We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation for someone on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church Pension Prague
Ranked #53 of 361 Prague B&B and Inns
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation for someone on a budget”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location, clean rooms, abundant breakfast (Americans, you will not find eggs and pancakes and bacon, it is an abundant breakfast from the European point of view), super friendly staff. Very helpful when making the reservation and throughout the process, they answered all the quesitons I had.
My mother and I stayed here for 4 nights, had a room with its own restroom and shower on the one-before-the-last floor. If we have a chance to visit Prague again, we will definitely stay at the Church Pension again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaGSMNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
16
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I would describe this more as a guest house than a back packers. I shared a private room with a friend. It was very quiet, good temperature in the room for the most part. They had double windows so any noise from outside was blocked out very well. The room was a little small and could get a little musty, but with ventilation (opening a window) not really a problem. The shared bathrooms were very clean, never had to wait to use the bathroom or shower. The staff were very friendly, manager was great. Only small complaint would be that when they required something they would knock on our door in the morning when we were sleeping- they could have put a note under it instead. But in the big scheme of things not a problem. Good location, I walked to everything I wanted to see, but you could catch trams if you wish. Would stay here again if I were going back to Prague.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saraseeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Helpful staff, clean, safe (24h building security), a good location to explore the city, excellent bakery a few doors down the street. Walls were a little thin (could hear the girl in the room next door on her phone quite clearly), but I suppose that can be expected in most hostels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed just two nights and found Church Pension pleasant and well-located. I arrived mid-evening and reception was no longer open but the guard on the main door had my details and the key -- I was impressed by the efficiency. My room was for 4 but I was the only one in it -- lots of space to spread out. Showers and toilet were just down the hall. They were always clean and I never had to wait. Breakfast was included -- typical European fare, plenty of it and served with a smile.

It's 15-20 minutes walk from the main train station and the same from Old Town Square. The No 22 tram is a short walk away and this takes you right up to Prague Castle -- a great scenic ride.

There are restaurants and small grocery stores nearby. For dinner a couple of bread rolls, smallgoods, cheese, fruit, and a beer from the local grocery was enough for me -- and really cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardMorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed in a clean room with shared toilet and shower overlooking the courtyard. Towels and soap are provided and there is free wi-fi in the rooms. The room was quite cool in the evening without A/C or a fan. The floors were creaky and walls were pretty thin but the people around us went to bed early and it was a very quiet. There was a kitchen with full cookware and dishware and several small dining tables in the communal area. The pension is located only about a 15-minute walk from the Old Town Square and close to tram stops. There are supermarkets and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

This pension offers superbly clean rooms at a great price. Church pension is also located close to shops, restaurants and historical sites. The breakfast offered each morning is also a value and quite delicious! The room I had overlooked the rooftops across the street; it was great to wake up to that famous Prague architecture. Jaroslav & Barbara are among the most hospitable inn keepers I have ever met. They are also so knowledgeable about Prague & all of it's glorious sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeChatRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We stayed at Apartment Salamander, through this Church Pension. Only a weekend for a wedding in Prague. It was a good decision. The apartment was on good conditons, comfortable and CLEAN, and on a good location. Close to the subway, and walking distance to a boulevard. The price was according to what they offered, nothing luxury but decent good looking apartment with a nice balcony.
The building doesn't have an elevator, so you have to go upstairs 5 floors, good cardio though! - We recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#66 of 649 in Prague
2,101 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#534 of 649 in Prague
174 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#128 of 649 in Prague
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Golden Crown Hotel
Golden Crown Hotel
#53 of 649 in Prague
404 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
HOLIDAY HOME - Hotel, Pension
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Vladislav City Centre Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Pension Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Pension Prague

Property: Church Pension Prague
Address: Jungmannova 22/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 361 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Church Pension Prague 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Church Pension Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing