We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor equipment, poor breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Residence Royal Standard
Ranked #353 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I spent one weekend in this hotel. One and only advantage was location. Hotel is actually good situated near of the centre.
Our room was really old fashioned, with old beds, with old sofa, old wardrobe, with old carpet. When I said old I mean like from the times of Czekoslovakia. In general, furnishings in rooms is very fulvous.
Other bad thing in our room was plug connectors. We had only two in our rooms. In 21th century is so litttle, isn´t it? And also in the bathroom there was only one plug connector for shaver. I understand that is for safety, but what i suppose to do if I want iron my hair for example? Because I need a mirror.
Another bad thing in bathroom is shower! After having shower bathroom was tottaly wet because around the shower was only bail and there was no fossa!!
Breakfast buffet offer very little choice of meals. Scrambled eggs was dry and tasteless, jam was terrible, and so on.
Price of this hotel is not so low that thay cannot offer better rooms equipment or breakfast.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank petra_bodos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 120 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

No hot water in room at the morning.
No receptionist from 11PM to 8AM
No ....

Arghhh..... Just two words - never again! :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_from_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This hotel had everything that was advertised and more. It was only a 15 minute walk into the centre of Prague and the views from the walk along the river were spectacular. Because it was a little further out we discovered some restaurants and cafes that were cheaper than the ones on the main squares. We stayed in one of the double/twin rooms. The room was small but had everything: shower, two wardrobes, a sofa, desk, wifi, very affordable mini bar and two very comfortable twin beds pushed together. The breakfast wasn't luxurious but was more than adequate and the staff were always polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Cheap tesco just round the corner-great for lunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LT196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Thought we had booked an apartment with a kitchen so were disappointed that we did not have access to cooking facilities. It seems that because we had 2 rooms this was considered an apartment. However we found the staff helpful and pleasant and the breakfast substantial. The location is good and it is possible to walk to both the new town and the old town. (about 30 minutes).
We suggest a walk to the fortress to the left of the hotel as an interesting and scenic place without too many tourists.
There are many Czech eating places in the vicinity without going into the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank presby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

I was in a party of 12 thirty something males on a weekend trip to Prague. The Hotel & Residence Standard was cheap, the staff were cheery, and it surpassed all our expectations. We rented two of the 5 bed apartments, and a room. The apartments were great ... very spacious indeed. The tiger skin couch in one of them was questionable though!!
The location is ideal. On the river side about one and a half miles from the old town square, it is close enough to the action, and far enough away to have a quiet relaxing time too.

Would definitely recommend any one on a budget to give this place a try.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank itchikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

My wife and I spent five nights at this hotel. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms on the fifth floor. It was immaculately clean and well kept. The room was small, but we were in Prague to experience the city, not to spend a lot of time in a hotel room! The staff was courteous and helpful both before we arrived (e-mailed very clear instructions on how to get to the hotel via public transport and offered a pick-up service) and while there. We were given advice on public transport and they arranged our transportation to the airport. The breakfast was very good - lots of variety and tasty. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from Vysehrad, an often overlooked but terrific area that's a great respite from the busier tourist sights. St. Peter and St. Paul Church is an art nouveau lover's dream, and it's a ten minute walk away! (You do have to climb a hill.) The hotel IS away from "the center," but tram 17 (which stops less than a block from the front door) will have you at the center in not much more than five minutes. We're experienced travelers and found this hotel to be a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bassbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

I definitely would not recommend this hotel. My family and I took a two-week trip through the Prague, Athens, and Istanbul. Despite the price, the staff here was rude beyond anything I have ever experienced. Staying here is not worth the price especially because there are other places that are equivalently priced without the rude staff. I was so upset by my stay here that I am willing to be contacted by other travelers to discourage them from staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank psp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
U Semika
U Semika
#344 of 648 in Prague
132 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#219 of 648 in Prague
606 reviews
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#275 of 648 in Prague
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#262 of 648 in Prague
225 reviews
Praha 3
City Crown Hotel
City Crown Hotel
#401 of 648 in Prague
76 reviews
Praha 2
ABE Hotel
ABE Hotel
#314 of 648 in Prague
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence Royal Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence Royal Standard

Address: Rashinovo nabrezhi 406/38, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $56 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence Royal Standard 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel & Residence STANDARD offers very cozy accommodation in luxury apartments (100 m2) and 11 tastefully and practically furnished hotel rooms. The Apartments Residence has 7 Luxury Apartment units, fully equipped air-conditioned flats, newly reconstructed. All apartments have living room, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, entering hall and most of apartments have two bedrooms. Some of the apartments have a balcony with stunning view on the Vltava River and Prague Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel & Residence Royal Standard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Standard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing