located, close to Old Town square. We had booked a triple room. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated but there was one glitch. The curtains were too thin and our huge stately room had a wall full of windows. It needed double curtains by American standards. My child was unable to sleep due to the bright light coming in the room first due to sun and later for street lamp. I asked the staff to either add second curtain (rods did exist for it) or give me another room. The staff was very rude. first of all they didnt show up for a long time. They did not think our concern was valid. I told them I paid premium for this room because I wanted my child to be comfortable. They eventually moved us to a much smaller room which had better curtains, but were extremely rude. They didnt move our luggage or set the room for us. We moved even the bedding for my child even though I had paid for 3 people. They were not apologetic nor did they charge me less considering they moved us to smaller room.
So even though it is good location, I would never stay in that hotel again.due to crappy service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Banjare_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Metamorphis for four nights mid May 2012.
I have nothing but positive remarks to say about the hotel.
Check-in and out was easy, large room for three very nice, comfortable beds and pillows, hotel bathroom and room clean and nicely decorated, elevator although very small and only to the second floor,buffet breakfast delicious with lots of choices, attached restaurant make really nice tasty pizzas, all staff pleasant and helpful.
We had our breakfast in the restaurant because our friend was unable to do the stairs down to the buffet. The University student who worked upstairs always came down shortly after me and carried Margret's meal up.
We had rented a battery operated scooter for three full days and the staff were great in helping us get it into the luggage room by the front desk and plugged it into the charger for the night.
We were not bothered by the noise from the close-by pub and cafe's at night despite our window being opened. We all slept well.
The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk to Old Town Square and the view from our room were towers of the Tyn Cathedral.
If I ever return to Prague I would definitely stay at this hotel again.


Only a few minutes walk to Old Town Square.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmahayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Right near old town square. Beautiful bathroom & comfy and clean room. Close to nice restaurants. Although this was quite expensive for us for 1 night (usually we stay in budget hotels), it was worth every penny for location & friendliness & they also spoke great English.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-Marita2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel has an annex, derived from what must have been an old apartment building, which is in front of the main hotel. I got a room at the first floor, that was devastated first from the noise from the street, with clubs banging loud music and drunk customers screaming outside. Double windows in the hotel are a commendable effort, but totally insufficient. Then the people in the next room went on yelling and coming in and out (taking care to slam the door every time) until 6 AM. Add to this that the bed was very uncomfortable, well, what can I say, perhaps I slept a couple of hours. Never again. This said, the people at the reception were helpful, but this is far from sufficient to make the hotel worth going back to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis Excellent
Metamorphis Excellent
#310 of 646 in Prague
147 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 646 in Prague
1,354 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 646 in Prague
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#119 of 646 in Prague
894 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#74 of 646 in Prague
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metamorphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metamorphis

Address: Mala Shtupartska 636/5 | Tyn/Ungelt Square, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in Prague
#122 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#154 Business Hotel in Prague
#163 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $85 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metamorphis 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metamorphis is situated directly in the heart of the historical centre of Prague, in the UNESCO listed area of Ungelt. The building history dates back to 9th century, formerly the building served as custom house during a florishing business period.The hotel offers accommodation in 32 rooms incl. appartements and suites, which are sensitively built into the former spaces. All of the rooms offer luxurious equipment and some of them offer stunning view of the Ungelt and the Tyn church. All of them air-conditioned, accessible by lift. The hotel offers a restaurant „Vabene“. Parking in the hotel area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metamorphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metamorphis Hotel Prague
Metamorphis Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing