We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel 16 Prague - Feb 2014”
Review of Hotel 16

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 16
Ranked #10 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I spent four wonderful days in Prague and the hospitality we received at Hotel 16 was outstanding. Our hotel room was clean and the bed and accommodations were very comfortable. We drove to Prague from Germany and the staff at Budget Car Rental said while in CZ we were required to park in a closed parking lot. On arrival I picked up a gate control from the front desk, and parked the car in a hotel parking space (parking is first come first serve, but no extra charge). Once we checked in, we enjoyed a coffee at the bar and the young lady at the front desk gave us the lay of the land suggesting several restaurants in walking distance to the hotel. Breakfast was included with the room complete with omelets, fruits, rolls, meat, yogurt and cereals. You can also enjoy a drink at the Hotel bar. The hotel is located in Prague's New Town, a little off the beaten path, but a short walk to downtown and Tram 22 and only a 20 minute walk to Old Town. I would recommend Hotel 16 all those coming to Prague.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 790 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over the weekend and had a fantastic time in Prague, part of which was due to this hotel.
We stayed in room 21 which was a suite overlooking the garden, not next to the road. Perfect temperature and comfortable beds. Could hardly hear the room next door.
Continental breakfast was plentiful and delicious (the bread, meats and cheeses were far from plain). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Complimentary parking was very convenient as we had hired a car (I'd advise to let them know beforehand as they only have two spaces) and we were also allowed to leave it there on the day we checked out whilst we explored the city before our evening flight.
We will definitely stay here again when we return to Prague.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank GetawayGirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It takes many adjectives to describe Hotel 16. Welcoming, comfortable, cozy, are chief among them. Our family had the privilege of staying at Hotel 16 for nearly two weeks as a base for our visit to the Czech Republic. We were greeted warmly upon our arrival by Zora. Cappuccinos eased our landing and we were given a very complete orientation to Prague.
Travelling as a family we took two rooms – one double and one suite. Both rooms were extremely comfortable and spacious. The extra room in the suite could serve as a bedroom accommodating a third person or as a day room when the sofa bed was folded. We felt quite at home with the fast internet as well as accommodating staff on duty 24 hours. The staff excelled at getting us going in the morning to prepare the wonderful breakfast and cappuccinos (a nice touch is the patterns they are able to make in the froth) as well as great suggestions on how to explore the city or to get to a distant destination. On one occasion they even gave us a Czech lesson by writing down what to say to the bus driver to be let off at our proper stop.
We were impressed by the level of service at this hotel. The owner Michael has chosen and instructed his staff well to ensure that the guests are more akin to part of the family rather than paying guests. While many have given tribute to the day staff in their reviews we also wish to add that the night staff deserves such tribute as well. We looked forward to our return to the hotel every day to be greeted by an equally friendly and welcoming night staff to settle home with a hot cup of tea or specialty liquor.
The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of the old town square. It is quite convenient to the tram or either of two metro stops. Tickets for transport are sold by the hotel which avoids having to buy them at the rather obscure kiosks in the metro or elsewhere.
Also within walking distance to the hotel are two noteworthy restaurants. The closest is Pivovarsky Dum which is a mini brewery and hearty eating place. Prices there are quite reasonable and the beer is good. It is literally around the corner from the hotel. A bit further is U Kroka. This is a very nice restaurant with traditional Czech fare. It was one of our best meals on the trip and well worth the walk.
Hotel 16 is a rare find. It is hard not to be impressed by the level of service at this establishment. The greetings, willingness to help, and comradery with the guests is genuine. We were sad to leave our adopted family behind on our departure. Hotel 16 cannot help but to impress. If you stay in Prague and do not stay here you are doing yourself an injustice. Our thanks to all at Hotel 16 that made our journey there memorable including Michael, Adam, Zora, Pavla, … and to all the others that we had the honor of meeting – Děkujeme vám

Room Tip: If you are traveling on business or just want a bit extra space to spread out the suite is a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

First, thanks to Adam, the awesome Hotel manager. He really gives an awesome rundown of the hotel and surrounding area. Getting there was easy. The hotel location is a 1.5 K walk to the old town of Prague. The have a secured parking lot across the street which is free. The wifi is fast and free, and the breakfast is awesome. The have tram tickets at the front desk but don't forget to validate them on the 22 tram (the one that circles the city and palace) because plain clothes inspectors are waiting for tourists who are not aware to give them a 30E fine. I will definitely stay again with the family whenever we return to Prague!

Room Tip: Room 25 overlooks the secured parking in the courtyard if worried about your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldTravelers2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting Prague with our son. We loved this hotel. We have traveled to many places around the world and this was one of the best hotels we stayed in. A major reason for this was the friendly and helpful staff, especially Adam and Lucy. When my husband had some back problems, they immediately found an ice pack. The staff was all very knowledgeable on tourist attractions, dining and transportation. Upon arrival they welcomed us and gave us an overview of the city.The hotel had a nice breakfast buffet in a quaint room. They also offered complimentary tea, coffee, etc. at any time. Upon departure, we were all given coffee cups. What a nice souvenir!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pearljamfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent a long weekend in Prague to see the lovely sights of the city. Having seen the good reviews for Hotel 16 and always preferring to stay in small boutique hotels rather than a large chain where you could be anywhere in the world, I booked here.

It was a perfect base for my 4 days sightseeing. In a quiet area but only a few minutes walk from the main road with tram stops and 5 minutes walk from the nearest Metro station.

I couldn't fault anything during my stay. The staff were friendly and helpful (when I rang reception to ask why there was no milk with the tea and coffee in my room (apparently not every nationality likes white tea), they brought me up a little jug of fresh milk.

The room was spacious with plenty of plug points (something you don't get in some chain hotels), the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the staff will make fresh omelettes or scrambled eggs.

I would recommend this hotel highly for anyone staying in Prague.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FoxyRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

In the last 6 months I have visited Prague 4 times, Twice at the Hotel Palace and once at the Hotel Yalta, They are both top 5 star hotels but I have to say that the service here leaves them well behind. All the staff are cheerful and attentive and the hotel is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is of a good standard and there is free tea and coffee in the rooms or at reception all day long. Beds are comfortable, rooms are bright and well decorated. The hotel itself has a good ambience and although it is a 10 minute walk to the centre there are plenty of shops locally for most of your daily needs. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to any of my friends wishing to visit prague. Oh,
nearly forgot there is also free high speed wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikends252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,958 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 646 in Prague
1,087 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,714 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,795 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 646 in Prague
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 16

Address: Katerinska 16, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Prague
#6 Business Hotel in Prague
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $76 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 16 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Hotel 16 is situated in the heart of the most beautiful medieval city and offers the luxurious accommodation, most modern elements and exceptional service with the rich history of its surroundings. At Hotel 16 our philosophy is "no request too large, no detail too small". Simply we are trying our best to make your stay as pleasant and unforgettable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
16 Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing