We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but bring some earplugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Select Prague
Ranked #342 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This hotel is in a great location, a ten minute walk from Wenseclas Square. and close to the metro station (line C) IP Pavlova, which is at the end of the road.

The room was very large and spacious with a kitchen area (which we did not use). The bathroom was also quite spacious.

The staff were very friendly and looked after our bags after we'd checked out until the evening when we caught our train onwards.

The only real downside was the traffic outside, there is a 3-4 lane one way road outside the hotel - either a) ask for a room at the back of the hotel or b) bring some earplugs! After we had earplugs we slept soundly enough, but it was quite loud even for one of us who can usually sleep over a washing line!

The breakfast was also very good and worth a mention, there was enough to choose from - cereals, bread/spreads, pastries and hot food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tclstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Residence Select Prague
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2008

The hotel is a nice one. It has a good price-quality rate. The people working there are very friendly. The rooms are very clean.

The food is also good. Don't have your breakfast at the end of breakfast time. They have a limited amount of bread etc. At the end of breakfast time not all of the bread is availlable. We had every morning more than enough to eat. The nice pieces of bread where gone then.

A minus point is the airoconditioning. It only works a few hours in the evening until about 1.00 h in the night. Opening a window on other hours isn't an option, because the hotel is near a very busy road..

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank durdraaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We stayed at the Residence Select for 7 nights in late May for 92 USD per night and it was well worth the money. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was in excellent condition.

We had requested a room away from the street and our room (201) fit the bill perfectly - no noise from outside or from other guests. I realize judging the comfort of beds is subjective, but we slept like a log every night we were there. Every evening when we came back to the hotel, the room had been well cleaned with fresh linen and towels - a nice touch was their towel warmer.

It seemed to be a very secure hotel with safes in the rooms and good security at the entrance. The internet was available at no charge with a computer near the lobby. It was a short walk to I. P. Pavlova metro and tram terminal and a couple of blocks east of the hotel was a quiet area of town with several very nice restaurants and side walk cafes.

We did not use their breakfast option, so cannot comment on that, but I will highly recommend this hotel to other travellers

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank OOOAkronCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Hotel is spacious, sometimes feels spooky. shower is very small, my husband who is only 5'7" bumped his arms a lot of times while taking a bath. sofa rug was dirty so we just fold and put them aside. The felt blanket feels dirty and the bed sheets were rough. They have cooking facilities that we don't need and never used. towels are not so clean. they have free use of internet in the lobby computer but the wifi in the lobby that they say they have was never working. we never tried the breakfast because the reception said that we can have the rate without the breakfast. it turned out that the manager didn't agree and they never informed us until our bill came out. Our room was right in front of the elevator, we can hear everybody coming in and out of their rooms. The reception at the front desk are all helpful except they are not competitive enough to inform us about the quoted room rate. The manager was nowhere to be seen.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JCO725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

The friendly hotel staff endeavoured to make our stay as pleasant as possible. When booking , we requested a non-smoking double room to the back and this is what we got. Overlooking a small "courtyard" with some tall trees, our second floor room had a parquet flooor, enclosed kitchenette with 2-ring electric hob, fridge cum mini bar, kettle, frying-pan,saucepan,glasses,cutlery, teabags and sugar (no milk). A rather worn-looking rug on the floor took from the otherwise generally good appearance.
We encountered a small problem with a blocked handbasin in shower room which was promptly rectified to our satisfaction.
Buffet breakfast was a choice from cereals, fruit salad, yoghurts, rolls, boiled eggs, cheeses, jams, various drinks hot and cold. Our favourite restaurant for lunch was The Universal, V Jircharich 6, though some specials were gone by 1 o' clock. For evening meal we loved The Chudoba Restaurant, 67, Vinoradska.
We paid €55 per room per day for four days in early November - but had we checked more thoroughly online we would have found sites offering 4 days for the price of 3. It has to be said that although our room was quiet and cosy, the hotel is on a noisy, busy with cars, somewhat drab street. Metro and trams were a three to five minute walk away. The Old Town is the real gem of Prague. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in this beautiful, historical city. Hope you will too.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

I stayed at the Residence Select in Budapest, Hungary. The hotel was value for my money. The room I stayed in was at the back of the hotel and it was nice and quiet. The rooms are quite large and the stove and refrigerator were a plus because I was able to have my cup of tea every night. The breakfast was adequate.
The staff is very, very helpful and pleasant. I looked forward to speaking to the young ladies every day that I was there. They helped me pick the right tours and arranged for taxi service for me.
Although the hotel is not located in the city centre it is about a 10 minute walk or a short train ride to the centre. That was not a big problem because I was able to walk off all of the good food that I ate in Prague.
The free internet service is definitely a plus.
I would definitely recommend the Residence Select as a place to stay when in Prague. I would stay there again.

3  Thank chocolatepudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

Visited this hotel 18 months ago and was impressed. Rooms were comfortable, spacious and equipped with kettle, hob and cutlery. Staff were friendly and courteous, continental breakfast was served in a plain but clean room and there was plenty breakfast options to choose from. Only negative point - hotel situated quite a walk from centre of Prague, but on a dry and bright day, this was no problem. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TINA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#324 of 648 in Prague
756 reviews
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#242 of 648 in Prague
507 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#131 of 648 in Prague
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prague Centre Plaza
#376 of 648 in Prague
437 reviews
Praha 2
ABE Hotel
ABE Hotel
#321 of 648 in Prague
193 reviews
Praha 2
Legie
Legie
#421 of 648 in Prague
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Select Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Select Prague

Address: Sokolska 1801/34, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $43 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Select Prague 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Select Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Select Prague Hotel Prague
Residence Select Hotel Prague
Prague Residence Select Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing