We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for its price”
Review of Botel Racek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Botel Racek
Ranked #567 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Very good location in city - only 30-40 minutes walking (or 10-15 on bus or tram) to center, but no tons of tourists in area :) friendly staff, norm breakfasts, clean rooms. No wifi in rooms, very poor in cafe and best at reception. Few food stores near the botel. Lot of transports to center

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sergej P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 296 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Having booked sight unseen, there was nothing about the Racek that was bad. Being a boat, the rooms and bathrooms were smaller then might be in a building, but that's part of the Botel experience. Staff are good, food and service are too.
The free Breakfast is very basic, WiFi was only available in the lobby and the beds are quite thin. The botel attracts all kinds of travelers and can hold large groups, so people are always coming and going. The walls are fairly thin and noise travels so light sleepers might not care for it. The walk to the tram isn't bad, but it's remote enough that you just can't "pop" into the city on a whim, so pack a light bag for a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our second stay at the Botel racek. We stayed thre about five years ago, and when we decided we wanted to go back to Prague we had no hesitation in booking the racek. Let me say up front that if you're looking for a top class, centrally based hotel, this is not for you. However, if you don't mind being a wee bit out of the centre, it offers really good value. A twin cabin cost us 37 pounds per night bed and breakfast. A three day travel pass for around ten pounds gives you unlimited use of the excellent tram, bus and underground systems. The racek is about two hundred yards from the nearest tram stop, and about a 15 minute trip on the number 17 or number 3 gets you to the Charles bridge or wencesas square respectively. Trams are every 5 minutes during the day and every 10 minutes at night.

The racek's restaurant offered a decent selection at reasonable prices. We only ate there once, on the night of our arrival - the restaurant serves food up till ten o'clock - but this was only because we were in the city most of the day and only back at the Botel for a couple of hours rest late afternoon and again at bedtime. There is a pleasant bar, and prices are pretty similar to uk prices. You can also sit out on the terraced deck, which is very nice, and watch the river cruise boats pass. During the day the river is busy with rowers.

We both love Prague, and will certainly return. When we do, we will stay at the racek. Basic, but very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side rather than the riverbank side have a nicer outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dismondguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Here's he deal: are you in Prague to enjoy one of the great cities of Europe at a very reasonable price? Or do you enjoy hanging around in your hotel room all day? If the latter is what tickles your fancy choose somewhere else. Botel Racek ain't luxury. But it is very convenient, reasonably clean and comes with that extra Czech atmosphere we love and expect. Here's a tip, though. Do what Racek regulars do and spike your breakfast "coffee" with a spoonful of Nescafe or you won't be ready for a hectic day in the Golden City.

Stayed: June 2012
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wi-fi did not work at all, only thing which was clean in a whole Botel was sheet on bed. We found spider-web everywhere we looked. Breakfest the worst i can ever imagine, stuff unfriendly, prices high and food not good.

Room Tip: Rooms with uneven numbers are located to the shore, so you dont get the view on the river. It smells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Noeleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#536 of 648 in Prague
187 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#551 of 648 in Prague
89 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#550 of 648 in Prague
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 6
Hotel Krystal
Hotel Krystal
#557 of 648 in Prague
257 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#401 of 648 in Prague
52 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#508 of 648 in Prague
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Racek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Racek

Address: Podolske Nabrezi 1180/5a, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $25 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Racek 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Botel Racek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Racek Praha Prague
Botel Racek Praha Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing