We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fantastic small hotel, romantic, excellent service and the gourmet menu in the top floor restaurant with a stunning view is just to die for!!! I recommend this hotel and restaurant highly and could go back anytime

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ewcia_Olsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    69
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
220
1,190
60
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our daughter recommended this hotel based upon their experience. My wife and I were truly impressed with the staff and facilities during our recent visit to Prague. The location is absolutely charming and felt so comfortable we enjoyed lingering around the hotel.
Because of the small size, the experience was so much more personal than being at a much larger facility. Staying in the Castle Section of Prague gave us absolute peace and quiet from the very busy tourist season in full swing in other sections of the historic city, while also being quite close to the major attractions. The services and food are without equal. We had wonderful breakfasts which we would highly recommend as part of the package and an exquisite evening dinner on the roof top restaurant.

Room Tip: WE asked for a small room overlooking the castle gardens which was delightful as well as sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Rarely can you find a hotel that is this beautiful, clean and with such amazing staff! If you can take advantage of it, do the limo service. It was so convenient and I think it helped us get to the hotel much faster than if we had done public transport of any type. We had to fly out of the hotel the first night as we had booked a tour with "Taste of Prague" (which I 110% recommend, too). But coming back to the hotel to such comfort was well worth every penny we spent. I have never spent time at any hotel where it was this clean. Not one piece of dirt on the floor, and I should know because I walked around barefoot the whole time it was so clean! Only certain rooms have stand up showers...FYI. At night time the beds are turned down and a special treat left. We did not get to take advantage of the 4-6pm snacks nor walk the private entrance to the castle gardens, but we did do breakfast one day and the amount of choices was unreal. Okay, and I totally fell in love with the heated bathroom floor and heated toilet seat. My first trip to Prague in 2005 was completely opposite of this trip. I hated the hotel and was uncomfortable the whole time. This time the hotel changed my view of Prague. And I am returning so I can stay here again! If every hotel was run this way, the world would be so different. Confirmation emails beforehand and a thank you email from the hotel when we returned home just added to my delight. Kudos to the Golden Well!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willingtotryanything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location just beneath the Prague Castle. Very helpful and friendly staff, always ready to assist in any situation..! Rooms are clean and pleasant. Enormous and delicious buffet breakfast along with menu items that can be ordered separately. The daily snacks and refreshments provided in the lounge at 4pm were a superb addition to the day after exploring the city. We have really enjoyed our week in Prague.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This Hotel in every way is superb. The service is impeccable, the room is so incredibly comfortable & extremely clean. Besides all this they add touches that make each day & night special.
The amenities in the room are all state of the art & modern so that you feel you have a luxury home away from home.
The staff are all so lovely & each request is met with immediate response. I would one hundred percent recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling to Prague it was amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful & well cared for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesca2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Well Hotel in April 2013 for my mum's 50th birthday for three nights, and it was absolutely amazing! We were a party of five and stayed in three rooms; each were unique yet equally fantastic. All the staff were excellent, but in particular Simon, who welcomed us and on arrival showed us around the hotel - everything was thought of, the relaxing lounge room (and adjoining business suites) where they serve complimentary wine and cakes every day around 4-6pm, the rooftop restaurant with the most amazing views of the city, a private passageway to the castle and even a chess table on the first floor! It really is first class service and the added touches make such a difference; the refreshing mint towels and the welcome canapes and fizz in the rooftop restaurant on arrival, and each evening a turn-down service complete with complimentary bottle of water and mini desserts and laid out slippers! There are hairdryers, iPads, iPod and docking station in the room, but there are not that many plug sockets so don't expect to charge a lot of electrical items at once! The staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful - without their tips on the boat tour and bike tour of the city we would have missed out on two excellent trips! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so fantastic - highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tr4v3ll3r_514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Well on a recommendation from friends who had recently stayed there, it did not disappoint! It is a gorgeous boutique hotel with first rate service. Everyone in the staff is
extremely accommodating, and from the minute you check in, you know it is something special.
We received mint towels while checking in, and went to the gorgeous terrace for a cocktail while hearing all about the property and it's amenities.
The hotel is in a quiet part of town by the castle with gorgeous views of the city. We requested a larger room, (35) overlooking the castle and the views outside our window were spectacular, . We loved the breakfast for an extra 15 Euro (if booked in advance.) It was well worth it. The wine and appetizers from 4-6 was a nice touch, as was the delightful "dessert" that was left on your night stand during turn down service. Every night it was a different treat, and always delicious! They also had a pre loaded iPod which had a nice selection of music.
We also received a bottle of red wine and fruit upon arrival in our room.
The hotel does have a hairdryer in the room, and adapter plugs you can borrow. If we had any complaint at all, it would be that there are not enough outlets if you have several gadgets that you want to charge at the same time. Very minor, but worth a mention.
I would highly recommend the Golden Well. We visited the sister property, The Aria, and even though it was beautiful too, we were glad we selected the Golden Well. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicgoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,577 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing