We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at friend's place”
Review of Hotel Pod Vezi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pod Vezi
Ranked #2 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a second part of what I have to say about my all-went-wrong night in Prague. For the first and on the whole shocking bits see my "Amour Hotel Residence" entry.
My girlfriend and me found ourselves stuck at Prague airport after having missed our flight to Venezuela. Middle of the night, foreboding sense of having wasted good deal of money and time, cold and drizzle.. you see the picture.
So we took off to the city to find a quiet place to spend the night and try to fix whatever is left first thing in the morning. After rather disconcerting experience at Amour Hotel Residence doorstep, which in itself made for the last straw that night, we stumbled across Hotel pod Vezi. From the first minute, the staff there went an extra mile to make us feel o.k. At the reception desk, whilst checking in, I told the receptionist about the mess we were in. He listened and his reaction was along this line: oh my goodness, that's awful. Let me see what I can do for you. He then checked his computer and went: listen, you guys look like you need an extra nice place tonight. I can upgrade you to one of the best rooms we have, since it's not taken. Same price.
And it was very nice. So was the breakfast, so is the location of the hotel. Now, one tends to take this for granted, after all that's what you get for your money. If you do get it, it's o.k. and you don't necessarily feel the urge to brag about it. If you don't, you feel you were cheated. That's just life, and you don't boast about it either. What makes the difference is the warm touch. That kinda you-guys-shut-the-door-have-a-bath-and-cup-of-tee-and-go-to-bed-and-we'll-be-here-to-look-after-you feeling. And that's what the staff at Hotel pod Vezi were incredibly good at. Eventually I checked out after two nights, and when leaving this place, it was like I stayed with welcoming, supportive yet unobtrusive friends, people who take pains to give you a homy base whilst you're dealing with whatever brought you to Prague. We were already preconditioned by the troubles on our hands, but I can easily see that things may happen to anybody on holiday. And that's to sum up my experience. If you're after the feeling of a human touch in a very nice hotel, there's pretty good chance you get it here.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miroslavchabica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,898 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Prague was the last stop for NYE 2013 - Pod Vezi was in a prime location, just slightly back from Charles Bridge, walking distance to tonnes of restaurants and sights!

The staff though were the highlight! So helpful and accommodating, assisting us with organising a private tour to Cesky Krumlov and telling us the hot spots for New Years and the places to avoid. Always very friendly, willing to help and make you feel right at home.

Breakfast was great. Had everything you could really ask for. And the coffee was delish! And weren't restricted to the push button coffee machine, the staff would always ask if you wanted a proper coffee (cappuccinos, espressos etc), and you weren't restricted to just one coffee for the morning either! Oh and the bubbly at breakfast on New Years Eve morning was a real treat too.

The room was spacious and very clean. Having fast wi-fi was a pleasure. And the NYE bubbly and fruit platter was a treat as well as a plate of yummy shortbread biccies they left another night. I'd definitely return to Pod Vezi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The location couldn't be better, just steps off the Charles Bridge in the Little Quarter, convenient to every attraction. We chose the double deluxe room which was very spacious. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was high quality, and both times we ate lunch in the restaurant, the food was great. We also enjoyed a glass of wine one evening on the outside balcony at the top of the hotel, overlooking the rooftops of the town. Staying here definitely contributed to our overall wonderful time in Prague.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is an excellent hotel and your best bet if you're in Prague to see the sights of the Old Town and the Palace / Cathedral (right by the Charles Bridge). It's a lovely boutique hotel without the pretensions / blandness of larger hotel chains (but without compromising on quality). The hotel is split across a few buildings, we stayed in the U Biskupa restaurant building and the rooms here were tastefully decorated and spacious. Hotel staff were all really helpful too, including suggestions on what to visit with the time we had.

Room Tip: Rooms in the U Biskupa restaurant building are spacious and have been freshly decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amichaels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Location - at the Charles bridge beneath the lesser tower. Very convenient but the courtyard is very quiet with no interference from the passing crowds.
Room- spacious, very tasteful and well appointed. The building is in beautiful restored condition and a pleasure to be in. Wi-Fi available free throughout the hotel.
Restaurant - we had breakfasts and a meal at the crepe restaurant. Very good quality and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Fresh squeezed orange juice and espresso a feature of breakfast
Staff - a real highlight! All staff, check-in, restaurant and cleaning we're very friendly and so helpful. They are the main reason why we will stay at this hotel on our next visit. Language not a problem as all staff speak English and understand Australian :) A big thank you to all of them.
Tip- allow the hotel to book your taxi transfers from and too the airport, totally stress free and only CZK 600.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is an absolute gem. You cannot find a better location in Prague as it is situated at the end of Charles Bridge tucked away neatly from the crowds yet in the thick of everything. Not only is the location perfect - he hotel staff were amazing, Martin at the front desk gave us fantastic tips of where to go, what to do, what to look out for, what to avoid etc. Our room was very spacious and spotless and made up early every morning. Every evening we were greeted with either a bottle of champagne, fruit, or biscuits. Great attention to detail in all areas. Exceptionally good service and value for money. Fabulous experience on all levels. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

To eat in this restaurant you better make à reservation. During our 4 days visit to Praha we had two loverly meals in this restaurant. Good food and splendid wine. Also The service was very good. The waiters were very kind and recognised us when we came for the second time. We can recommend you this restaurant.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank annemieke68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 646 in Prague
3,291 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 646 in Prague
1,803 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 646 in Prague
921 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 646 in Prague
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Vezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Vezi

Address: Mostecka 58/2 | Prague 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $98 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Vezi 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pod Vezi is 4* boutique hotel and it is set in two historical neighbouring buildings: It is located in the city center right beside the famous Charles Bridge! Despite it is located in the most attractive and visited area of Prague it is proud of its unique quite and calm charm. Free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities are at your disposal in all rooms! All important sightseeings and "must see" like Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Cemetery, National Theater, etc. are in walking distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pod Vezi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing