We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Well, In A Class of Its Own”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Golden Well, In A Class of Its Own”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just returned from a week in Prague staying at the Golden Well. What a delightful hotel. Our room (#35) was spacious, the views were stupendous, and the included breakfasts were delicious. What really made this property stand out however was the staff. From the initial welcome at the front desk (complete with a tour of the 19 room hotel) to the bellmen, housekeepers, and wait staff at breakfast, they couldn't have been warmer or more welcoming. After a long day of walking the length and breadth of the city center, returning was like coming home. If you find yourself in Prague, for business or pleasure, this is where you want to rest your weary head.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregoryRShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests!
Thank you very much for having shared your experience with us. As a team we really work hard to make our guests have an enjoyable stay and we are really happy to have a hotel with such a great staff members. We hope to see you again for your future trip to Prague.

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,638
    69
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
220
1,191
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this place. Everything you would want and expect from a hotel. From the views and location to the service and friendly and attentive staff. My hats off to you. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joejoey48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the Tripadvisor community.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Golden Well and that you were happy with our views, location and services. I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We made our reservation at the Golden Well based on the recommendation of a colleague from Prague (good start!), and lived up to our high expectations in every way. From the day we made the reservation we received personalized communications from the hotel manager offering us options to make the trip easier (car service from the airport) and more delicious (breakfasts and dinner in the hotel restaurant).

Upon arrival we were greeted with gracious smiles and lead to a beautiful room with a view over the city (Room 34). The room was very spacious - wide and deep with comfortable arm chairs. The bed (including pillow menu) was exceptionally comfortable, and the bathroom (recently renovated) an oasis. All the amenities - from the wine and fruit on arrival, to the daily bedside dessert treat, to the soaps and shampoos were great.

The service in the restaurant was wonderful. Breakfasts were abundant and dinner (the tasting menu) was probably the best meal we had during our 5 nights in Prague.

A real bonus was access to the castle and royal gardens from the restaurant. That saved 15 minutes of walking up or down hills each time! It's worth it for that alone!!

If we go back to the city, we will go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked Room 34. Can't say anything about the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank for your sharing your experience with the Golden Well hotel here on Tripadvisor.com and thank to your colleague from Prague that he/she recommended the Golden Well Hotel to you! We will be happy to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I just returned from three nights and four days in Prague and we were lucky to stay at the Golden Well. It is truly a wonderful hotel in a perfect location, just below the castle, to discover all the sights of Prague. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived at the airport (they coordinated our pickup), to our early check-in, to our welcome drink on the terrace overlooking the city, to our newly remodeled bathroom, to the fruit in the room, to the high-quality bathing products, to our delicious "Good Night" treat each evening next to our bed, we really couldn't have asked for anything more.

Everyone in this small (17 rooms, 2 suites) and special hotel were eager to help out in any way they could. If we ever return to Prague, we know where we are staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Golden Well is a wonderful hotel in a fantastic location offering impeccable service. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, offering old world charm without sparing modern amenities. The hotel is less than a five minute walk to the Charles bridge, infant of Prague church, and the tram or metro. It has it's own private gate to Prague Castle. The service from the moment of arrival to checkout is incomparable. The breakfast is wonderful, offering a large buffet as well as a plethora of cooked to order selections. The restaurant is absolutely amazing with an incredible tasting as well as a la carte menu, nice wine list, great service, and world class city views. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJD-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
222 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

In all of our travels our absolute favourite hotel! Location is perfect, just below the castle with scenic views from their famous restaurant and their breakfast room, fantastic! Special hotel access to the castle is a bonus! Now the details, terrific boutique rooms - not opulent but large and nicely appointed. Service starts with your arrival with welcome drink, tour of the hotel, and to discuss your visit in Prague and if they can be of assistance to you, whether tours, taxis, etc. Nothing is too small to ask, from an extra bed sheet or particular variation on your breakfast, your wishes are delivered. Daily they offer a free happy hour between four and six with wine, juice, water and beautiful hors d'oeuvres as well as a tasty sweet dessert treat with their turn down service. We celebrated a special anniversary and upon our arrival champagne, fruits and chocolate. That evening we were also surprised with a delicious chocolate mousse torte which was divine. Simon, Lenka and the lovely blonde woman in the breakfast room (my apologies for not noting your name) and all others, their goal is to make your stay memorable and indeed they do! The breakfast is a fabulous buffet with a lovely variety of the usual breakfast items including their famous homemade yogurt. You can also order breakfast from the menu cooked to order, any combination you wish as well as a sweet menu...waffles, pancakes, so many choices! We used their limo airport service both ways which was very prompt and professional. The location is very central even though it is just below the castle, it only takes a 10-15 minute walk to the Charles Bridge. Now all this and at a reasonable cost, why on earth would you stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: Their website has a room layout map which you can see the different sizes and layouts. We requeste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri_Hlavaty_GM, General Manager at Golden Well Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review!

I am very pleased that our mission to provide the best possible service meets our guests with such a positive response.

I am delighted that you enjoyed everything our hotel offers - delicious breakfast with great views, daily afternoon snacks, as well as a small surprise from us to your important anniversary celebration.

I hope that I will soon be able to welcome you again at the Golden Well and that we will be able to meet all of your expectations again.

Best regards,

Jiri Hlavaty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed four nights at the beginning of our trip at the Golden Well, and from the moment we arrived we felt at home. We had arranged for an airport pick-up, and found the hotel down a tiny street off a leafy square. We walked the last several yards on a cobblestone lane to our welcome in reception.

The hotel itself is made up of four houses with a courtyard in between (the restaurant is the fifth house), so as you go from reception to first floor to your room, it's a meandering path. There is an elevator to the restaurant off of one of the entry ways, but rooms are not accessible by restaurant guests - you need a card key to get off at the intervening floors. When I looked at the room layouts online, I was trying to figure out if the rooms are below the restaurant, but they're not - the restaurant is above them and set back (see photos below). There is a gate from the restaurant to the castle grounds, which we did not use but could be very helpful.

We had room 25, the John Dee room, with views of the city and gardens. As we entered, there was a bathroom with tub/shower (wonderful rain shower head) to the right, a little entry vestibule with closet, and the bedroom straight ahead. Lighting for reading in bed was good. We were given a welcome tray of fruit and wine, and each night, a different sweet under a glass dome.

I wanted to add that there was a window in the bathroom with a shutter overlooking the courtyard. These are historical residences and I think that the exteriors could not be altered. However, this was absolutely NO problem, as it shut tightly and we never heard or saw anyone in the hall/courtyard, and only one room's occupants had to pass our room.

We elected to eat every morning in the hotel's restaurant - if booked ahead it was 15E - and it was a wonderful way to start the day, and we thought well worth it! The buffet with breads, meats, cheese, homemade yogurt, cakes, juices and cappuccino was supplemented with made-to-order egg dishes...and after all of that, we were offered "a sweet course" of griddlecakes with blueberries. We'd have rolled down the hill if we had accepted, so we passed. Just to sit there and look out over the city was so relaxing and refreshing that we were reluctant to leave and tour Prague. All of the servers were so nice, but we looked forward to chatting with Oksana, from Ukraine, each day (her countryman Alexander helped with our luggage, and I believe it was Radek who helped on our first day - but everyone was friendly). We elected to have dinner there one night and it was great, outside under heat lamps.

We thought that the location was wonderful, with easy access to the castle (by tram, the long way around then downhill) and the Old Town via the Charles Bridge. We walked to several restaurants, in particular Heregtova Cihelna, which was fabulous.

Staying there was just wonderful - it was probably our favorite hotel of the trip - and if we return to Prague, we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a look at the website (under Rooms, then Room Layouts). We had a good room, #25, the John Dee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetootrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,585 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing