We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel Let Down By Poor Dinner Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
andel’s by Vienna House Prague
Ranked #117 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel Let Down By Poor Dinner Service”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Visited this hotel for one night with 19 business colleagues. Pretty good location, about 15 minutes walk from the centre of the main town across the river. Rooms very spacious, clean and modern with free Wi-Fi access. Nice bar area with outside seating so you can watch the world go buy over a pint (or two!).... excellent waitress service from Petra who was very nice and friendly throughout our short stay. Only complaint was our evening dinner...because we were a large group we booked about a week in advance, however it still took almost 2 hours to get our main meals (really, how long can I take to cook steak and chips!) and when they did finally arrive they were, on the whole, pretty mediocre. I would definitely recommend this hotel but I'd also recommend walking into town for your evening meal as they're are much better options in Prague.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorksopBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek P, Resident Manager at andel’s by Vienna House Prague, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Dear WorksopBlue,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your recent comments posted on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to ready you liked our location, spacious and clean rooms as well as our bar area.

We are really sad to hear about your negative experience with our dinner service and would like to apologize for any inconvenience. Your constructive feedback will be shared with our entire team in order to find improvements for the future.

We would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. I hope we will welcome you at our hotel soon again in order to assure you about the quality of the andel‘s Hotel Prague.

With best regards,

Marek Palenik
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    689
    146
    36
    13
See reviews for
209
692
107
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

It's been a long time since I've had to stay in a place with a linoleum floor-it even had several cigarette burns/streaks. This hotel is not where you want to be on a leisure trip. Am pretty mad at Monograms travel because we requested and paid for Hilton and we got this place instead, after the trip was fully paid and there was nothing we could do about it. The hotel is situated in an odd corner of town where there's been a lot of uninspired urban renewal. There were conferences going on which took up everyone's attention. The front desk personnel are poorly trained and often showed their bad moods. We had a problem with the shower, and could have been badly scalded. When we asked for another room the next morning, the desk said they'd send a maintenance man instead. We got back from our tour and asked whether it was fixed. The young man at the front desk told us that the maintenance man had been to the room and there was nothing wrong. Of course when we got upstairs we had to call again. Then the guy came and fixed it. So it was our second night there before we could take showers. The same with a couple of other things. Our tour guide had to go to the desk and speak to them in Czech to get a rubber mat for the shower floor, after we'd asked twice. The desk had even told us that it had been brought to the room! So we went upstairs and had to come back down. It's too bad that the design of the room was really good but the furniture although new is getting crummy already. My friend tripped on the exposed metal leg of her bed. (Geez, it's better at the Y.)

Room Tip: We had a view of the office building next door, where they'd planted some trees in an open plaza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek P, Resident Manager at andel’s by Vienna House Prague, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Dear Marie S,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at our hotel and for your constructive comments. It has been our pleasure to have you in our hotel.

We appreciate all comments which can help us to improve quality of our service. Your comments will be passed to the whole team of andel‘s Hotel Prague.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to our property in the future again.

With best regards,

Marek Palenik
Resident Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyumen
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We spend two weeks with my husband in this hotel. Nice place near metro station and supermarket. It's placed not in city center but you can reach it in 10 minutes by metro, or 30 minutes by walking. In compare with hotels in center this place are more quite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dogma4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek P, Resident Manager at andel’s by Vienna House Prague, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest, Dear Dogma4ka,

Let me to thank you for staying at andel‘s Hotel Prague, your warm review of our hotel and rating us with 5 stars.

It was very nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel soon again.

With best regards,

Marek Palenik
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

An excellent value design hotel situated on the western side of the river in the up-and-coming Smichov district. Well-located for public transport it's no more than a 10 minute ride [or a 30 minute walk] into the historic centre.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants in the vicinity and a very handy Tesco supermarket in the new shopping centre over the road. There are also a number of 24 hour convenience stores dotted around the vicinity for that early morning drink or snack after a long night out on the town.

The hotel itself is clean and modern and the rooms are bright & airy with decent air-conditioning [it was 30C+ in Prague when I was there]. Complimentary bathrobes, slippers and refreshments are provided and I was upgraded to the Club Floor where I was given the choice of a smoking or non-smoking room. The bathroom was of a high standard with both a bath and glass-enclosed stall shower. Great buffet-style breakfast with plenty of hot and cold dishes on offer.

I'm fortunate enough to have been to Prague many times and, overall, this is certainly the best value hotel I've stayed in. Just be aware though that if you're visiting the city for the first or only time you may prefer to stay closer to the action in the Old Town. However, if you're after a fine hotel at a great price in a decent Czech neighbourhood then definitely consider staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek P, Resident Manager at andel’s by Vienna House Prague, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest, Dear logrundy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at andel’s Hotel Prague.

We are very happy you were satisfied with our space and comfort rooms, modern bathroom as well as our breakfast with wide choice of dishes.

We hope to see you again in your future travels to the Golden city of Prague.

With best regards,

Marek Palenik
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I cannot think of a single bad thing to say about this hotel. Staff is amazing and very friendly - they will help you anyway they can! Breakfast is full of choices for every kind of traveller. Clean and big rooms with huge windows (you might get a little sun in the early morning depending on the room, but that wasn't a big problem for me; it was a nice way to wake up).

One of the best things about it is the location: not so near to Prague 1, where every tourist in the world seem to be, but not so far - you can actually walk there if you are in for the challenge (it takes 20-30 minutes if I remember it correctly). Plus, it has a lot of nice places around it if you want to avoid the big crowds. I recommend the Sacré Coeur Park with the miniature Eiffel Tower - it will give you a great view of the city!

Room Tip: If you are not an early person but a light sleeper and wish to stay in bed until 10 or 11, you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeandroKlero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek P, Resident Manager at andel’s by Vienna House Prague, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest, Dear LeandroKlero,

Thank you for staying and sharing your experience at andel’s Hotel Prague.

We are glad our staff’s efficiency met your needs and expectations. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the many interesting places which are in our area.

Thank you once again for commending our team and we look forward to your return to our hotel soon again!

With best regards,

Marek Palenik
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

stayed here 2 nights and absolutely no complaints, everything worked just fine.

+ good location, next to metro and mall
+ nice restaurants in the neighborhood
+ rooms nice and new, not too small, good bathroom
+ better than average breakfast
+ clean
+ staff

- fitness cost extra

All in all very good hotel in it's category. No luxus, but exactly as normal 3-4 star should be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek P, Resident Manager at andel’s by Vienna House Prague, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Dear mokoma,

Thank you very much for such nice comments shared with the TripAdvisor community.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. Your comments will certainly be passed to entire hotel team.

We hope to have a chance to welcoming you at our hotel soon again.

With best regards,

Marek Palenik
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd stop of my Europe trip with my family in May. This hotel is recommened by my travel agent.

Location:
The location is great, just a 1 minute walk from the metro station. Besides, there is a large shopping mall with a super size supermarket "Tesco" there. If you walk around the metro station, there are also some restaurants, boutiques and banks (for exchange money), it is very convenient.

Reception:
Receptionists service is fine, they can speak fluent English, better than some of the European countries.

Room:
The room is great and out of our expectation. We book a triple room and it upgrade us to a suite. It has a separate dinning room with a round table, sofa and 40" television. Next to it is a big size bedroom, it also have a 40" television. Besides, it also have a big size kitchen with stove and dish washer! If it can provide some kitchen implements like saucepan, it will be perfect!

Breakfast:
Choices of food is fine. It is the only one hotel I can find rice and miso soup (for the Japanese). The only one point need to improve is some areas of the restaurant have reserved for the people which have conference there but have no indication, this made the guests feel embarrass when sitting at the wrong place.

Conclusion:
This is a great choice to stay, I will come again if I go to Prague next time. I will recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YunRabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marek P, Resident Manager at andel’s by Vienna House Prague, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Dear YunRabbits,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our andel’s Hotel Prague for your stay and for your very kind comments as well as for rating us with 5 stars.

We were delighted to read that our facilities met your expectations and you enjoyed our spacious rooms, breakfast as well as our location. We are looking forward to sharing your feedback with all of my colleagues.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

With best regards,

Marek Palenik
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Mosaic House
Mosaic House
#62 of 670 in Prague
1,879 reviews
Praha 5
Red & Blue
Red & Blue
#71 of 670 in Prague
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#185 of 670 in Prague
1,513 reviews
Praha 5
Akcent
Akcent
#143 of 670 in Prague
478 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#119 of 670 in Prague
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andel’s by Vienna House Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andel’s by Vienna House Prague

Property: andel’s by Vienna House Prague
Address: Stroupezhnickeho 3181/21, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Andel'S Hotel Prague)
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Prague
#85 Family Hotel in Prague
#93 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#101 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — andel’s by Vienna House Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PASSIONATE ABOUT DESIGN Located in the popular 'Andel' district, the andel's by Vienna House Prague stands for design, modern architecture and a warm welcome. Ideally suited for business travellers and holiday makers alike, both the hotel itself and the apartment complex are surrounded by numerous shops and restaurants, and the Old Town is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your andel’s by Vienna House Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andel`s Hotel And Suites Prague
Prague Andels Hotel
Andels Hotel Prague
Andels Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing