We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, beautiful interior but not all perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Ranked #26 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for our honeymoon. We booked a suite and ended up staying in the Rudolph II. Firstly, credit to the hotel staff who were very friendly and helpful. We checked in almost 2 hours early and they were very accommodating in that regard. Also, as a welcome, we were treated to not only a welcome drink, but a bottle of champagne! Thank you!

The hotel is located in a small street in the Mala Strana district. There is an embassy just across the road and part of the Kampa park. It is just around the corner from the main street and Mandarin Oriental hotel. Our cab driver found it difficult to find, as he just assumed it was the bigger sister Alchymist hotel (about 5 minutes away).

The outside of the hotel is a simple building, with no ornate decorations, however, upon entering, there is an old world charm. Decorations are beautiful with mirrored mosaic walls and chandeliers. This decoration was reflected in our room, which was very spacious.

Our room had a large flat screen television (with limited English channels) and the essentials of a safe, mini bar etc. The marble bathroom was nice, however the shower head sprayed water in multiple directions, making it almost impossible to have a shower without partially flooding the bathroom floor! Unfortunately, the towels and sheets whilst once being good quality - seemed tired and worn. Our towels had holes in them and so did our bedsheets. This was entirely not expected for a hotel of this calibre. Also, the room does not insulate sound so well, therefore we could hear very clearly what was happening on the street below, as well as at the front desk.

Breakfast was included and the selection was ok. The breakfast was handled by a single waitress who tried her hardest to deliver coffee to all the tables, top up the buffet AND clean and set the tables. Unfortunately, this proved to be quite challenging when the busy breakfast time came around. Beware - cappuccinos are NOT included in your breakfast inclusions (although they are not expensive at 2.20Euros each).

Overall, we were happy with the location of this hotel - and whilst we were given free access to all the facilities of the sister hotel - we never got the opportunity to use it. The front desk was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nleow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam

Thank you so much for your very valuable and much appreciated feedback following your recent stay in Residence Nosticova.

I'm pleased to read that you found our service to be friendly and helpful as this together with a highly attentive attitude are the cornerstones of our service philosophy.

I was sorry that your breakfast was not to the high standard you were expecting. Also your notice about the towels and bed sheets were very valuable and I absolutely agree that this is a surprising moment not corresponding with our usual level.
Please accept my sincere apologies that we fell short in these aspects of your stay. Your comments have already been followed up and we took an immediate actions to prevent such a situations in the future.
I also note that your room was noisy sometimes. I'm very sorry we didn't have a chance to upgrade you to more quiet room in a higher level. To keep our clients in the most relaxing ambient is an essential goal of our team.

Madam, Sir, we are very pleased that you chose to spend such a special moments in life with us and I do hope to yet get another chance to serve you with the most professional service in a near future.

Warm regards,

Lucie Nizka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
There are newer reviews for Alchymist Nosticova Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 878 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nothing much else to add to the previous reviews really.....great location in Mala Strana. Lots of restaurants and bars within a couple of minutes walk. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our top floor room overlooked Kampa Island....huge bathroom. Would stay here again if we ever return to Prague

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am truly glad to read it, as it always brings me joy to know that our guests have enjoyed their vacation to the fullest.

I hope we will get to welcome you at our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Lucie and colleagues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

everything was perfect - my only complaint is that they don't seem to have all the English Premier League games on TV!

service tick! - fantastic, young and friendly staff.

room tick! - cleaned at the right times

food tick! - cheese risotto to die for.

stay here! you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twocutedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that our hotel left such a good impression on you, and you have enjoyed your stay with us as much as you did.

My staff and I are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We enjoyed the Old World feel of this hotel. We had a nice suite on the 2nd floor. The staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. The dining room was gorgeous, although we didn't eat there.

Breakfast was very good, with a great selection. My only real problem was with Alex the restaurant manager, who was arrogant and rude. I was a little surprised at that treatment, considering how costly the rooms are.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam51184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A stunning hotel with staff that could not do enough to ensure an utterly perfect stay. The hotel has a team of staff that are more valuable than words can say - intelligent, helpful, charming and totally engaging. It is rare in this world to find people so dedicated to helping you to do the best of whatever it is you want to do. The building, location, food, service are all excellent but it is the way it is delivered that makes this hotel shine above the best.

Room Tip: If you are going with friends the two rooms in the roof are incredible. You have your own floor with...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here over Xmas, had a wonderful holiday. Lovely hotel and excellent service, it felt like living in a small family home. Bedroom as fantastic and bath magnificent. Bed extremely comfortable. Good location and able to walk over the bridges and into the City centre in about 30 minutes. Staff were warm and efficient and made this a wonderful Xmas stay, highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asterysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed here while in Prague. I picked the place from tripadvisor reviews.
All I can say is the place more than lives up to everything people say.

The room was wonderful and roomy (for Europe). The service and the people at the hotel - so warm and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble.
The location is perfect in MalaStrana - you can just lose yourself walking in the lanes.
The best thing about the place is the restaurant in the garden. There is a walled garden across the street from the front door and inside is a fantastic open air restaurant. Very quiet and romantic and the food was really excellent.

I recommend this place without reservation. You will not regret picking it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markie_Mark115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucieNizka, Manager at Alchymist Nosticova Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam,

I am glad to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience at Alchymist Residence Nosticova.

Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention. I can tell that we have reached our aim.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to one of our Alchymist Luxury Group hotel,

Kind regards,
Lucie Nizka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#29 of 648 in Prague
1,143 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Nosticova Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Nosticova Palace

Address: Nosticova 463/1, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Alchymist Residence Nosticova)
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#24 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#28 Family Hotel in Prague
#50 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $167 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Nosticova Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alchymist Nosticova Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Residence Nosticova Prague
Alchymist Residence Nosticova Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing