We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, memorable, amazing service.”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #4 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb, memorable, amazing service.”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Booked on the strength of the reviews on this site, Golden Well didn't disappoint. From the complimentary bubbles to the way our bags were whisked away to our room, we received a very warm welcome that instantly put us at ease. The staff here are a delight - really sweet people to whom nothing seemed to be any trouble. The service is easily the best thing about Golden Well - and there's still a very great deal to recommend it.

The location of the hotel, in the heart of the castle quarter, is perfect. The hotel itself is a mix of old maps of Prague, Porsche designed furniture, attractive artwork and winding corridors - a world away from the chrome and coolness of a larger chain hotel, it feels very homely and warm while remaining plush and stylish. At 4pm, drinks and snacks are served in a sociable communal area, a great opportunity to meet other guests.

Our room was charming - a ridiculously comfortable bed and all the usual trimmings, including a big DVD collection at reception in case a quiet night in was required. The evening turn-down service in particular is a sweet touch.

The breakfast was excellent - sufficient amounts of really good food are available on the inclusive price with the room to ensure you'll survive an active day.

Worth the money, this is one of the best hotel stays I've ever experienced.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    70
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
223
1,208
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Great location, great views, great breakfast and snacks - and exceptional service all round.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We treated ourselves to a trip to Prague for our Silver Wedding Anniversary, and to say we had a ball would be an understatement! This does rate as one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

We were met at the airport and taken to the hotel immediately, the welcome was warm and very friendly and although our room wasn't ready (it was only 10.30am) we were taken up to the restaurant were we were given coffee, cakes and an introduction to the city.

We went out for a walk soon after and stumbled accross a music festival in Old Town Square. Although the hotel 'phoned us to let us know our room was ready, we were quite happy wandering around soaking up the atmosphere. Being January it was very cold, snow lay on the ground and day time temps hovered around -8' (thank goodness for the thermals), but this not detract from the beauty of this fair city, in a way it added to the romance.

Eventually, craving a bit of warmth, we ventured back across Charles Bridge to the hotel, just in time for the afternoon treats (sweet & savoury canapes, tea, coffee & wine [including sparkly]).

Our room faced the palace gardens but still gave us a side view of the city beyond the river. The room was large, warm and very comfortable, the bathroom & jacuzzi bath a delight, the addition of free WiFi throughout the hotel was very welcome and useful.

Breakfast was good, with the added benefit of a truly fantastic view! We ate dinner in town and were pleasantly surprised by the choice and quality of the food.

We did treat ourselves to a private City Guide for 3-4 hours, she was excellent and got us into places that we wouldn't have dreamt of going to urselves! We also took the funicular railway up to the observation tower on Petrin Hill - the views from up here were just amazing .

We loved Prague and will definitely return, and when we do, we wouldn't stay anywhere else - The Golden Well gets our vote everytime!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Just returned from a fabulous week-end at the Golden Well. It is rightly rated as one of the top hotels anywhere. From the airport limousine which picks you up through reception, housekeeping and the restuarant they cannot do enough for you. Service is however friendly and discreet. The location means that you can walk from your hotel to any of the main attractions but its situation also means that it is quiet and peaceful. Everyone should treat themselves to this level of comfort and service at least once or in most cases I suspect once having been here you will want to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pluscarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed at the Golden Well last weekend on a short trip to Prague, and it rates as one of the best experiences of our many travels. I have never been to a hotel were staff were so attentive, and seemed so genuinly interested in sharing with you information about a city that they obviously highly admire themselves. Prague itself was just a delight, but the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, and the many touches in the hotel, made the weekend one we will remember for a long time to come. We loved wandering from the hotel across the bridge and into the old town centre - the bridge was a delight at any time of the day (and I must say particularly romantic of a night, with all the lights and music). And the staff had some fantastic recommendations for us on dining, and on where to go (thanks Stepan!). There were so many little touches everywhere in the hotel that contributed to a feeling that we were somewhere beautiful and romantic - beautiful music playing in the bedroom as we arrived, a fabulous big whirlpool for a warming spa bath soak for 2 after a day of wandering the gorgeous streets, and even little drinks and canapes of an evening. We generally arent very social when we go away together, but we found ourselves in fabulous conversation with other lovely guests as we had a wine in the afternoon - exchanging travelling tips and stories - I guess the hospitality of the staff must have rubbed off on us and made us more social! Or perhaps it was just because we were so relaxed by the whole experience. In any event, we cant recommend the Golden Well highly enough. It seems to me impossible to leave there disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo_and_brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2010

The hotel is very small, and the emplyees seemed very eager to please us.
We stayed in the biggest suite, and our 3 year old got her own robe and towel.
The negative part were following:
- we booked online, and chose "limousine roundtrip", where the description saif that we would be picked up at the airport in a limousine, and brought back the same way. This turned out to be nothing else than a regular Mercedes.
- We turned down the offer of turning the sofa into a bed for our child, and said that she would be sleeping with us in our bed. But when I called and requested an extra comforter for the bed (because one was to little for three people and we were cold), they claimed that they didn´t have any extra comforters. I find that hard to believe!
- There is no bar at the hotel or close by, and we found this a little sad because when you travel with kids it´s nice to have somewhere very close to just sit down or have a drink in the evening time without having to walk far outside or get in a cab.
- The restaurant was not very great. Good breakfast, but dinner was poor.
But don´t get me wrong! The hotel is very nice, has a fantastic view, and I would recommend it for couples on honeymoon, or on a romantic getaway, not so much for children,

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantfindany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

I took my wife to Prague for a special occasion and wanted to stay in the best hotel I could. From previous reviews this was the obvious choice and I have to say, we were not disappointed. I have stayed in £600 GBP a night hotels before and this beat them hands down. The personal touch on arrival and throughout our stay was unrivalled and the location, under the castle walls, was a dream. If you want a hotel that feels exclusive, without having to pay outrageous prices, then I don't think you'll find a better hotel than this in Prague and perhaps, anywhere. It was perfect!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBriFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,683 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
809 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#4 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing