We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, stylish old design, convenient location”
Review of Hotel Mucha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mucha
Ranked #202 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good value, stylish old design, convenient location”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are not willing to overpay for stay in Prague, and you do not necessarily want stay in the very heart of the city, and you would like to taste something different this hotel is for you.

Staff is friendly and communicative. Rooms are not very exquisite but nicely decorated with old stylish (renovated) furniture. You feel like time stood still 100 years ago...

The best about the hotel is its old-fashioned style. Location is not bad either. It is about 300m from a subway station, and 20 min slow walk from city center. The only minor drawback was small dining area with not very sophisticated breakfast.

By the way if you are not a great fan of old design - pick another hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wodzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    247
    92
    37
    28
See reviews for
86
238
46
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merstham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Nice hotel with good links to the metro station and a short walk from town. The breakfast was of very good quality. All the staff where friendly and extremley helpful, Martin and Charles who work at the front desk were extremley polite and friendly, the whole experience of Prague would not have been the same staying in another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful 4 days in Prague which was made even more wonderful by staying in the Hotel Mucha. On arrival check in was easy, although we couldn't have the room on arrival (10.30am) the receptionist took our luggage and stored it for us informing us that our room would be ready for 2.00pm.
Our room was comfortable, immaculately clean, nicely decorated and a good size with a very comfortable, large super-king! It was warm throughout our stay and no noise from outside.
Breakfast was good, there were cereals on offer, a choice of breads, cheeses, cold meats, fruit and fruit salads, teas coffee and fruit juices, yoghurts and jams and cakes not forgetting scrambled eggs, beans and hot sausages. Stuffed.com!!!!
The hotel also had a gym and sauna, we didn't use the gym but the sauna was very welcoming after a long day sightseeing.
The location of the hotel is not in the town centre but we found that a short walk (10 minutes) took you to Old Town Square. If you didn't fancy that there was a bus station, tram stop and Metro 20 seconds walk from the front of the hotel - you could get anywhere in PRague from these.
The Staff were extremely helpful, courteous and professional and nothing was too much bother.
And did I mention the price? Well, all of this from Laterooms.com for under £90 for two people on a Bed and Breakfast basis for three nights, I mean, how excellent is that!

Room Tip: Remember to book the sauna a half hour before you need it as it's not on all the time (probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Very nice hotel-10min from the city centre,friendly staff,good room and nice breakfast!!Undeground just 2 min.from hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Level Contributor
128 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Very nice hotel in the center. fits the description. Rooms a bit too small (in my opinion). but we only slept there, so just do not think about it. Breakfast is very good (although coffee - instant). Eat well - normal. We lived on the 5th floor, the noise from the street does not notice. in room tea, coffee, tea, sugar, cream-free. week subways and trams used 1 time. rest of the time - on foot. corresponds to the four-star hotel. we ordered it themselves (via internet) back in December. He came to us at all cheap. maybe if we paid more, would find fault. And so, 200 euros per week in total for two super - cheap. So choose the hotel - do not regret it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel from the 12th Feb to 15th Feb 2012 and a double Deluxe room was reserved. On arrival I the receptionist was very helpful and cheerful and we got to our room quickly. The room was quite large with wooden parquet floor throughout, a clean fairly spacious bathroom, desk and two wardrobes. One warning about the parquet floors is you can hear people clonking about above you if they are wearing heels (bit annoying late at night and early morning) I did notice that the rug in the room could do with being cleaned as it should of been a cream colour but was really dirty. We were expecting a double bed but got two single beds pushed together which would of been acceptable but for a wooden frame running round the mattress edge. Other than that, the room was OK. One day we did come back to find the curtains had been changed which was good as the old ones didn't block out the light very well.

The street that the Hotel Mucha is located on I think looks a bit grotty and is approximately a 10 minute walk from the Subway and a 20 minute walk to the main square and the older part of Prague. I don't think it's well located at all.

We had breakfast included in the rooms price, it was OK, I would class it as a Continental breakfast. The woman looking after the buffet looked a bit pissed off though that anyone was having any breakfast.

Hotel Mucha has a Mexican restaurant on street level. I ate in there twice, and although the food on the menu is not authentic by any stretch of the imagination it was well cooked and quite tasty. The serving staff were attentive and helpful which was good. Smoking is allowed in The Hotel Mucha's restaurant as it is in all Prague restaurant's which I find quite unpleasant. Some The Gate (five minutes walk away from the Hotel Mucha) has a restaurant in the basement which is non smoking and serves excellent, well cooked and reasonably priced food.

I wouldn't choose to stay at Hotel Mucha again.

Room Tip: NONE of them are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verybored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights.
The strange thing that occurred was I have booked Deluxe room, but first time they gave me key from usual one. When I told the receptionist that, he said the only give Deluxe room for 3 people to stay. After all I got the deluxe room, but this limits were not mentioned at the website.
Breakfast was the same for all the days.
TV has only 5 Czech channels and radio stations
Door is thin and I have geared everything happening in the hall
The rooms are clean but I felt strange because of old-fashioned furniture.

Anyway is is good value for money I have payed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
Hotel Seifert
Hotel Seifert
#229 of 649 in Prague
369 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#111 of 649 in Prague
1,118 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Taurus
Hotel Taurus
#252 of 649 in Prague
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#112 of 649 in Prague
741 reviews
Praha 8
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
Jurys Inn Hotel Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,897 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mucha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mucha

Property: Hotel Mucha
Address: Sokolovska 26, Prague 180 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#148 Family Hotel in Prague
#154 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#168 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mucha 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers an excellent location just walking distance from the Old Town Square, shopping area Na Poici and Wenceslas Square, the main Prague boulevard with many shops, restaurants and open air markets. The Neo-Renaissance building, offer comfortable accommodation in 39 rooms and suite comfortably equipped with antique furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mucha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mucha Hotel Prague
Hotel Mucha Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing