We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our frequent returns to Hotel 16”
Review of Hotel 16

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 16
Ranked #10 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Each year we are visiting Prague to meet our friends,relatives , scroll through the beautiful city and visit charming restaurants with delishes food.
We discovered, there is probably no better place than Hotel 16 .It is small charming hotel
with extremly pleasand and helpful staff, supervised daily by the owner himself.
The location is perfect, it is 5 minutes walk from a center,river Vltava, national theater and restaurants.
We are recommending this place to all our friends, and they never have been disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 788 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

A fantastic place and good location in Prague. The owners and staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming. Upon our arrival we were treated to coffee and local pastries and given an overview of things to do and see in Prague. The staff helped us plan our daily itineraries and gave us excellent advice and recommendations. They were so conscientous that we were reminded when we started to leave without our tram tickets that were available from the desk. The hotel was very clean with lovely decor. The breakfast was delicious and included homemade apple cake and strudel. Coffee and tea available any time of day. Staff available 24/7. I can honestly say this was the best boutique hotel experience we have ever had and would highly recommend this hotel. When we decided to change our plans following our stay in Prague, the staff volunteered to cancel the hotel we had previously booked and booked us into a hotel in another picturesque town in the south. They handled all the details including map with directions. A truly outstanding experience.

Room Tip: If you want to be able to open your windows and get fresh air, choose a garden room. We had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsykeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Europe and we selected Hotel 16 based on a review by Rick Steeves' guidebook on Europe. We started off visiting Prague and Hotel 16 was our first exposure to European hospitality. Adam met us after a long flight and immediately made us feel welcome, especially with an unexpected treat of tea and delicious strudel (made by Pavla we expect). Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet, as was the entire hotel. The staff were very courteous and helpful, and warmly greeted us every morning and when we returned at night. The breakfasts were a real treat - lots of variety and everything was fresh and of very high quality. Again the staff were extremely accomodating as to our wishes and made sure the food was plentiful and nicely presented. The coffee was strong and flavourful. On our last day the staff helped us find a place to stay in Chesky Kromlov. Hotel 16 is certainly not a "budget" hotel, but if you want to treat yourself, we'd highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The staff were exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful. We felt like we were the only people staying in the hotel as they catered to our every little request. This is a small hotel a walk away from main tourist attractions and well served by public transportation. Room was clean and comfy. Breakfast was yummy and they continued to serve us when we showed up past the breakfast time. Highly recommend it and we loved Prague!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel 16 for 6 nights in late May 2013. THE GOOD-- The hotel is not in the middle of the busy tourist area and that makes it quieter. But it is only a 2- 3 minute walk to a spot where several tram lines stop, about an eight minute walk to a metro stop and about a 10-12 minute walk to middle of Wenceslas Square. Reasonable prices.Everything was very clean and well maintained. The breakfast buffet was very good and extensive especially considering there are only 14 rooms. But the best part is the friendly, welcoming staff. All the staff was friendly but we interacted mostly with the day team of Michael, Adam and Pavla. They could not have been better. No one left the hotel without the team making sure they knew the best way to get to where they wanted to go, whether by which street to walk down,or which tram or metro line to take. Everyone was welcomed back in the afternoon with a sincere friendly greeting and an offer of coffee, hot tea or water delivered to your room. THE BAD-Now that we have experienced the wonderful service at Hotel 16, that will be the standard by which we will judge all future hotel stays. I doubt we will find any service more pleasant than at Hotel 16. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great place to stay in Prague - as wonderful as city itself, best choice for romantic week-end.
We stayed there for 4 nights in early May'2013, room with small garden view. From the moment you come you feel better than home - staff is the most helpful I've ever seen. Michael and all the team - thank you!
Old-style small hotel, rooms are big enough, beds are extremely wide and comfortable, breakfast is enough to walk the city half a day without getting hungry (and delicious pastries as well).
Tea/coffee is available whole day, free wi-fi with a good speed.
We were immediately advised of the places and restraunts to visit (although recommended Pivovarsky Dum were not that good, the rest were OK).
Location is 15 minutes walk from everywhere in the city and several tram stops / metro nearby.

And all this for good value. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitrovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've never written a trip adviser review before and quite possibly never will again. But the care, attention and service at Hotel 16 should not go ignored. From the moment of arrival we were treated as friends. Welcomed in, given a few ideas of places to visit and importantly two recommended restaurants, it was also recognised that after 8 hours driving we would be easily overwhelmed. So the next day Adam checked what we were interested in and then came up with some good suggestions, including a discount on a boat trip.
The hotel is well located to walk into town and see the sights. And close enough that at the end of the day it wasn't exhausting to walk back. As we walked back in they knew who we were and had the room key ready. Although we stopped for a glass of wine! Staff would ask what we had seen and show a real interest in our day. The next morning over breakfast (the hot chocolate is recommended by our daughter) further suggestions as to where to go.
Prague is a lovely city, everyone friendly. But this hotel turned a weeks break into a real life experience. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 646 in Prague
1,079 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,897 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,697 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 646 in Prague
757 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#8 of 646 in Prague
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 16

Address: Katerinska 16, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Prague
#6 Business Hotel in Prague
#8 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $83 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 16 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family run Hotel 16 is situated in the heart of the most beautiful medieval city and offers the luxurious accommodation, most modern elements and exceptional service with the rich history of its surroundings. At Hotel 16 our philosophy is "no request too large, no detail too small". Simply we are trying our best to make your stay as pleasant and unforgettable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel 16. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
16 Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing