We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Golden Well Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golden Well Hotel
Ranked #3 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

everything about this hotel was great, from the pick up from the airport, personal greeting and complimentary snack and drinks to the desserts left each afternoon in your room.

Complimentary drinks and food each afternoon, and an amazing reataurant.

It was ideally placed and enjoyed walking round the sites of prauge.

the staff could not have been better, and a big thanks to all

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthewhurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,776)
There are newer reviews for Golden Well Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

675 - 681 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We’re glad we were told about the common confusion this place has with a similarly named hotel in Old Town on Karlova – get instructions from the hotel if you go by taxi from the airport; our driver was going to make the same mistake that they warned us about. The cars will stop at the corner of the street because the last few yards are too narrow for cars. It’s a cobblestone street so dragging your luggage will require some effort but as soon as the porter knows you’re here, he takes over the handling the bags. Included in the room rate is a complimentary bottle of wine, a fresh plate of fruit in the room each day, mid-afternoon drinks and snacks in the lounge, fast wi-fi in the room and an amazing breakfast. The buffet spread alone would have been enough for us but they serve hot breakfast options as well, including various egg/omelette options and sweet options (the fresh toast, while simple, was one of the tastiest ones we’ve ever had.) It’s quite an advantage to have the top-rated restaurant in Prague be in your hotel! Everything was elegantly done.

The room was quiet, bright, clean, spacious, had original 15th century painted wood ceilings and had Molton Brown amenities. Our room had beautiful views of the courtyard and the city beyond. The bathroom, as they previously explained to us, had a Jacuzzi tub with a hand-held showerhead that did not have a self-standing hook. This was slightly inconvenient since we were not used to it but we’ve encountered this at many traditional hotels in Europe. The beds, linens and pillows were all so comfortable – we wished we could buy all of these for our own home!

Lastly, we were originally concerned that the location might be a little too remote but we actually preferred the quiet neighborhood away from the busy tourist crowds in other parts of the city – we were conveniently only about a ten-minute walk to the Charles Bridge. We had a lovely stay and would certainly return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ocphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I cannot be more complimentary of the Golden Well hotel and staff. If you are traveling to Prague, your trip will be high-lighted by your stay here. The hotel is "hidden" in a very quiet cul de sac below the famed castle. It would have been difficult to locate without the extremely courteous and friendly driver arranged by the hotel to pick us up at the airport. With only 19 rooms, it is definitely a boutique hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated with hardwood floors and lovely bedding, and we were greeted by a lovely fresh fruit arrangement, with chocolates on our pillows at turn-in. So special! The bath is great with luxury products, and the vanity has excellent lighting. To top this off, you will enjoy a large jacuzzi tub, which was wonderful after our nightmare of flight delays, cancelled flights and lost baggage. But the extremely helpful staff of Golden Well made all these hardships evaporate with their solicitous manner. Inclusive breakfast served atop the hotel in a glassed room overlooking the city starts your day off wonderfully. And the breakfast was DE-licious, the best we had on our two week European travels. They make their own yogurt with fresh fruit preserves on the bottom, served in charming glass containers. And don't miss out on the oatmeal. It is steel-cut and so creamy that I looked forward to it each of the three mornings of our stay. In the afternoon, the chef served complimentary appetizers and wine in a reception room off the lobby. The staff truly caters to their guests! If all this does not convince you to stay at the Golden Well, I cannot imagine what will! But as I read other reviews on this website, I see many others experienced the "wonderfulness" of the Golden Well. Don't miss out!

Room Tip: I don't think there ARE any bad rooms!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlsjustwanttohave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Golden Well hotel was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The room and accommodations were lovely and the service was excellent. We had a bit of trouble finding the hotel because it was hidden from the main roads. The location once found was great because it was off the beaten path and the bell man handled the business of taking care of luggage and parking car.

Room Tip: Finding the hotel was a bit difficult because it is hidden off the main street-but once there our ro...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khawk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This has to be the best hotel we've been to in Europe! From the moment we were picked up at the airport to the moment we were dropped off the hotel exceeded our expectations. When we arrived someone was there to bring our bags into reception. We sat with Stanislav as he checked us in and explained everything the hotel had to offer. He was also able to get us a reservation for dinner at the hotel's restaurant for that night. He was so friendly and helpful (the other staff members were very friendly as well).

The hotel is located in a quiet location about a 5-10 minute walk from the Charles Bridge. There are many restaurants about a 5 minute walk away. At the end of the day it was nice to be away from the crowds and come back to the serenity of Golden Well.

When we went to our room we fell in love. Frank Sinatra was playing on the ipod dock and a cheese plate was waiting for us. Also included in our room rate was water, fruit, and a bottle of wine. We were also given a small dessert every night during the turn down service. The room was very comfortable! The bed, sheets, and comforter lured us into sleep each night. There was even a pillow menu, which we didn't use, where you can order different types of pillows according to your needs/wants.

The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was spectacular! Not only was there fruit, meats, cheeses, all kinds of juices, teas, and champagne, but there was also a menu featuring eggs, french toast, pancakes, oatmeal, salmon, and many more items. The main restaurant allows direct access to the road leading to the palace and gardens.

We will definitely return to Golden Well the next time we're in Prague. We will recommend it to all of our friends and family and won't stay anywhere else in Prague!

Room Tip: We loved our room on the top floor!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cherosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in July 2012. We have travelled all over the world and have not stayed in a better hotel. We were picked up at the train station and driven to hotel(for a fee).The lovely woman who checked us in took us to our room and then a brief tour of the hotel and a much needed complementary drink after a long trip. The hotel gives the impression of being built into the side of Prague castle and there is a secret door from the magnificent terrace dining room into the castle grounds. The hotel is close to easy to use public transport and easy walk to restaurants, Charles bridge,Kafka museum. Afternoon snack is provided and beautifully presented sweet waits for you by the bed when you return from dinner. The staff and service are outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble and they made us feel like there was no-one else in the hotel and you don't get that very often. The rooms are very good but I suppose 5 stars would not leave any room to manoeuvre when comparing to a luxury tent on the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grayrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The staff was amazing and the overall hotel experience was one of the best we had. I will highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a high-end comfortable experience in a very nicer part of the town. Its location is great to relax and enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hariskh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,740 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 648 in Prague
3,169 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 648 in Prague
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Well Hotel

Address: U Zlate Studne 166/4, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#3 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#4 Family Hotel in Prague
#28 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $219 - $799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Well Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming traditional retreat in 16th-century Emperor's residence, set beneath the walls of Prague Castle. Wander up the cobbled, traffic-free streets to The Golden Well (U Zlate Studne), clinging to the wall in the shadow of Prague Castle, and you will uncover one of the city's best kept secrets. This modest collection of little inter-locking houses was once home to Emperor Rudolf II, and later the astronomer Tycho de Brahe. Sensitive renovation - has created a cosy yet refined hotel. The result is a pleasing balance of mod cons - internet access, satellite TV - and old style elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Well (u Zlate Studne) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing