We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Betlem Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Betlem Club
Ranked #271 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Betlem Club Hotel is a small hotel in the southern section of Old Town, easy walking distance to Charles Bridge and Old Town Square. The rooms are nice sized and quiet, and breakfast served in what used to be a dungeon, but is now very comfortable and inviting. There are several excellent, good value restaurants nearby with lots of locals enjoying a pint for $1.50.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 258 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

Most of what you would want to see in Old Town was within a 5 minute walking radius. I stayed in the single attic room, which was very spacious, clean and quiet. It is a bit dark with only one very small window so wouldn't be an ideal place if you want to spend a lot of time chilling out in your hotel room, but otherwise a a very reasonably priced, convenient hotel. As someone mentioned, the lift does not go up to the top level so you do have to climb up a short flight of stairs.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a total of seven days. We spent four days in the Attic double room on 3rd floor and three days in the standard double room on second floor.
The Attic room's window only opens half way and the shower has no shower curtain. Our second stay was on the second floor. During our first stay the TV wasn't working so they gave us a replacement big screen tv. During our second stay we had no TV due to cable/satellite problems.

The hotel is right in the centre of Betlem Namesti and gets busy at night. There is street noise until about midnight. Hotel is very close to Charles Bridge and Wenceslas Square and makes for a great central location. Hotel's breakfast is good but not great.
Reception staff was excellent, always helpful and friendly. The hotel does have free wireless internet as well as free use of a PC computer for those travellers without laptop.
The hotel also provided transfers from the airport to the hotel, however it was not free.
The hotel is rated 3 or 4 star depending on what website you visit. Hotel ratings in Europe are different from the ones in Canada, USA or Caribbean. Don't expect the same comfort or amenities as you would with all-inclusive resorts.

Overall we had a very good experience at this hotel and if you are not a fussy traveller I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Our Attic double room faced the main street, therefore, it was noisy till midnight. The attic room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelguy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel was very close to everything. Walk only 5 minutes and you'll get to the Old Town Square, Karlovy Most, etc. The amount of noise from outside was TOO MUCH though. After 10pm we would hear drunk people from the nearby bars yelling and screaming. As the morning comes and you start walking out, you'll see the traces of nightlife everywhere: trash, bottles, ponds of vomited food...
The room was nice but the building itself has a lot of mold that needs to be taken care of. You can smell humidity everywhere and walls have water marks on them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2RAMSES2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Pavel, Manager at Betlem Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2011

Dear Madam/Sir, thank you very for your comments. We are very sorry about the discomfort (noise) you felt during your stay at our hotel,but the great location in the city center has unfortunately its disadvantage. Next year we are planning to add another layer of windows to eliminate the noise. It is true, that current summer is unusually humid, but the water mark might be leaking water from upper floor, that we already checked.
We do appreciate hearing from our customers,as their comments are vital for us improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The location was a few minutes walk from Charles Bridge in the middle of Old Town. I reserved the attic room which was lovely and spacious with low, sloping ceilings (for all you tall people) Just be aware that the elevator doesn't go to that level. You have to get off the third floor and climb a flight of stairs. There is no real shower in the bathroom, just a huge bathtub. The internet connection worked the first day and then stopped working. There is an internet station downstairs, however. The breakfast was not very good; I would recommend eating elsewhere.

The metro is a good 10-15 walk; with luggage and cobblestones, it can be a bit of a drag. The streets do not run true in Prague so you be prepared for a little confusion upon arrival. When a street intersects another, it often doesn't pick up again until a half-a-block, sometimes a whole block down.

I booked my room through Hotels.com.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justagirlintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Pavel, Manager at Betlem Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Dear Madam, thank you for your comment you decided to share with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. As we are a three star hotel we serve quite wide choice of food for breakfast (scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, beans with sausages, poached eggs, chese, ham, salami, fruit, vegetable, pastry, espresso, tea (black, green, fruit), muesli, cornflakes, etc.) We believe everyone will find something appetizing to eat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I already wrote a review for Expedia, which we used in order to take advantage of the credit they offered.
I consider several factors in choosing a hotel, then rating it afterwards. I also try and get hotels that have character or a feel for where we are, or the type of trip I am on. In other words, when Prague, I don't want the Hilton.

Reviews by others are very important, and we do our homework. This one didn't pop up on my searches but was recommended by family and frequent user. Also, location, price, breakfast, communication. This hotel had it all.

Location is near everything, but on its on little square, not the crowded main square. Sure there is a beer area outside but they pack up at a reasonable hour and mostly it is people just enjoying the sunshine. It didn't bother us. In fact if we had time and they offered something other than alcohol, we may have joined them.
The little church had an orchestra concert one night and if we had known we could have watched and listened from our room (thru the windows). We only caught the very end.
We managed to the hotel by the train, metro, and on foot, with luggage. Not bad.
On a trip like ours, time is valuable and better spent not looking for places to eat breakfast. The cellar room/breakfast was perfect for us. I had to ask for hot chocolate but it was available.

this hotel actually had an elevator which was really nice. Many don't. Each time we went up and down I noticed the dust on the furniture below. Hmmmm. Housekeeping must not use the elevator! Once in the room, cleanliness, good hot water pressure, lighting, mirrors, space to put personal bathroom items, comfort and sometimes view are considered. The room was large (not the attic). I asked for a "king" but it really is a larger double. The hooks by the door were handy for our outerwear and day gear. Bathroom lacked much room to put stuff, hair dryer was minimal (hose too short to reach and little power), low lighting. Shower was wonderful. 5 mirrors in the room, just not enough lighting. (Those of us that can't see need these things).
I slept wonderfully and my part of the bedding was great. Hubbys half was lumpy. I didn't believe him until I felt it. he opted not to mention it to hotel and suffer 3 nights. It could easily have been changed. Didn't figure out temp controls, if there were any. Nice view out onto courtyard and the church. We walked all over the city, didn't use transportation except to get to hotel, and this was doable. Staff was very nice and tried to help although not always knowledgable. They kept our luggage the last day while we waited for the night train out. We continued to use lounge, computer ( free in the lobby for those of us disconnected from the hi tech world, and lobby bathroom.
Nice little "non touristy" shop around the corner.
A few good restaurants in area, mostly more costly than we had expected.
Note: The trainstation is where you purchase tickets. The closer place in town by powder tower is closed. We walked to one, then all the way to the other...as my brother in law put it...to save a few dollars in taxi fare. :}

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This hotel was in an old building in a quiet square very close to the main square. I loved our room in the attic because it had exposed beams and nice furnishings. It was a little dusty but I didn't mind. Breakfast is included in the price as is free use of a desktop computer with broadband internet. Overall a good stay and I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueMPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Prague Golden Age
Prague Golden Age
#291 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Prague Hotel
Old Prague Hotel
#264 of 646 in Prague
410 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cloister Inn Hotel
Cloister Inn Hotel
#91 of 646 in Prague
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Pension U Lilie
Pension U Lilie
#290 of 646 in Prague
251 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Melantrich
Hotel Melantrich
#213 of 646 in Prague
565 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
At the Old Lady (U stare pani)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betlem Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betlem Club

Address: Betlemske namesti 257/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $59 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Betlem Club 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the core of the historical centre of Prague. It is surrounded by the most important sights of Prague and places such as the Charles Bridge, the National Theatre, the Old Town Square, Wenceslas Square, the Royal Way and the Jewish Town. The hotel is in the quiet surroundings of Bethlehem Square, just opposite the Bethlehem Chapel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Betlem Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betlem Club Hotel Prague
Betlem Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing