We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Alchymist worked its Magic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Ranked #28 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a four night break. This hotel is quite fabulous. From the beginning we felt that we were important to the staff and our reception was wonderful. The room, a Junior Suite -we were upgraded- was truly splendid. The bed was so comfortable, essential with all the walking we did and the bathroom was great. The freebie stuff included things like bath salts, again great after all the walking. There was a little kitchenette with a minibar and everything you could want.
On the first night we ate in the restaurant and the food was the best we had in Prague and it was by no means the most expensive. My wife was mightily impressed with the lamb done with couscous and I had a great chicken tagene. The hotel is on the quiet side of the river but close enough to the Charles bridge to make crossing it no chore. The advantage is that you can escape from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas and still find really good eateries nearby at less than the tourist prices.
The staff at the hotel are delightful and they are dedicated to working as a team.
It is a worthy winner of the best luxury hotel award. We will be back and you should go. Prague is beautiful and the Alchymist Residence Nosticova is the perfect place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank stadders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie040872, manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2010

Our most sincere thanks for the review, with warm regards, Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 883 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2010

A very nice place where to stay for long .....
Quality of the Staff from the first mail to the end.....-)))
Udge Suite fitted with a great piano
Desesperate to leave....

Thanks to all of you

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pationata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie040872, manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Thank you very much, we hope to welcome you soon again. Nice regards, Lucie Nizka, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We spent the Easter weekend at the Alchymist Nosticova (there are two Alchymist hotels in Prague) for our wedding anniversary. This is not a big, modern hotel chain ~ this is a small gem of a boutique hotel, very old-fashioned, very charming. I'm talking gold tassels on the curtains, sparkling chandeliers everywhere - even tiny ones in the bathroom! - oil paintings and monogrammed sheets and slippers. Unusual decorations; carved wooden carousel horses and knight's suit of armour. Perfect for a romantic retreat. The room was immaculately clean and had all the comforts of slippers, robes, fully stocked minibar, dvd player, etc. We had dinner one night in the Crystal room section of the restaurant - this is a room almost completely covered in many small mirrors, with plush animal-print chairs. By daylight, this might be rather gaudy, but at night by the room is lit by the chandeliers and it's like being inside a shimmering jewel-box. The food was excellent and the waiters very good. All the staff were great, but the receptionist was amazing, the perfect combination of friendliness and professionalism. Every request was performed with a smile and she was a total pleasure to deal with. The location of the hotel is great; in a quiet street away from the noisy, crowded areas but within easy walking distance of all the sights. We greatly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank OtterAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie040872, manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Thank you very much for the review, it make us very happy to hear such nice words regarding your impression from the stay. Yours sincerely, Lucie, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I just can't say enough good things about the Residence Nosticova. You know, nice people really do make a diffference, and every person we encountered here was as nice and friendly as can be. We were traveling with our little boy and my parents so we booked two rooms. My parents were on the 3rd floor in Blancha and we were in the special Royal apartment on the 4th floor.
The location of the property is quiet and there is a nice little park with the David Cerney installation Babies just steps from the front door. There was never any street noise in the rooms and the surrounding area was safe and clean.
Peter provided transportation in his van from the train station and to the airport. He was prompt and friendly, willing to answer all of our questions. He was a safe driver.
The ladies who worked at the front desk were all as nice as could be. I wanted to get a massage and they promptly scheduled it and called me as soon as the therapist had arrived-all within an hour.
Our room on the 4th was quite spacious with views of Prague Castle and Petrin Hill. Very beautiful by day and night. My son loved giving piano recitals in the living room and it was nice to have to WC's. The larger bathroom has a large soaking tub with a handheld shower. I do have to say that I thought the bed in this room wasn't very comfortable. It was very creaky and every time you rolled over it creaked. I actually slept a night on the pull out in the living room and it was much better. My parents room on the 3rd floor had a very comfortable bed and did not creak, and their bathroom had a usual bath/shower combination. Their apartment didn't have the space ours had, or the two WC's, or the beautiful views, but theirs would certainly accomodate a family as a child could have slept on the pull up coach.
Breakfast was included in our rate and it was delicious. A very sweet blond girl worked most of the mornings we were there and she was lovely. We had delicious coffee, a meat and cheese plate, bread basket, cereal, fruit, yogurt, and then our choice of one hot item. I had the scrambled eggs with ham and cheese every morning and they were incredible.
We walked absolutely everywhere from the property. Cafe de Paris is just around the corner and we had a wonderful dinner there two nights in a row. I'd also recommend the Cafe Savoy. We found it on our last day; if I'd found it sooner we'd have eaten there twice too!
Again, I can't stress enough how very nice all the people who work at Nosticova are. I'd gladly take the creaky bed again and am willing to give this property perfect marks because it really was magical.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Chellebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie040872, manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2010

Our most sincere thanks for the review.
Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I never book anywhere these days without referring to Trip Advisor. Having booked the flights I searched Prague hotels and booked this one direct. It can be difficult to find if you use a Google map, as we did, so note that this particular map is incorrect. The hotel is small yet perfectly formed and in a great location for all the sights of Prague. We were upgraded to a suite which had a huge bed in a large sumptuously decorated room with a separate dressing area and modern bathroom. The staff and service provided are all great and your every wish is their command. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant (perhaps we should have done) but can recommend a Spanish tapas restaurant and bar nearby called 'El Centro' for huge portions of tapas and very friendly service. When staying in Prague I would definately recommend this side of the river. It's quieter with a more 'up market' and slightly bohemian feel. That said, its only a short hop over the Charles Bridge to all the other sights. My other recommendation would be to check out the BBC weather report before you leave and remember that central Europe can be more than just a bit chilly to us Brits used to a more temperate zone so get the thermals in the suitcase and wrap up well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ladymaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie040872, manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

Thank you very much!
Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

My fiancee and I stayed at the Residence Nosticova 3 nights over Valentine. We had booked a suite and it was our first trip to Prague. The suite was absolutely gorgeous, a bit like an attic apartment and had a large bathtub/spa bath in the large bathroom and even a Piano in the living room. The hotel itself is very boutique-style, small and personal and has the same old-fashioned charm that so enchants Prague itself. Breakfast every morning was simple but high quality and definitely enough to get full and the breakfast room was cosy. The staff was wonderful and helpful and especially the manager Lucie and receptionist Sladjana made us feel at home! Lucie even wrote us several weeks after we returned to our home country, to tell us that the roses I had ordered for my fiancee had lasted a full two weeks after we left and that in Czech it was a sign of long lasting love. Very romantic and thoughtful of her. Prague by the way is amazing in itself and I we can highly recommend Café Savoy not from from the hotel for a good meal or an excellent Valrhona chocolate milk. One late night we felt hungry went to get takeaway from the thai-place Noi Noi just around the corner. We got a large portion and it tasted great. We will most certainly come back to the Nosticova next time we visit Prague!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gromek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie040872, manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

Thank you very much for your review!
Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Reviews can be confusing. Reading the reviews on Trip Advisor it was a toss up whether we chose the Alychymist Residence or the Alychmist Grand as they both get very good ratings, but having spotted the Residence first on my search, and having emailed the hotel for a good price and got a swift reply from Dasa (who was a very helpful young lady during our stay), we decided to book at the Residence.

We were picked up at the airport in the hotel car and dropped at the front door. We had a junior suite Marie Therase which was a nice large room overlooking the road(see pictures at http://www.hotelsprague.cz/).

Generally it was quite and we slept well. The only problem is that by the door is a window which overlooks a walkway to another room, which has a light illuminating 24/7.

Even with the curtain drawn it lit up our room a bit. Maybe they could put the light on a PIR and save electricity ?

One past review had said that there was a kettle in the room but no tea & coffee. We could find no evidence of any kettle and mid afternoon fancied a cup of coffee. We therefore had to ask for one at the reception on our way back to the room. The lady said she would bring us one and when it arrived said that there was no charge.

One night we did order two coffees and two Amaretto and these were billed.

So a bit unclear if coffee and tea is complimentary in room or not.

Still not enough to influence our good rating of the hotel.

The breakfast was nice. A choice of 4 cereals, fresh juice,fruit, ham, cheese,salami and bread and usually Pain Au Chololate, Croissants and occasionally Pain Au Rasin.

There was also a choice of free bacon and eggs, French toast with syrup, scrambled eggs with cheese & ham and one other that I cannot remember, together with some items that you could pay for.

I tried the eggs & bacon and the scrambled egg (twice) which were fine. My girlfriend had the French toast and found it covered in Brown sugar and not much egg so did not eat it as way too sweet.

But overall it was very nice.

The young receptionist and bar staff were very friendly, we also met Dasa but not the manager, although a tall blonde lady kept saying hello in reception but never introduced herself.

As a guest you can use the spa facilites and pool at the sister hotel. This we did on the last day but found the small spa pool a bit cold. Other than that there was a steam room, sauna and a few loungers and a nice double lounger. It was ok but not the best spa we have been to.

It is a further 5 minutes away in the direction of the castle.

However we found the Residence to be in the perfect location in a nice part of town with a lot of embassies and nice restaurants and coffee shops. only a couple of minutes to either Charles bridge or the Petrin Funicular railway.

Out And About

We stayed for 3 nights (4days) in Prague arriving on the Wednesday and leaving Saturday afternoon.

Generally Prague was not busy so a lot of the restauratns and bars were pretty empty which did put us off a few.

We did however come across very friendly service in all the places we ate.

First night we ate in a place called Restaurant MLYNÁŘE which is in the next street to the right of the Grand Spa hotel. While the meal did not set the world alight the service was very good and it was friendly. We had a set menu of mixed cold platter,pork & steak flambe (at the table) in plum sauce followed by what turns out to be a popular prague dish icecream & hot rasperries. Also included was a caraff of wine and a half bottle of the local sec sparkling wine. Total came to around £30 for two.

We stopped for coffee one night just round the corner from our hotel in a tiny cafe called the Little Whale (U Male velryby). It was fairly busy with a nice feel to it and the food looked nice. A young couple with a basic small kitchen but looked good.

Lastly we were after a late lunch one afternoon and wandered into an Italian restaurant to share a pizza and some mulled wine. The waiter was very nice and when the pizza came they had divided it onto two seperate plates as we were sharing.Nice touch. I fancied a pudding so tried the cheescake which was lovely and light. Anyway we got the bill and I notice Tripadvisor stamped on the card. Turns out it was rated No 3 restaurant in Prague. We liked it so much we went back again on our final night and luckily the waiter recognised us because it was bookings only as they were jammed full. We had a lovely meal again (I will write a seperate reveview)

Prague did suprise me. I am not normally into architecture churches etc but it was a nice place to walk around and from our standpoint not too expensive to eat and drink.

The demise of the £ vs a lot of currencies has led to the Hen & Stag party crown heading to other cities.

The Alcyymist is an expensive hotel by Prague standards but we feel that the level of personal service, location and comfort makes it a very good choice if you are willing to stretch your budget.

Our one regret was not being able to eat in the restaurant as it was a bit on the expensive side, but the restaurant does look very nice and the menu looks nice.

But overall a vey nice stay - Well done to all the staff

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardHawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 648 in Prague
1,166 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Nosticova Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Nosticova Palace

Address: Nosticova 463/1, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Alchymist Residence Nosticova)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#26 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Family Hotel in Prague
#50 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $163 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Nosticova Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alchymist Nosticova Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Residence Nosticova Prague
Alchymist Residence Nosticova Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing