We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was, without exception, the best service we have ever received on a City Break. From the point of collection by the hotel driver from Prague Airport, to the continuing hospitality received after we had checked out, all our needs were anticipated and our requests were fulfilled quickly and efficiently. From the welcome drink, to the complimentary cake and sandwiches each afternoon, to the private access to the castle grounds - this is a special hotel!

We were asked to select our exceptional employee during our stay, but it was impossible to do so. All the staff were professional but friendly and all contributed to the quality of our stay.

Our room was spacious and particularly well equipped. The bed was comfortable and the hotel quiet. The breakfast was a shining example of what an excellent hotel breakfast can be and set us up for the day. And if you are able to book a meal in the Terrace Restaurant. I firmly believe that the meals we had there during our stay were the best we have ever had.

Believe me, I don't usually gush like this in reviews but this is the closest we have ever come to the perfect hotel experience - and that includes stays at Four Seasons and on the QE2.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view across Prague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C_M_Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    66
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
215
1,164
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Searched for the best hotel in Prague and got up this hotel. Didn't know anything about it and how big it was before I arrived to the hotel. I now recommend it to all my friends! Amazing hotel with a lovely view and all small details made it perfect.
I've been working in the Hospitality business for 20 years and this was a very nice surprise. Even if the hotel only has 19 rooms it does not feel too much "family", it's just professional. Will not write about all the nice touches they do because that’s a part of the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Christian L,

Thank you very much for your wonderful and professional review.

I am delighted to know that you were impressed with the hotel and the high standard of accommodation you were given. I am happy to hear that you recommend the Golden Well Hotel to all your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The physical nataure of this hotel is nothing to write home about.
However, great hotel keeping, wonderful staff and the perfect location more than make up for that.
We stayed here for 3 nights on our first visit to Pargue and would highly recommend this hotel. Two tips - try and avoid an attic room. The bathrooms a great, but the room itself is underwelhming. Secondly, be sure to book dinner in the hotel's restaurant - the views of Prague are spectacular.We'll fondly remember this hotel for a long time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PortlandQuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We chose to stay at the Golden Well based on other reviews and we were thrilled with our experience. Our stay was wonderful. The transfer arrangements were flawless, we were greeted like royalty, given a tour of the property with a welcome drink and showed to our room which was beautiful. The little touches that make a small luxury hotel so much more inviting are all around you...the ipad in the room, the water and little dessert at your bedside at night, the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. We had breakfast every morning in the beautiful dining room and had a wonderful dinner on the terrace overlooking the city with one of the most beautiful views. I would never stay anywhere else if I were to return to Prague.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Barb T,

Thank you for your taking the time to write this great review of your stay at the Golden Well Hotel.

I am delighted to know that you were impressed with the hotel and the high standard of accommodation you were given. We take great pride in our service here at the Golden Well and it gives me great pleasure to know that you experienced our five star treatment. I am glad that you appreciated the hotel’s amenities and the friendliness of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kind regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Based on mostly positive Trip Advisor reviews, i chose to stay a Golden Well on my first trip to Prague, a city i had always wanted to visit. And i am very glad I did. From the moment i contacted the hotel after making the booking on Booking.com, i felt reassured that my transfer request and other queries were efficiently handled and immediately. Something which even Four Seasons, fairmont, mandarin Oriental and Ritz take time in replying. The car and driver (mercedes-E class) were there to receive me as soon as i walked out of arrivals. The hotel is situated in an obscure street but its perfect, location is great as its at the bottom of the Prague castle, or rather mid-way down the hill, with direct access to the gardens as mentioned by other reviewers. My room had a beautiful view of the terraced garden steps and of Prague city and was so well appointed, the ipad and ipod in the room for use, free wifi, complimentary pralines and fruit on arrival, nightly sweet treats on the bedside table, the nespresso coffee machine, i could not have been more comfortable. The bathroom floor's heated and there were these gorgeous Molton Brown toiletries, towels plush and soft, lovely Bidet. Besides the great service, the fantastic welcome experience at the front desk and later at the restaurant where you are given welcome hors' d'ouvres and a drink and given helpful suggestions about the city and any tours you are interested in, i must add some words about the quality of food. I booked dinner at Coda, their signature restaurant and had the most amazing beetroot salad with goat cheese and venison with berries. I think i died and went to heaven, was thrilled to have venison after years!
As for breakfast, which i had pre-booked@20 Euros daily rate, i could not have had a better deal. It was a complete meal in itself though a la carte. The ala carte bit had egg options, juice and beverage options and even desserts (meaning French Toast and Czech cake which is more like the softest, yummiest pancakes served with cream cheese and hot blueberry sauce!). The omelette was simply amazing and so were the pancakes and French Toast. the selection of breads and Danishes was great and the home made creamy yogurt has been rightly praised by others...a complete meal and a really really nice one..
shops are located a short walk away and there are restaurants down in St Nicholas square close by opposite Starbucks and the Tram point. Old Town is a good 15-20 minute walk down Charles Bridge if you are a slow walker. But the best part is Golden Well is not too far from Old Town and right next to Prague Castle where one can go for early morning walks and watch the sun rise when its all quiet minus the daily visitors. I love this place and will definitely return here again when i visit Prague in summers. The only thing missing which was duly noted at the front desk was the absence of a rubber mat for the bath tub, which can get slippery, otherwise its perfect!

Room Tip: Room 35 has a great view, the suites on the 1st and 2nd floor are great if you have children or are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faryal2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Service being paramount. One nice touch is the complimentary I-Pad in each room for your use. THe hotel is located at the end of a road, right up against the castle walls. They do not tell you , but there is a private door to a small stairs to the castle grounds. While touring the extensive castle grounds, you can duck back into the hotel for lunch, a rest or something you have forgotten. The restaurant on top of the hotel is also excellent. Panoramic view of the city with excellet, though expensive food. One warning; they claim to have a 4:00 to 6:00 happy hour in the private lounge with complimentary drinks and light food. It should be called the 4:00 to 4:30 happy our. Our first day we came at 5:30 and nothing was left, no wine, no food, not even clean glasses.

Room Tip: THe higher up the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Stanely J,

I am so happy to hear that you discovered the beauty of Prague as well as our lovely hotel.

I am extremely disappointed to hear that our complimentary afternoon refreshment didn't meet your expectations. We prepare the food for our guests with pleasure to restore body and soul after returning from a busy touring of the city of Prague, and I am very sorry that at the time of your visit, the food was not replenished. I hope this incident does not deter you from visiting us again. It is always our intention to have our guests leave the hotel with only positive experiences, and I apologize that we did not exceed all of your expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you are ready to make a reservation. I will be happy to assist. Thank you for your feedback.

With warmest regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a truly oasis. We (we took my ILs on this trip) enjoyed our stay of 4 nights in Prague. We had the cutest room and large for European standard. Location is a bit tricky to the main area but definitely a walking distance. However, you are very close to the castle. Breakfast served on the veranda overlooking the city is breathtaking. After a long day of excursion, there is little something at the sitting area awaiting, après drinks or petite desserts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palau05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing