We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent long weekend break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent long weekend break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We are a hard working and busy couple living in London and needed a break! We couldn't imagine a more enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable hotel. The staff were very attentive and obviously happy in their work. The room was very comfortable and a small cake was brought to our room each night - what a treat for me! We took Tripadvisor advice and booked a meal in the hotel restaurant - a great meal with a great view over Prague.

Room Tip: Our room - 36 , was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,603
    66
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
215
1,164
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's hard not to expect a lot when a hotel is not only rated #1, but also won TripAdvisor's reward for best hotel. I recall seeing the top 10 list a year or so back thinking that when I visit Prague one day I can only hope to stay at the Golden Well. As luck (and choice of season no doubt) would have it, when we decided to visit Prague we found the price to be quite reasonable (30% discount when we booked 3 nights) and bingo, it was booked!

We opted for the driver to pick us up (and to drop us off) at the airport, which was really nice even if it might be cheaper doing it in other ways. He took us straight to the hotel and even gave some tips on where to go in Prague (without trying to sell us anything). At pickup we were out and about and when we got back the car was ready and packed and we were whisked off to the airport. Loved it!

The hotel is very well hidden near the castle wall and could probably be tricky to find unless you knew where to go. The neighborhood is as safe (and quiet) as it gets as it's all government buildings around there and loads of security walking about. It's in a very pretty building covered in flowers that almost seems as if 3-4 buildings were put together to create the hotel itself. Check-in was quick and very friendly, we got a quick overview of Prague and a map, while sipping on a welcome drink and a wet towel. We mentioned they had so many Tripadvisor rewards and we heard how hard it can be to live up to being #1. No doubt! We loved that they were very personal and not like some 5* hotels where you feel like you're royalty. I prefer personal and happy/joking staff.

I think a lot of people forget that city hotels aren't spa hotels or beach resorts. They've been to Punta Cana 5* Spa/Beach resorts and then stay at a great city hotel and get disappointed because something thing they had there isn't available here. I read some reviews and it seems people can be very picky for things that don't really matter. It's a shame. I'm pointing this out as I feel luxury city hotels should be compared to luxury city hotels and nothing else.

Our bags had already been put in the room for us and after a tour of the whole hotel we were presented with our room on the 3rd floor, which was very homely. That's the best word I can find to describe it. It's much less of a typical hotel room than a charming lodge-style room with slanted ceilings and old-style chest of drawers and wardrobes. It felt like one could live there and be perfectly happy with a room like that. We really enjoyed our room and we had a view from the window over the entire city of Prague (which was a surprise as we opted for a smaller room (which was still massive)). We had a bottle of good wine, a plate of cheeses and fruit and water free waiting for us. Every day they give you little cakes just before turn-down service and the weather report for the next day. You also get fresh water bottles at no cost. The bed was great, loads of pillow styles to choose from, and all amenities you need are there including an iPod with tons of music on it (also great for charging your own). TV is a large flat screen with Sky Movies etc and if that's not enough they have a DVD library bigger than some movie stores. downstairs. Honestly, really great rooms (only negative I can think of was that ceiling in our bathroom was slanted over the bathtub so standing in it was not an option. Very minor and not an issue for us anyway, but perhaps for some it could be tricky).

We ate at the 5-star restaurant on the first night (we hadn't reserved but they squeezed us in), which is a review in itself, but we enjoyed it very much. Price was as you'd expect for the level and reputation of the restaurant. The views are absolutely spectacular, no other hotel in Prague will beat it! The amazing thing is you'll have breakfast to the same views. Breakfast was an entire buffet of great stuff (try the yogurt, seriously!) as well as anything-you-want a-la-carte. It was served from 7 to 11 which I find is amazing as most hotels make you get up early to not miss it. As it's a small hotel you feel like you're in a restaurant with a personal waitress. We tried some different things from the menu but came back to Eggs Benedict a few times (only request here: please toast the bun!). Everything was delicious. We had such a large breakfast every morning that we rarely got hungry before 3pm. They do snacks and drinks in one of the common rooms of the hotel between 4-6pm but we sadly always missed it as we were out on the town, I'm curious what was available. Seems you could almost live by eating only at the hotel if you did a trip back every time you got hungry!

Location is extremely central, you're minutes away from Charles Bridge and "M", a really great place for a few beers, and everything else in Prague. Additionally you get the rare benefit of taking an elevator up to the restaurant and sneaking out the back door to be at the front of the castle. Most people have to walk up a long road to get to the same spot. Everywhere you are in the hotel the views are spectacular and the location honestly can't be better to combine centrality and quietness.

All staff we encountered were great and super friendly and helpful. Hotel was great. Prague was fantastic. If we come back we'll definitely try to stay at the Golden Well again. I'd love to see Prague in summer but I can imagine the tourist crowds can be crazy as even late in Autumn there were loads of people in the city. But then again, that makes it very alive. It's also quite fun to cross Charles Bridge to "go home", especially at night when the statues get all the more mysterious.

I should note that from what I saw in the hotel info, they will start charging separately for breakfast in 2013. Hopefully they'll offer package deals because breakfast was really great and part of the hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if it's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Golden Well will now be my standard for excellence in hospitality. Service at this hotel goes beyond the necessary and expected to provide a truly refined, personal experience. If this hotel is within your budget, you should really look no further.

Rooms: Perfectly comfortable with excellent mattresses, linens, towels and robes. I was touched by the amenities the hotel thought to include in our room for our baby: a tiny terrycloth robe, baby soaps and oils and toys in the cot. They really think of everything! They also told me that based on our frequent need to warm bottles they will now be including a bottle warmer in the rooms. The hotel provides wine and cheese to your room upon arrival. They will then provide a small dessert every night at turndown. Although we had requested garden view rooms, our rooms didn't have a view at all but given all the other pluses in the hotel we ended up not minding. The only thing that I did mind is that the bathroom in room 222 doesn't have any ventilation.

Location: Perfect! After getting to know the city center's various areas I realized how perfect the location of the Golden Well is. I much prefer to be in the Mala Strana neighborhood than in the old town which can be a bit too hectic at times. The walk to the old town from the hotel is short and lovely, over the Charles Bridge.

Staff: Herein lies the hotel's greatest asset. From the reception desk, to the restaurant team to the cleaning ladies, everyone at this hotel is friendly and helpful. We were made to feel special at every occasion. Thanks to Oksana, Stanislav, Simon, Mariya, the young chap who greeted us on our first night, and all the other for making our stay quite superb.

We will be returning to Prague without a doubt. This will be due in part to the wonders the city has to offer but also to the truly excellent experience that the Golden Well provided us.

Room Tip: Our rooms didn't have a view at all (221 and 222), we looked onto a wall. If this matters to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ticosticos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is simply fantastic. Cosy, warm, with excellent service, very friendly staff and available and rooms with fabulous views. I strongly recommend to anyone who enjoys quiet quality hotels with soul.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria76Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

After staying at one of the "normal luxury" hotels on our journey (by car) down to Budapest (from Sweden), we searched the internet for a more personal (boutique) hotel for our return trip. Our guess that Golden Well was one of those hotels was confirmed just after our booking over the net, since we realized that we needed to have confirmed a special request of ours. A very nice e-mail conversation was initialized immediately, and we were called up over the phone several times, so the request could be properly answered and, of course met by the hotel with no misunderstandings under ways for either the hotel or us. Very nice, and the personal touch was not to be mistaken. Arriving at the hotel everything was just as good, beautiful surroundings, hotel itself very well kept, beautiful and exciting and a staff that was more than helpful without being "too much" of concierges/bellboys/butlers. Real people wanting us to be comfortable in all aspects! And we were! Thank You, we will return as well as recommend to all Prague travellers we will come across.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, even though our travel agent was unfamiliar with it. We are very glad we decided to stay at The Golden Well. In all respects, the stay could not have been nicer. The hotel is serviced extremely well, professional, warm, and very helpful. It is immaculately clean, both our room and the public spaces. The hotel is welcoming to its guests in that it has wine and snacks set out for guests each afternoon, and during our stay invited a local tour guide to answer guests' questions. By far, the best thing about this hotel is its wonderful location. It is conveniently located, yet on a quiet back street so you don't have the typicaly overwhelming crush of Prague tourists in the immediate vicinity. The hotel is located so that you can access the grounds of the gardens of the Prague Castle directly from the hotel's dining room. The convenience of that, especially when returning from the castle, cannot be overrated. It's difficult to appreciate that feature unless you have actually visited Prague. Although we spent four days in Prague and saw most of the key sights, we are tempted to return to the city simply to stay at this wonderful hotel again. Thank you Trip Advisor for a great recommendation. if you are reading this, do yourself the same favor we did ourselves and stay here when visiting Prague.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madbury
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in October 2012. From the time we arrived until we departed, the staff went way over and above to insure we had a great stay. Special thanks to Lenka and Blanka and the entire restaurant staff. We really were made to feel at home. Room (suite) was beautiful and the bed was to die for - most nights we slept 10 hours (or more) and didn't want get up! Maid service was impeccable and many times they had the room cleaned while we were at breakfast. Restaurant was best we had in Prague and what a view! We had many meals there and the quality was excellent for all meals and whether something simple or elegant. The hotel car is worth it - we used it to and from the airport and for an evening event. They have a 300-DVD library, which was nice for the night we stayed in. Common area had papers, afternoon snacks, tea and coffee, TV's, etc. hotel is in a nice, quiet area - you can see the city (great view) but can't hear any cars. A bit of a walk to major sites, but we like staying (and sleeping) away from the madding crowd. If you do Prague, the Golden Well should be where you stay - you will immediately feel at home. This is the best boutique hotel we have ever stayed at and the personal service tops the many Four Seasons we stayed at - and that is saying a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Property: Golden Well Hotel
Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing