We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, ideal location and the best staff!”
Review of Hotel Pod Vezi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pod Vezi
Ranked #2 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, ideal location and the best staff!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just spent 6 nights at the Pod Vezi and thoroughly recommend this lovely boutique hotel. As other reviewers have said it is in a great location right beside the western end of the Charles bridge which to my mind is the best side to be close to the castle and cathedral and away from the crowds and bustle of old town which is just a short stroll away across the bridge. This side of the bridge is much quieter with some wonderful restaurants and quiet streets and parks to explore. The rooms are spacious and well appointed and very quiet especially considering how close you are to the bridge. There is a lovely roof garden accessible from the third floor which is a great place to relax outside if you don't want to go to a restaurant and we really appreciated the little touches such as the treats that were delivered to our room each afternoon sometimes chocolates or pastries or a small bottle of bubbly! To echo what other reviewers have said the staff at this hotel are the best, everyone was super friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. If we get to return to Prague we would definitely choose the Pod Vezi again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunstarVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,470
    190
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
394
1,718
84
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just back from a magical stay in Prague! Nestled under the Tower, the Pod Vezi was the perfect base to explore this beautiful city. The staff were friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. Lots of attention to detail made us feel really welcome. For example, they noticed my sister was having a birthday during our stay, and they sent complimentary champagne; we had treats in our rooms every afternoon when coming back for a refreshing rest before going out again; breakfast was always yummy and varied. Charming and at the threshold of it all - thoroughly reccommend it :)!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnySide2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our first stay in Prague & we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Communication was great from booking & when we had to change our reservation due to BMI flight cancellations this was dealt with very efficiently & quickly. We were picked up from the airport by the taxi service arranged by the hotel. The driver was very friendly, trying to give us as much information as possible & was also very prompt on our return journey. Our group had 2 deluxe rooms which were extremely spacious & clean. We didn't arrive at the hotel until about 9pm in the evening but on request the hotel had reserved us a table in their restaurant so within half an hour of us arriving we were sitting having a meal on the outside terrace enjoying the warm evening. The restaurant food was excellent (with a 15% discount for residents) & the buffet breakfast each morning had a great selection of very fresh food. All of the staff (receptionists, restaurant staff, cleaners) were very friendly & couldn't do enough for us. The location of the hotel is perfect & we really couldn't fault Pod Vezi or Prague.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just back from staying at the Pod Vezi, which I chose because of the excellent reviews on this site, and for the most part everything was as good as stated by previous reviewers.
Just a few niggles, but would definitely reccommend if you prefer a boutique, charismatic hotel over a standard modern chain hotel.
The best thing about the hotel is its location, centrally sited between the two main tourist areas, so was easy to come back to for a coffee or a siesta although there is no real lounge area to sit and read a paper or have a coffee in inclement weather.
We were given a room in the newly opened annexe, a separate building tucked across a small small cul de sac in the corner of the opposite buildings and although newly decorated and having everything you want, there were one or two issues to note.
Firstly, this building doesn't have air conditioning in the rooms, although you could open the windows and there was a fan provided. Might not be too comfortable in hot weather and even though the bed was extremely comfortable, we were too hot at night and alternated between throwing the duvet off and then covering up.
Secondly, access to this building is by swiping your room card across the handle of the outer very heavy metal door. Unfortunately, our room was above this door and with the window open, the constant banging of the door closing up to quite late at night meant it was difficult to get to sleep. On checking out, we were asked if anything could be improved and suggested a slow return bar could perhaps be fitted.
Also be aware, that if your room faces out onto the road, and you have the window open, there is a lot of noise when all the glass is collected late at night, and then very early noise from barrel delivery.
Breakfast was served from 7.30 to 10.30am which is good for those who like a lie-in on holiday. A good selection for the buffet breakfast, although I prefer my fried and scrambled eggs to be piping hot. There is a also motorised juicer which can be used to make freshly squeezed orange juice. However, as someone who likes to sits quietly at breakfast, I found the constant noise of it's motor quite annoying.

On the plus side, our hotel transport to and from the airport ran smoothly and there is also computer and printer available in the foyer where I was able check in online and print boarding passes for the return flight, which was very useful. Another nice touch was a stand full of umberellas to use if it rained, especially useful when walking from the annexe to the main hotel for breakfast.

We ate in the restaurant on the night of our arrival, to find that there is a 'temporary prohibition' whereby the sale of spirits and liqueures has been banned everywhere, following the death of a number of people from apparently consuming illegally distilled alchohol. So it's just wine, beer or soft drinks.
The other main thing to note is that comfortable walking shoes are a must! All the roads and paths in the castle area and the old town are formed from cobble stones, some of which have more than an inch gap between them which would be impossible to walk on with stiletto heels. I took nice evening clothes to change into for the evening, but ended up wearing my trainers all the time. Even both my husband's and my own flat shoes with a normal sole were too uncomfortable to wear for very long.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Pod Vezi and found Prague a very beautiful, compact city with amazing architecture and history. Very easy to get about, but packed with tourists.

Room Tip: If in the annexe, ask for a room that doesn't front the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolAnnBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel runs a taxi service at a good price, so I got picked up at at the airport and went straight there. When I arrived, my room wasn't ready yet, but the staff gave me some pointers for a nice cafe to waste some time. The staff were generally very warm and helpful; especially to someone like me with no sense of direction.

I stayed in a Deluxe room, which was in the corner of the building, and gave views over the tower of the Charles bridge, and the square around the hotel. It was really peaceful, and lovely to wake up to.

The rooms themselves may need updating soon, but they're fine, and do the job well. Breakfast was lovely; the usual continental affair but in a really cosy and inviting space. The hotel itself is particularly central; it was rarely more than a 15-minute walk away to get to the major tourist spots.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimvZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at pod vezi me and tree more friends from London! The service is absolutely fantastic!!! Very flexible and helpful staffs.... I absolutely recommended it... Location cannot be more perfect.... Millor, David and the pacient Martin from Slovakia and the all the others off course are doing amazing!!!!! Make all us to come back and have great time again!!!!!!!! Thank u!!!!! Edcon from brasil

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edcon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 619 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Prague as a city is 'cute & magical' unlike the large European beauties like Paris and Rome. Practically the whole city centre on both the East & west banks of the mesmerising Vltava can be covered by foot. Hotel Pod Vezi located atop the western end of the Charles Bridge, where we spent 4 nights in late August 2012, is indeed 'cute&magical' for you can easily walk past it, if you are not looking for it. Once inside though, the warmth of reception you receive from Martin Celko and others is as if you've known him/ them for years.Every detail a first- time tourist would need from maps to suggestions on where to exchange your Foreign Exchange to what to see & how is provided in a warm welcoming fashion. Our jaws literally dropped on entering our chosen room which had large french windows on two sides with views of the Charles Bridge from one and a quaint courtyard from the other. A flawlessly appointed room with a discrete wooden partition added a touch of European class to the room. The breakfast spread is wholesome served both in a cosy room and outside at the very foot of Charles Bridge. The hotel also has a classy restaurant tucked away right next door with a wide spread of menus to choose from. Just step out further to the West Bank of Lesser Town and you find numerous eateries all cute & cuddly serving up different mouthwatering eats. When Martin Celko takes a break,out steps Ms. Eva who in faultless English guides you to a complimentary tea & cake snack at a new eatery opened by the hotel just round the bend! We booked our Mozart & Strauss concert, Vltava Boat ride, Prague castle tram ride etc right at the front desk without having to step out!! Each time we returned Martin or Eva would fondly enquire on how we enjoyed the day. We are quite sure we will visit Prague again and very sure where we'd want to stay- ' cute & magical' Hotel Pod Vezi ofcourse!!
Thank you Martin Celko, Eva & team for having made our stay in Prague so very memorable we can't wait to get back!

Warm regards & many thanks,
Krishnan

Room Tip: We found the 'Charles Bridge view' room great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VSKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,126 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,713 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#4 of 649 in Prague
1,756 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#13 of 649 in Prague
1,029 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Vezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Vezi

Property: Hotel Pod Vezi
Address: Mostecka 58/2 | Prague 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Vezi 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pod Vezi is 4* boutique hotel and it is set in two historical neighbouring buildings: It is located in the city center right beside the famous Charles Bridge! Despite it is located in the most attractive and visited area of Prague it is proud of its unique quite and calm charm. Free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities are at your disposal in all rooms! All important sightseeings and "must see" like Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Cemetery, National Theater, etc. are in walking distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pod Vezi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing