We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kafka in 5 stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #73 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kafka in 5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

A collection hotel in a good locatation. Even though the original building is from Kafka time all hotel things are done not so long ago. All necessary things for 5 stars / collection hotel are present. Basic rooms are not so big but good european standard.Wifi-worked straight forward. We stayed twice and in different rooms; In the first room the room-service-info/ price list was missing, but all the things we needed was available nearby because we liked to go around.
Also it seems that the card readers in lifts are not trustworthy ( see also others comments).

Due to our group type the hotel was a hit. For the next visit (as a private trip) in Paraha I would consider also the Ibis next door.

Room Tip: Rooms with type 00x are in the enterance level; easy to enter for family or disabled. They are olso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellsometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the MGallery Hôtel Century Old Town. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,269
    807
    131
    23
    16
See reviews for
345
1,077
159
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as part of a conference I was attending, so was pleasantly suprised by the standard of the hotel.The room was a generous size & very clean. I was most impressed by the staff, and I mean every member of staff, they always greeted me in a friendly manner. the front desk staff were very helpful & nothing was ever too much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent.
If I return to Prague this will be the first hotel I try to book into in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NIrelandrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor and to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for them.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you again!

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Overall a very nice hotel. Clean building and rooms and courteous staff. Breakfast is very sumptuous with plenty of variety. The hotel is close to most monuments and located very close to the Namesti Republiky metro and tram stations. Easy to reach from the airport too. There is also a large shopping centre called Palladium very close to the hotel.

One issue we faced was that the flow of water in the shower was relatively low and while taking a shower the water temperature kept fluctuating from very hot to very cold. It would also be nice if the hotel provided a few more supplies for making tea and coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank AN_SUM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your stay. Your comments are truly appreciated.

I will pass the message to our technical team for the shower, and to the Housekkepimg manager for the coffee and tea in the room.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the Hotel Century Old Town

Sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Every staff was very courteous. I arrived at almost mid night and the gentleman at front desk greeted me with sincerity. I asked where I could get some milk nearby (because of my diet) he immediately went to the kitchen to get me a pot! That's something beyond my expectation. Congratulation to this hotel because you have such a great staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lexmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these wonderful comments following your stay with us!

We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services were up to your expectations and I will certainly not fail to convey your remarks to Petr, the receptionnist on duty when you arrived. Thank you for him..

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our three nights were without complaint: great location, nice-sized room, windows faced the quiet, inner courtyard, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and varied, and the customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hjnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these wonderful comments following your stay with us!

We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services were up to your expectations and I will certainly not fail to convey your remarks to the entire team.

The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back,

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

5 min walk from the Powder tower and Prague old town square where u'll find many many shops and restaurants. Dont forget to visit the Chocolate factory and watch them prepare candy!! Tramway is across the street and a big shopping centre is also close to the hotel.
The hotel did excellent job in providing us with Folklore night reservation and transportation (good food, great atmosphere,excellent beer, dancing..), and a Segway tour( sooo much fun, a Must do!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor and to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us!

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you again!

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights, check in was quick and staff were very friendly. Our room was lovely. We asked for non smoking room. It had a high ceiling and bathroom was perfect, the shower was brilliant. We arranged an activity for the following evening with reception staff and they were very good with directions and provided a map etc..
The main issues I have with the hotel are, 1) Bed is very hard 2) 2 breakfast waitress staff were not Friendly at all, no smile or friendly service offered, but others were more friendly. I asked for a jug of milk twice and waited some time for this. Also the hot food counter was not organized properly, had to ask for large plate each morning, waited some time for plates to arrived.
Positive issues:
The breakfast is very good, plenty of choices and enjoyable but could noticed some staff just cleaning up tables and not looking after guests.
Location is very handy tram outside and metro down the road 5 min walk. Shopping centre next door is very near and plenty of shops and cafes. You can walk to most of city tourists attractions from hotel, reception staff very informative and knowledgeable. Wi Fi available in bedroom, I used the Computer and printer at reception without charge very handy indeed.
Reception staff were very helpful one night and provided myself with some pain relief for a headache.
I would recommend this hotel to any family/friends visiting Prague, as the issues I had were not huge but can happen in any hotel.
Enjoyable stay and will be back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe B, General Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read these very nice comments on Tripadvisor and to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us!

Regarding breakfast, I’m very sorry if some of our staff didn't have the proper attitude. Please accept my sincere apologize. I will talk with the breakfast manager to be sure that such situation will not happen in the future.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Christophe Bergeron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#155 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#83 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#35 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Na Porici 1075/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Prague
#61 Business Hotel in Prague
#66 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#79 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Old Town surrounded by galleries, boutiques, cafes, the hotel makes for the perfect place to stay. This magical 4 star hotel is a neo baroque 19th century building elegantly decorated creating a unique ambience, combined with wonderful service ensuring your stay will be full of memories. Indulge in the upmost comfort and historical roots of the hotel where the famous Czech writer Franz Kafka spent 12 years of his life, we will make it to be unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing