We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Close to City Center...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Ranked #220 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Not Close to City Center...”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

This Holiday Inn is actually nicer than the ones in the USA. It is in a boring, concrete building that has absolutely no character or charm and nowhere near the historic center of Praha.

The good news is that the rooms are a decent size and are very clean, as was the bathroom. The restaurant service was good and the food was better than I expected. There is a subway stop about 2 minutes from the front entrance of the hotel (in the same business center complex) and it's about a 10 minute ride to the center.

There is one computer with free internet service in the lobby. The front desk staff speak English and were pleasant and informative.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank i-gots-wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    304
    143
    43
    25
See reviews for
94
157
53
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

I recently spent a long weekend here with a large group of friends for a birthday celebration.

The hotel is a little way from the city centre, in the south of Prague but the subway trip only took ten minutes. The station is only a three minute walk away. Train services finish around midnight but there is still a night bus service that stops nearby if an inflated taxi ride is not your choosing.
The hotel is well appointed with clean comfortable rooms, satisfactory cupboard space and nice and quiet.
The hotel in my opinion is mainly designed and operated for business/ corporate customers though with over inflated bar prices, and breakfast at 19 euros did not seem appealing. Not much of an issue however if your company is picking up the tab but a consideration for the traveller with a budget.

Our party quickly found several bars nearby with prices at a local level though.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This was not one of my better stays at this brand. The hotel is convenient for the Congress conference center, and is only a few Metro stops from the city centre. The foyer, reception and dining areas were all fine, however the room itself was "tired" and in need of some tlc. It was surprising to find broadband internet access a chargeable option in the room (64kb/s was free) though the free wifi in the foyer was better.

The staff were generally very helpful, though we were very dissappointed with the manager's unhelpful "no can do" attitude to our party. Admittedly, through a secretary's oversight, we were not booked on the conferencerate which included breakfast, so we were paying the same amount but our breakfast was a chargeable extra. In any reasonable hotel, the manager would have made it his business to correct this oversight, but not at this one!

Facilities-wise, the Holiday Inn loses out badly to the nearby Corinthian (just the other side of the Congress) - so we walked over there for most of our evening meals. Next time, we will ignore Holiday Inn, and go straight to the Corinthian!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalboyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

This is quite a way out of the centre of Prague, and designed to pack people up for the night and keep them quiet until they return to their conference in the morning. The breakfast is good enough buffet affair, but it is very busy and you will enjoy it as little as the room itself which has a bed and other bits and pieces and no character. I would avoid this place, and stay somewhere else so you can have a chance to see a bit more of Prague.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelzlattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed at this Holiday Inn for 2 nights as part of a land tour. We found it roomy and clean. The front desk was friendly and very helpful. They had free Internet in the lobby, so that was great. The tour bus had to park underground when we boarded and unloaded. It was a little difficult to walk around outside very much here. The area was quite gray with lots of concrete around it; there was nothing quaint or interesting to look at.
We ate two dinners here which were so-so. The dining area was quite modern looking. We had to get our own water, rather strange. The first evening we started with a garden salad that had sliced chicken on it, followed by tough pork on plain spaghetti. The second evening we had fried white fish, potatoes and sliced carrots and parsnips, followed by a very good creme brule; we had to get our own coffee also which worked out quite well because that way we could have coffee with our dessert.
Breakfast was served in an area at the other end of the evening dining area. The buffet offered a good variety of cheeses, sliced meats, and crusty breads. They had hot oatmeal there which was a nice change. There were scrambled eggs, a variety of hot meats, cooked vegetables and some salads offered also. They had good coffee and juice. There was a separate area for pastries and bagels with butter and jam.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

the place is not that fancy, but they make you feel really comfortable and have all you may need

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights this summer while visiting local friend. It's set away from the center, though the hotel is connected to the center by the metro close by, which i prefer as its peaceful allowing one to visit local parks and sites away from the tourist path. Well kept hotel with nice decor. Staff were pleasant and rooms were of a good size and well maintained, i stayed in a exec double. Nice restaurant and breakfast was reasonable. Pros: Good position away from hustle and bustle though easy to get into center with local Metro Cons: None. I would recommend this hotel given the reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Corinthia Hotel Prague
#161 of 649 in Prague
3,275 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Coronet
Hotel Coronet
#282 of 649 in Prague
143 reviews
Praha 6
Holiday Inn Prague Airport
Holiday Inn Prague Airport
#253 of 649 in Prague
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#12 of 649 in Prague
441 reviews
Praha 5
NH Prague City
NH Prague City
#147 of 649 in Prague
1,877 reviews
Praha 2
Novotel Praha Wenceslas Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre
Address: Na Pankraci 1684/15, Prague 140 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 4
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in Prague
#179 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#190 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Prague, Czech Republic. HOLIDAY INN PRAGUE CONGRESS CENTRE. 4* Luxury hotel offers unique concept of interiors complemented by works from the world's top designers. As a proof of its singularity the hotel was declared THE BEST HOTEL PROJECT OF THE YEAR in the prestigious Best of Realty 2001 development competition.The hotel is situated just 5 minutes from the city centre, only few steps from the oldest Prague historical monument - Vysehrad castle and large green park with panoramic view of Prague. Hotel is easily accessible for tourist clientele giving them a perfect base for seeing the historical sights. The underground station is only 150 m from the hotel. Famous Wenceslas Square is just two stops by underground and from there tourists can have a delightful walk down to the Old Town and follow the Royal route across Charles Bridge up to Prague Castle. The hotel offers its guests 251 elegantly and modern furnished rooms including 50 executive rooms, 8 suites as well as 2 rooms for disabled guests. All rooms are equipped with free wireless Wi-Fi connection. The hotel restaurant, the Cafe Restaurant Esprit, achieved the best ranking in TOP 50 Hotels restaurant and was esteemed the BEST HOTEL RESTAURANT OF 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Prague Congress Centre Hotel Prague
Prague Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing