We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Similar to the other reviews we just returned from a fabulout stay. The free breakfast is grand, the afternoon snacks are great and they just added a free Nespresso machine in the lounge. The lounge was never crowded and we found it a great way to connect with fellow travelers. The direct access to the Castle gardens is unbelievable and we found the location close enough to walk to every tourist point.

The only caveat we offer is that you need to be somewhat physically fit to stay at the hotel. The last walk up to the hotel is uphill on cobblestones. There is only a tub in the room -- it is quite large with a hand shower -- but can be difficult getting in and out of and not as easy to use as a shower. Inside you can use an elevator to avoid the polished stairs. We loved our stay but I would suggest it more appropriate for the active traveler.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fracto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,777)
There are newer reviews for Golden Well Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2009

100% agree with everything that has been said about this hotel - it really is one of the best hotels you will ever stay in. Granted, it does not have a gym or a swimming pool, but in terms of location, service and attention to detail it cannot be beaten. From the warm welcome at check in, to the 'congratulations' honeymoon cake that was waiting for us in our room to the Molton Brown toiletries to the free wine and canapes each evening, everything about this hotel was superb.

Prague itself was very busy, a little too busy but it is very pretty. The hotel location, near the castle, and the ability to walk straight into the castle gardens saved numerous steps of climbing and the views from the room and terraces were superb. The hotel restaurant is regarded as one of the best in Prague and the food confirmed that. Also ate at the Palffy Palace (5 min walk from the hotel) and Restaurant David (10 min walk) and although fairly costly - think UK restaurant prices, the food and service were excellent - definitely try at least one of these. Made the mistake, one evening of trusting a recommendation from the 'Prague Meal Guide' and went to U Vladere - the food was cheaper than the other two above but we soon realised why - neither the food nor the service were great and they played the 'wine trick' on us - i.e. we order 'house wine' from the wine list, the bill comes and the price is 6 times as much, when we question this, the response is that the wine we ordered was not available so they substituted with another 'house wine' - can't ever remember paying £9 for a glass of house wine before but there we go.....so three lessons, you get what you pay for in Prague, always confirm which wine you have been brought and always ask the concierge about a restaurant's reputation before going there.

Was sad to leave the Golden Well, but we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Our three nights at the Golden Well were some of the most romantic of our marriage - from the initial welcome champagne to dinner under the stars and roses in our room, it was a delightful and memorable vacation. Perhaps it was the service that truly set apart this gem of a hotel, but the food was also fabulous and the suite (#23) gorgeous, We have already recommended this place to others. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UtahKPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

My partner and I chose this hotel because of all the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I can say we were not disappointed. We had five great nights at the hotel. The staff is fantastic! Not only was the service during our stay great, they were very helpful prior to arrival on suggestions for activities...and they made all our requested dinner reservations. The moment you walk in the door, you really feel like a guest in their home. Nothing you request is ever too much trouble for them. From the nice wine/snacks hour in the afternoon to the complimentary nightly shoe shine and wake-up call with coffee...it's just an incredible experience. The location just can't be beat...right in Mala Strana by the castle. We ate the breakfast buffet daily (included in your rate) and it was a nice start to the day...and the view can't be beat. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated including very comfortable beds and nice linens. While we love the top luxury hotel chains, they just can't compete with the service and personal attention you'll find here. We will absolutely stay here again...and actually can't imagine staying anywhere else in Prague.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garygoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

This is a very special place. The existing reviews say it all. The staff, all of them, could not have been more helpful. Two minor observations: we had some difficulty in operating the whirlpool system in the bath (I suspect that the reason was probably because we are both mechanically challenged with new fangled gadgets!) & second we felt that the price of dinner in the restaurant was a shade expensive but the view almost made up for this minor gripe.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Callenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

The reason that we became aware of this is that the guide that we hired went to the wrong Golden Well Hotel the morning of our tour. The Golden Well I am reviewing is at U Zlatne studne. The other hotel is on Karlova Street.

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. It was a little hard to find - we were driving and our GPS system kept leading us up a cobblestone drive to which there seemed to be a dead end. Finally my husband got out of the car and went on foot. Just around the corner was the hotel - hidden away. And what a gem. They immediately came down and helped us with our bags and dissappeared with the car in a city that has few parking garages. Anastasia greeted us warmly - no big front desk - just a small personal desk - and then whisked us to our room. We were supposed to stay in Room #25 which we saw and it was lovely. My husband like the place so much he asked if there was a junior suite available - lucky for us there was - and we moved to #16.
The rooms are large, quiet, beds very comfortable - 3 different types of pillows on each bed. Bathrooms, slippers. Each room has a jacuzzi tub. Wonderful down comforters.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant which has a magnificent view of the city. Huge selection - eggs can be ordered for a charge. Lots of fruit, cereal, and pastries.

Free wine and appetizers are served from 5-7 (?) - can't remember as there were several hotels that did this. Excellent appetizers. Free internet - only one computer - but there are only 19 rooms so we never found it a problem.

The staff here is what makes the place. Every request was immediately fufilled and they were delighted to do it. Denis was there to do everything - I don't know when he slept. He helped with bags, fixed our phone, taught us how to do the TV, helped us with our maps. Everyone was exceptional.

The hotel has a great location just below the Palace. They have their own private gate and key to the Palace Gardens so that is makes it very easy to have a shortcut up to the Palace.

We hired a guide i found in Rick Steves Eastern Europe guidebook - Jana Hronkova. She spent 2 days with us - 6 hours each day and I would highly recommend her. She gave us a great understanding of Prague. I would also highly recommend the restaurant U Tri Slatych Hvezd -which translates to By Three Golden Stars. It is easy walking distance from the hotel - it is one of the oldest restaurants in Prague - has a no smoking section ! - and is reasonably priced. The stroganoff is to die for.

We did go by the other Golden Well Hotel and it can't compare. Be certain of your addresses when you book. I would return to U Zlate studne tomorrow!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colleen_travelqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

As expected from the enthusiastic TripAdvisor reviews, we had a terrific stay at this small, romantic hotel. The level of service was outstanding from the first moment, when we were welcomed with drinks and amuse bouche. Our room was tasteful and comfortable, with nice touches such as the heated tile floor in the bathroom. And the dinner we enjoyed in the upstairs restaurant, Terasa, was delicious from start to finish.

But the thing that really sets this place apart is the view. To have this vista of Prague while not surrounded by crowds is something really special. Take full advantage of that during your stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,743 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 648 in Prague
3,171 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 648 in Prague
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $219 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing