We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Hotel near Old town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #72 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Historic Hotel near Old town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for the historic old town and contains it's own bit of history in room 214, marked as the office where Franz Kafka worked in insurance, before becoming famous as a writer.The modern reception area is clean and attractive and beyond lies the gracious older world charm of the upper floors, with their high ceilings, wide lobby and large rooms, with all modern necessities. Almost next door is the Palladium modern shopping mall and just beyond are streets of historic buildings, designer shops and cultural interest. Breakfast is sumptuous and varied, taken in the formal or informal dining rooms or in the shaded outside area surrounded by foliage. The reception staff could have shown a little more interest and provided more information than what was available on the leaflets. Lots of places to eat nearby including historic Imperial Hotel restaurant in the same street and a couple of little gems in the next street, Petrska.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsmart161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalTomes, Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your impressions on your recent stay in our hotel Century Old Town in Prague, I am delighted that to read that you have enjoyed the comfort of our hotel. I will share your comments concerning the reception staff with the team and we will do our best to improve on those points.
I do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Century Old Town very soon.
Regards, Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    824
    134
    23
    16
See reviews for
360
1,106
161
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Hotel location is perfect because it is close to the Old Town and convenient for shopping and variety of restaurants are available around the hotel.
Check in and out process was very smooth. Room was clean and roomy. Usage of shower was a little bit tricky. Good wifi connection.
Breakfast was a little bit better than other hotels but it was good enough for me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalTomes, Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
I am gald that you have had an enjoyable stay here with us in Century Old town Hotel in Prague. We strive to always enhance the quality of service and guest satisfaction, I will pass on to the team your comments, and we hope to see you soon back in our hotel.
Regards Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weiden, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for New Years and loved it. It is located only 10min walk to the Old Town Square, 2 min to the subway and Parking on site (shared with a neighbor hotel). The hotel is very well kept; welcoming and comfortable. My wife and I noticed immediately the smell of the place; clean and spa-like. We thought this was great. Our room was very nice. Not large (full size bed vs a queen) but comfortable and well laid out. The bathroom was spacious and comfortable though the TV speaker in there could be a little loud.
We took our dog (Lab mix) with us and had no issues with the hotel.
Breakfast at the hotel was very good. They had what seemed to be a large staff ensuring that no need was unattended and the food quality seemed very high. It was also included in the price, a bonus.
I normally stay closer to the river, but the combination of features of the Century Old Town would make me consider it highly when visiting Prague again.

Room Tip: Room 214 was the office of Franz Kafka and can be booked if requested (and available). Otherwise, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalTomes, Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feed back on your recent stay with us at the Century Old Town hotel in Prague. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have managed to provide you with the level of service and comfort you were expecting.
I will be sharing your review with the team, as it is rewarding for us to read that you are satisfied. I do hope that we will have the time to welcome you back very soon.
Michal from Century Old Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just a 10 minute walk to the Old Town Square, much of it on pedestrian only streets, this hotel is in a great location. The hotel itself is from another era - high ceilings everywhere and a beautiful spiral staircase off the lobby. The rooms however have all modern conveniences including a small fridge, coffee/tea and a small safe and are nicely appointed. Be sure to request a non-smoking room if that's important to you as you can smoke almost anywhere in the hotel as you can still in all of Prague. For breakfast or a pastry snack and coffee check out Paul's in the foyer of the Palladium shopping centre just 1/2 a block from the hotel. We were in Prague for 4 days over New Year so paid at the high end of the scale for our room but it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossingnorthamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel was an excellant choice, the staff were very friendly and the room was great value for money , spacious and ultra clean, the loaction was 10 mins from the Old Town Square which was perfect. The hotel in advance arranged for our airport transfer to and from the hotel in a luxury car and a cost less than a taxi. A great experience. Adrian and Christine, Newport South Wales

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalTomes, Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Thank you for your feed back and remarks regarding your recent stay with us at Century Old Town in Prague. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the service and comfort of our hotel.
As fir the car services, it is always best to ask the reception to co-ordinate that for you in order to get the best possible means of transportation.
We hope that you will be back soon with us at Century Old Town Prague very soon.
Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for three nights between Christmas and New Year in this beautiful hotel. It is in a good location within walking distance to all the main attractions and shopping areas. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Lovely buffet breakfast with lots of choice. Very clean accommodation. Would recommend this hotel to friends and love to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

A lovely hotel within walking distance to Prague's old town. Rooms tend to be small but adequate. Staff was very friendly and the information within the hotel re:Franz Kafka was interesting. Breakfast buffet was very nice and a nice set up. I would stay here again because of the location..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichalTomes, Manager at Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Greetings from Century Old Town, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. I will be sharing your review with the team, as it is rewarding for us to read that you are satisfied.I do hope that we will have the time to welcome you back very soon.
Regards, Michal Tomes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#158 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#86 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Grand Majestic Plaza Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#34 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Na Porici 1075/7, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Prague
#61 Business Hotel in Prague
#65 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#79 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Old Town surrounded by galleries, boutiques, cafes, the hotel makes for the perfect place to stay. This magical 4 star hotel is a neo baroque 19th century building elegantly decorated creating a unique ambience, combined with wonderful service ensuring your stay will be full of memories. Indulge in the upmost comfort and historical roots of the hotel where the famous Czech writer Franz Kafka spent 12 years of his life, we will make it to be unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing