We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely short break Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Praga 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Praga 1
Ranked #233 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely short break Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Without knowing anything about Prague but knowing we wanted to go there we used this app to help us choose. We knew we wanted to be within walking distance to all the main tourist attractions, but far away enough to go out without getting too involved with the nightlife in the evenings. Hotel Praga1 proved to be the ideal choice.

The staff were very friendly and helpful right from the beginning, even before our stay with them. I had noticed our flight arrived in Prague arrived at 9 p.m.
An hour after the free transfer shuttles last run to and from the hotel. I emailed the reception desk directly and received a very prompt and helpful reply of how to get there and to arrange a car etc.
Our room (303) was basic but very clean, the room temperature was just right with air con available, the hot water was hot, the bed was huge and the chamber maids emptied the bins, made the bed and changed the towels daily as to be expected.
The breakfast room was unique but clean and friendly. The food basic but provided a variation. Hot eggs and sausages and pancakes, or broccoli? But also fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, pastries and croissants, rolls etc, cold meats and cheese. Lots to choose from.
The Hotel itself is within a ten minute walk to Wenceslas Square to the Old Town Square and a good half hour walk up to the Castle, but those walks are well worth it.
To eat out there is plenty of places to choose from like all major cities. In out 3 night stay we decided the Prizny Rez pretty much a minute walk round the corner was the best in town.

I highly recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing for a base near enough to everything but not to be in the thick of it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryAABaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Praga 1, our breakfast and our location.
We hope that we will have oportunity to welcome you back soon

With best regards
Markéta Fialová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    270
    105
    23
    16
See reviews for
106
276
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Having read a few reviews just before we travelled [Rating 5] we were looking forward to our stay, to say we were disenchanted is an understatement. We arrived at 11am but could not check in as it was too early. Went for a look around had lunch and returned. We checked in and went to see our room. The first thing that you noticed was the very damp smell, just awful we were also at the front of the hotel and the road noise is bad. We spoke to reception and asked for a change of room only to be told that we could but only if we upgraded at our cost so we declined on principal and put up with the smell for 3 days!! We also had to request toiletries from reception each day as they were not being left in the bathroom. If you want a coffee in your room you will have to buy it as they only supply 2 x tea bags and no milk. Breakfast was diabolical bread dry and hard, hot food sparse to say the least, but if you like your fruit [all 3 tiny pieces] in cold custard you will love it!!
I have to agree with other contributers that this hotel should be rated a 2 star at the most and I certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The reviews of this hotel seem rather biased and untrue, as I can guarantee that this is in no way a four star hotel. To make this easier, I'll list the good and bad.

Good:
Friendly reception staff, especially the young man.
Very good location, close to city centre and main attractions
Spacious rooms
Free wifi, although didn't work all the time

Bad:
Shocking breakfast, hard bread, very poor hot food
Breakfast staff were rude
Rooms were dusty, mattress wasn't clean
Shower didn't work properly - either boiling hot or freezing cold, if it worked at all
Only half of the radiator heated up
Our window didn't close fully so we often felt a draft from the cold winds
The "free" shuttle is not free, it is €6 per person and only runs three times a day
Lobby mini bar is a great idea but by 6/7pm has a very limited choice, making it a waste of space.
Very noisy- outside traffic, general hotel noise

If you're easily pleased this hotel would be fine, but don't be fooled into thinking you'll be staying in a four star hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful, both in person and in emails before we arrived. However, I wouldn't recommend the hotel and I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireHillsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are sorry, that your opinion on our hotel did not meet your expectations and we are glad you enjoyed our location and room.
Our hot and cold buffet breakfast offers variety of sweet and salty food, your comments were passed to our kitchen team.
Free shuttle bus is only from the airport to the hotel, for the way back we offer shuttle for special
price 6 € PP.
We hope, that you will give us another chance to make your stay in Prague memorable.
We wish you all the best.
Markéta Fialová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Good:
Helpful reception staff. Free Wi-Fi in lobby. Fantastic location. Large room. Great with booking.

Bad:
Definitely not a 4 star hotel. Barely a 2 star. Poor selection at breakfast, with rude staff - didn't say hello, goodbye or thank you when letting the past. One staff started clearing our stuff away and laying the table before we'd finished eating and ignored us when we told her to stop.
The room was large, but several issues with it. Only a fifth of the bedroom radiator worked, the bathroom radiator was completely broken. The toilet seat was broke. The window was broke and so didnt open. The shower was either really hot or freezing cold and would change every 2 minutes despite not changing the temperature gauge. The shower itself was too small and every time you'd move your body knocks the temperature gauge. The wi-fi didn't work in the room. The "free" shuttle service cost €6 each and only runs 3 times a day. The room was dusty and the walls were dirty and had paint scratched off. The colour scheme didn't match and so was a bit hard to relax in (sounds odd but bright red pictures and a mouldy green/yellowy paint dont go). The lobby bad only had tea, coffee and coca cola when we went at 8pm. No beer, no wine or no other hot drinks.

Wouldnt go back to the hotel as so much wrong. Very misleading. Wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jossmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSPman, Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Traveler ,
thank you very much for taking your time sharing this valuable feedback.
We are glad you liked our big room, location and our staff at reception.
I truly regret that you were disappointed with our breakfast and the bar..
We will work hard to improve our service.
We hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back in one of our hotels in future.
Best Regards
Markéta Fialová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed at this hotel last week for three nights, as we were going to the christmas markets. The hotel is only a ten to fifteen minute walk away from both Christmas Markets. Hotel was warm, clean and staff very friendly and helpful. We were on the 5th floor so very little noise, nice big room, although shower a little small kept knocking the the tap off everytime i moved. Breakfast is very basic, but ok. The bar has happy hour from 4pm - 10pm although very limited to choice and run out very quickly. Prague is absolutley beautiful it is a must for everyone, lots of walking. We were lucky as it snowed on our last full day which made the markets feel very festive. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YPH Y, Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Traveler,
Thank you for submitting your review to Tripadvisor and staying at the hotel Praga 1. We're really happy to hear that you had a good time in Prague and hope to have you as a guest again soon.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Like many people i looked up this hotel on Trip Advisor before my trip to Prague and wasn't quite sure what i would make of it. However I can honestly say this hotel was PERFECT! Comfortable, clean, spacious and a great location to top it all off. You're only a very short walking distance to many of the main attractions but even in the immediate area surrounding the hotel we had lots of fun discovering different bars, pubs and restaurants, in fact these turned out to be some of our favourites. This was my first time to Prague and i fell in love with it (and the Pilsner!) and cannot wait to come back and can 100% say I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoneyDench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YPH Y, Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay! It's always a great pleasure to hear from our guests how they enjoyed their trip to Prague and stay at the hotel Praga 1.
Hope we will be able to welcome you again!
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and found it adequate for our needs. It's about 15 minutes walk from the Old Square which is mostly well lit if you walk via Wenceslas Square (the direct route is a bit dark). It's opposite a strip club and backs onto a Hooters bar, but we never heard or saw anything. Probably worth bearing in mind if you have small children though.

The room was large, although it was only the two of us, we had a king size bed and then another room with a table and two single beds. The furniture was modern, but the pink wallpaper and black & white photos were a weird choice.

The breakfast was nice and plentiful. Only thing I would say is that the fried eggs need to be cooked for a little longer, they were a bit gooeyer than we had expected. The Wi-Fi access was generally okay, even from the 5th floor. Just ask the front desk for the password.

Overall it was a nice visit and we would recommend the hotel to friends & family.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YPH Y, Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Praga 1, our breakfast and our location.
We hope to welcome you back soon
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#171 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Beseda Prague
Hotel Beseda Prague
#202 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#152 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#110 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#80 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#107 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1

Property: Hotel Praga 1
Address: Zhitna 1670/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#187 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Praga 1The Hotel & Residence PRAGA 1 is situated in the centre of Prague at 5 Zitna Street.There is an underground and tram station nearby (approx. 100 m) named ″Karlovo náměstí″, from where you can get anywhere you need to go. The famous Wenceslas square is only 5 minutes' walk from our residence. We look forward to your visit and we wish you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praga 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga 1 Hotel
Praga 1 Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing