We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Hotel Elysee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Elysee
Ranked #161 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not a four star hotel. Room was clean with wood floor and comfortable bed. Hard to get to since it is set back through a long corridor. You need to ring the desk to get in and take an elevator to the desk. Charge 10 euros for wifi but available at the reception area. It is centrally located and close to important sites. Subway and bus available close by. Would stay there again but overpriced.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your commentary. For your information Wifi Internet is paid in rooms only, in lobby it is free. We apologize for the inconvenience you had walking to your room, but please note that the deeper you are in the building, the more you are isolated from the outside noise. Thank you for your understanding and we hope that we will have one day chance to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 734 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have just come back from a 4 day stay at the Elysee Hotel. I would say that this would not
be a four star hotel by UK standards. The staff were not particularly friendly nor was our room particularly clean. There was no air conditioning and as the temperatures were 37 degrees plus we found this quite hard going and it was hard to sleep at night even with all the windows open.
I have read some replies to this complaint posted by the hotel who say if you pay for a better room then you get air conditioning but i booked this at a travel agents and reading about the hotel on their screen it simply said that the hotel was air conditioned. The location is great although the entrance to the hotel is through an arcade of restaurants and other premises . The breakfast was adequate although nothing to shout home about, being English we didn't fancy the cooked meats and cheeses for breakfast . They could do with a new toaster as the lengthy wait for it to even lightly toast your bread left you losing the will to live. My son had a room with views of a demolished building outside and our room overlooked other rooms in the hotel, not really a problem as we didn't go to gaze out of our windows but could be better. This hotel is ok but i feel we paid a lot for our stay and would look to book something direct in future.

Room Tip: If you're going in the summer pay more for a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret that you have not pointed out the stated issued during your stay, because we can assure you that we would do everything in our power to minimize your inconvenience. The mentioned temperature of 37 degrees, which you have experienced is not very typical for Czech Republic and only lasted few days. There are free air fans available for guest at the reception which you could borrow, or there was always a possibility to rent on of the rooms with air conditioning.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The room were relatively nice with comfortable bathroom. The location was excellent and the breakfast very good. The personal at the reception was polite and gave us helpful information.
On the other hand, the view from the room was depressing, looking to a demolished building. The worst problem was that there was no air conditioner. Fortunately, we didn't have worm days, otherwise we would have left the hotel since it would have been impossible to stay. The entrance of the hotel is inside a gallery.
Wi-fi was free in the lobby.
To me, it doesn't seem 4 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go in summer time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightblue_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your opinion which we highly value. Please accept our apology for the window view. On each room which has view of the opposite building is a short note with explanation and apology. The opposite building does not belong to our hotel and it is not in our power to do anything about it. On other hand it is worth mentioning that because nothing is going on in the opposite building, our hotel offers absolute tranquility for good sleep. The mentioned air-condition is available in our apartments and luxury apartments for a higher rate. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in hotel Elysee.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very European feel, rooms well decorated but no air-conditioning in 36 degree heat. Good range of food in breakfast buffet. Staff helpful. Wi-fi only available in lobby. Close to action and night-life (but no noise) and close to old city for exploring. Walked over to the castle - quite a climb but worth it. Get the staff to book a taxi for you - much better rates!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelafro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you like your stay at hotel Elysee. For your information Wifi Internet is available in whole hotel, in hotel lobby it is free and in rooms for surcharge.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a good stay over there. Good location and very close to main train station. Good size room, good staff, not perfect but good breakfast.
It looked like 3star hotel not 4star to us.Totally everything were good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sahba N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your positive feedback, and we hope that we will have soon chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed 2 nights early July, paid about 100€ per night.
First of all they use the good old free WiFi trick which completely upsetted me:
they claim free wifi on their listings and when you get your room, the free bit is only .. in the lobby!
They charged me 9€ extra per night which is a complete rip off of course.
Room was spartiate, aircon worked albeit slowly.
Hotel is hidden deep inside a cheap shopping arcade.
Staff was ok.
If you come back past midnight, you have to buzz and wait 10 minutes for a security guard to come and open the gate.

Will I use it again? Most probably not :(

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your review. First of all we do not intentionally provide customers with incorrect information. On our website is clearly stated that Wifi is free only in hotel lobby, and paid in rooms. We apologize for the fact that you had to wait few minutes for a security guard to come; he was attending clients which arrived before you.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The best thing about this property is the location. In the heart of the city, bang on Wenceslas Square, close to a lot of eateries and the high street shopping in Prague.Not a very long walk from Old Town Square one of the quainter areas in Prague.
Very friendly staff, well appointed rooms, but no air-conditioning is a big negative in summer. The staff were very helpful in providing me with a table fan but the room got stuffy even at night.
Breakfast was wholesome and nice, better than most across the continent with an array of ham, cheese, pate, cereals, breads, juices etc.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dostaljr, Manager at Hotel Elysee, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for your commentary. We are glad that you were satisfied with your stay at Hotel Elysee. We are sorry, but standard rooms are not equipped with air condition. Please next time if you wish to have room with air condition, inform our receptionists who will be more than happy to help you.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#97 of 648 in Prague
804 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ramada Prague City Centre
Ramada Prague City Centre
#185 of 648 in Prague
923 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
EA Hotel Rokoko
EA Hotel Rokoko
#115 of 648 in Prague
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Jalta Boutique Hotel
Jalta Boutique Hotel
#100 of 648 in Prague
1,308 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Adria Hotel Prague
Adria Hotel Prague
#195 of 648 in Prague
688 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Falkensteiner Hotel Maria Prag
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee

Address: Vaclavske namesti 819/43 | Wenceslas Square 43, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#157 Family Hotel in Prague
#222 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $58 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elysee 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elysee Hotel is situated in the heart of Prague – directly on Wenceslas Square. The hotel disposes of 78 elegantly and stylishly furnished rooms including 15 luxurious apartments with parquet flooring and free Wi-Fi Internet connection. Non smoking floor and room for disabled guests are available. The hotel features two lounges with the total capacity of 40 persons and spacious breakfast room which can be used for meetings, presentations, events or conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elysee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing