We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Tram!”
Review of Hotel Kavalir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kavalir
Ranked #285 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Take the Tram!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My 2nd visit to this hotel, the last time was in 2007. The hotel is located well outside of the city centre but there is a tram and bus stop just outside the hotel with a regular service into the city, with the #9 running into town and there are services to Malostranska and the shopping area at Andel. My room was clean and tidy, the bathroom was adequate, the shower nozzle wasn't connected to the wall just to the taps. The cleaners were a little noisy particularly early on a Sunday morning. Wifi is available for free in the reception area, it didn't appear to work in the room. Breakfast is adequate and served downstairs. Fairly good value and I'd probably pick it again next time. The hotel was fairly noisy on the Saturday night with guests slamming doors and stomping down the corridors.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably quieter, plenty of tram noise. You may also have to pay City Tax on top o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kavalir, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear client,

thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your second visit in our hotel.

If you decide to stay with us again, please contact our reservation dpt. to get a special offer.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    98
    64
    13
    7
See reviews for
45
96
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kozarisce, Bohinj, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Hotel is in good location near tram station. Staff are very polite, traying to help with useful info. The hotel need renovation and at cleaning they use lot of deodorant (too much). The breakfast was good, not much choice but enought for every taste.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kavalir, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Dusan,

thank you for your positive review.
Our staff is always happy to make your stay enjoyable.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be more than happy to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a main area of the city, 30 sec walk from the main Andrassy road.. good rooms, very good breakfast.. but the best thing is the service! The staff was extraordinary, and made every wish for us, answered every little question and helped with just about anything!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank מיכאל א
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHOTELSPRAGUE, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kavalir, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear client,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to give us your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the hotel's very nice location. It is our ambition to provide excellent service for our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I am enjoyed my stay in Kavalir Hotel very much. I advise this hotel because it is good location , in front of bus and tram station, clean rooms. But i think it need in reconstruction and new design rooms, restaurant and reception zone.

Room Tip: rooms not on the main fasad is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Inga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a very good budget hotel. rooms are of good size. the furniture and the bathroom needs renovation. Location wise its not city centre but you have the tram line in front of the hotel that takes you to the city centre. The breakfast was ok, not a lot of choice but enough to fill your stomach before you head out for sightseeing. Didn't have meals there so cant comment about the restaurant. There was an excellent restaurant 2 blocks in front of the hotel which i would highly recommend. Overall an excellent value for your money spent if traveling on budget.

Room Tip: room on higher floor and not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrav_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I spent the New Year days in this hotel with my girlfriend.
Not so big, but very pleasant hotel. Excellent personal, tasty breakfast, comfortable rooms, but not so modern, good location!
And, stuff, please, choose tv! :)
Enjoyed my stay in Kavalir Hotel very much.
I advise this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank hotiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Not a Ritz, but clean and a few minutes by tram to the center. Tram and bus stops are right in front of the hotel. The staff is very helpful and can give any kind of info about Prague. On the flip side, rooms are small. If you are on business trip and need some larger room, it is few other hotels in the area. Some cheaper, too. Bottom line, I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank czechpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#321 of 649 in Prague
739 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#96 of 649 in Prague
813 reviews
Hotel Mars
#494 of 649 in Prague
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Austria Suites
Austria Suites
#276 of 649 in Prague
129 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#354 of 649 in Prague
332 reviews
Praha 6
Hotel Marketa
Hotel Marketa
#357 of 649 in Prague
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kavalir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kavalir

Property: Hotel Kavalir
Address: Plzenska 1219/177, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kavalir 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Hotel Kavalir, located on the main street in Prague 5, 15 minutes from the international Václav Havel Airport Prague, with easy accessibility to business and historical center of Prague, disposes of total of 50 standard equipped rooms with free Wi-Fi Internet connection and underground parking. In the proximity of the hotel can be found renowned shopping centre Andel – Novy Smichov with a range of shopping facilities, boutiques, cinemas, restaurants and cafes, and also the famous parks Klamovka and Ladronka which provide ideal conditions for active leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kavalir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalir Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing