We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”
Review of Botel Racek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botel Racek
Ranked #559 of 649 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Having booked our room only two days before our stay not knowing what to expect we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Receptionist was very pleasant and helpful with all our enquiries. Botel is situated in a lovely quiet location on the river literally 15 minutes walking distance from the city centre. Our room was quite small but acceptable for boat accommodation, clean and cozy with lovely view of the river. The bed was not the most comfortable and adjustable heating did not seem to make any difference. For the prize we have paid breakfast was unexpected bonus but unfortunately not worth getting up for. The service was very poor with nowhere to sit as tables had not been cleared from previous sitting.

Overall it was a pleasant experience and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romangb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    73
    83
    48
    46
See reviews for
41
131
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My partner and I had booked Botel Racek for somewhere cheap to stay over New Years. Despite looking at the poor reviews on Trip Advisor, we took a chance and booked Racek as we were attracted to the idea of a botel. When we arrived, my partner realised he had lost his passport. Reception (apart from the ginger woman) were very helpful and gave us the airport number to see whether we had left the passport there. When the police at the airport confirmed they had the passport, the reception gave us discounted taxi rates to go and collect the passport as they have their own taxi driver at the botel. The views from room 108 were amazing. We asked for a non smoking, double bed with river view and that's exactly what we got. We fed the swans and ducks from our window every morning. Rooms were warm and cosey. Ignore the bad reviews. You get what you pay for. We loved our long weekend in Prague and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: River views were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Celsbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I got the service I paid for and expected would recommend this Botel and hope to go back

Room Tip: exactly what I paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We got this hotel as part of a deal well what can I say food lovely staff helpful and friendly they couldn't do enough for us will be returning

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2011

myself and my fiance booked this botel as we just really wanted a place as a pitstop to sleep at night. the view was nice from the window as you could see swans and ducks. however we stayed at the botel for 4 nights and our bed sheets were not changed onece...:( however there had been a person in everyday to clean the room so dont understand why this wasnt done. we was a bit dissapointed with the breakfast as there was not much variety, we thought we'd give the breakfast a second chance the next morning, we went up to the breakfast room at about half eight there was no where to sit because the tables hadnt been cleared we stood there for a while but no-body came so we left. overall 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

7 - 12 Sept 2011
As my title says, I might have been able to give a better raiting if we stayed 2 nights but this place really started to grate on my nerves.
We had a top floor room (there were 2 floor below us), non-smoking, so facing away from the river towards the shore. BUT, the whole place is smokey! We were in room 7 and the window opened nice and wide to help clear the smoke.
We were interested in staying on a boat and realized that the rooms would be small. They were in fact pretty small, the bathroom however was VERY small. The shower is extra small with small toilet and small sink. The fan comes on automatically and is very loud. Taking a shower was challenging in the provided space and left water around the bathroom.
Our room faced the gangway entrance to the botel - the area was quiet but there were people on the gangway smoking and chatting all night, not to mention the loudest ducks we have ever experienced. Sound travels from other rooms, you could hear their bathroom fans being turned on and the windows opening. My Mom had a hard time sleeping with the noise, but not a problem for me.
The TV did not work, nor did we ask for someone to fix it.
Carpet needed cleaning in our room.
Breakfast was also wearing. The coffee, as mentioned here in other reviews, is AWFUL! Ick! It is a murky brown colour and tastes awful. They also supply water, some sort of juice (only one of four days it was orange juice, so we brought our own), tea, milk and cream. Runny yogurt, a cheese and a cold meat, bread, jam and butter, cereal. People bring their own extras like nutella and juice.
Breakfast tables were not well cleared and when people cleared their own tables the table they put their dishes on was seldom cleared away.
I liked the location and the ease of getting to the Charles bridge or Wenselas (spelling?) square - either about 15 minutes and only one tram away.
Chose a different hotel - you can do better than this place!

Room Tip: Choosing a different hotel will get you a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thessaloniki
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We choose this hotel for the low price and location. It was in a boat , something that excited us. We are family with two teenagers an booked a 4 bed room. The room was small and the toilet more smaller. They gave us a room looking in the back side . Out of the window there was only a smal lake with dirty water.
The personel was rude an unkind. I wante to buy an all day ticket for the transportation an they wanted to charge me 130 coronas while the oficial price is 110. The exchange of money is a real stealing. They sell 20 coronas for 1 € and when i came to pay for the room they wante to count 27 coronas for 1 €.
The breakfast was midle but we have to wait a lot if a pate got empty. The bar-restaurand was closed the most hours of the day. The internet is available only in the loby an if you want to see something you must be crouded with many others in a small table.
I dont recomend it if you have a litle more money to spend or you are a backpacker to go only for sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maik49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#520 of 649 in Prague
171 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Emmy
Rezidence Emmy
#519 of 649 in Prague
151 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#551 of 649 in Prague
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Hotel Slavia
Hotel Slavia
#543 of 649 in Prague
229 reviews
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#557 of 649 in Prague
396 reviews
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#361 of 649 in Prague
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Racek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Racek

Property: Botel Racek
Address: Podolske Nabrezi 1180/5a, Prague 147 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Botel Racek 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Botel Racek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Racek Praha Prague
Botel Racek Praha Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing