We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again.”
Review of Hotel Praga 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praga 1
Ranked #240 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Would stay again.”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I stayed Hotel Praga 1 with five friends, and occupied three rooms, on floors four, and five. The rooms themselves were of a very good size, were comfortable, and were well maintained. The bathroom, however could have been a bit larger, affording space for a slightly larger shower cubicle, due to the size of which, it is very easy to knock the tap, changing the temperature of the water. The general feeling of our group was that we would have been happy with a slightly larger bathroom, at the cost of space in the room.

We used the free hotel transfer service from the airport to the hotel, however this was due to the fact that we happened to arrive shortly before the once in two hour departure times. The vehicle used is a Mercedes Viano, as such space is limited.

Although we arrived well before the check-in time, the hotel was happy for us to check-in to two out of the three rooms, which were ready, saving either the hassle of walking around Prague with our bags, or sitting around waiting till check-in time.

The breakfast at the hotel was of a very good standard, with a reasonable selection, which included a selection of cold meats, pastries, cereal, and fruit.

The rooms were cleaned daily, with towels, and complementary toiletries replenished, bar the day we accidently left the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door, when we left for the day.
The hotel is well situated, being a short walk from Wenceslas Square. The Charles Bridge, and the Old Town, can also be reached in under 20min by foot.

The staff, especially Federica Fiori, were very polite, helpful, and always willing to help or advise.

We would happily stay at this hotel, if we visit Prague again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCG20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Let me kindly to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our hotel. It’s always a pleasure to hear the feedback from our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Praga 1. Our guests´ feedbacks are very important for us and for all our future visitors.
It will be our honour to welcome you back again in our hotel.
With best regards from Prague
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    273
    106
    23
    16
See reviews for
109
279
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
morpeth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Have just returned from Prague, where I was staying at the hotel praga 1, although we were supposed to be staying at the caesar palace hotel (thanks a lot dawson and sanderson) Anyway after initial disappointment (caesar palace looked lovely) and quite a long walk to the right hotel we finally arrived. The hotel staff were politely friendly and the hotel was immaculately clean. The room was massive, although decorated quite spartanly. The only art on the walls were two stills of old hollywood film stars in garish frames. It also looked out on a very busy road which thankfully the double glazed windows managed to drown out. The bed was amazingly comfortable, king sized and joy of joys, extra pillows were provided! There was a minibar, standard prices but my only gripe was that although there was a kettle in the room there was no coffee or milk provided, u had to rrequest this at a cost of 10 CK each (about 33p). The room was lovely and warm and there was a good array of toiletries provided. Shower cubicle small, but water piping hot and plenty of towels. Breakfast was lovely, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and little hot dog sausages if you like hot, and a selection of cooked meats and cheese if not. There was also fresh fruit yoghurt, cereal and delicious pastries, pancakes and doughnuts?! Fruit juice and coffee and tea. The obligatory slow toaster also present. Prague looked beautiful with all the christmas trees and lights and the hotel is well within walking distance of wenceslas square and the old town square with the amazing astronomical clock. Dining out tip: Beef goulash with dumplings is amazingly cheap and fills you up for hours! souveniers are a bit tacky and expensive but t shirts are a bargain in winter! would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: we had room 103, massive bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

28th November until 2nd December, stayed with my mum for a short pre- christmas break. One reason for booking Praga 1, was the fact that there was a shuttle bus included in the very reasonable price -unfortunately- the bus did arrive at the airport on time, but couldnt accomodate all the people who were waiting to be taken to their hotels. We were kept waiting for nearly another hour before the shuttle finaly came back and took 8 of us to the hotel. Beware of this if you are using the free shuttle bus. The drop is to 4 hotels, so the small 8 seater is not big enough.
On arrival at the hotel, we were checked in by a sweet receptionist called Francseca (think that was her name). Because the other party of six who we shared the shuttle with, complained- we were offered a free drink from the bar ! Our room was a twin on floor 5 (there are 6 floors), room 504. One lift in the small hotel is all that was needed, it was prompt and very clean inside. As was our room, wooden floor (real wood!), very very clean, and also very very warm. Perfect room actually. A safe for us to keep our passports in which was a real good idea too. Plenty of hangers in the double wardrobe too.
We did however expect tea and coffee facilities, yes there was a kettle, but only 2 green tea bags and 2 files of sugar. There was a small charge for tea and coffee. I would advise you to take tea bags and coffee!
Our room overlooked the main road- which didnt pose a problem, as the 2 windows were fully double glazed- so noise wasnt a problem at all.
Breakfast was perfect- based on 'continental', cakes, cereals, tea, coffee, fruit, toast, rolls, cheese, ham, Yogurt, fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit salad. Brilliant! Again everything was immaculately clean.
Small bar, happy hour is between 7pm and 11pm- small but cosy and used mainly by hotel guests. A pilsner beer worked out at under £1. Location of the Praga 1, is perfect, near to all the shops and lots of restaurants to choose from in walking distance from the hotel too.
There is a room which has 2 pc's for use by hotel guests which is also free to use.
In a nut shell- 'fantastic value for money'. Would definetly stay again if we ever go back to Prague.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillypink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for your stay at our hotel and also for posting your review at TripAdvisor- it helps us a lot in maintaining and enhancing the level of service we provide at the hotel Praga 1. I am very sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your experience of our shutle bus. Please accept my deep apologies- but it was bad managed by our driver. If you come back next time, please inform us by email, and I promise you priority seat in the FREE SHUTTLE BUS.
Looking forward to welcoming YOU again
Kindest regards
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Hotel is comfortable with lovely large firm beds. Just a short walk to the center of Prague. Staff are pleasant but the old night porter is rather grumpy. Breakfast is continental & plentyful. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmt3587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

4 Adults. 4 days. 3 nights at the Praga1
What a bargain and less than an hour on a bus and metro from the airport.
Clean,warm,good size rooms.Yes the shower cubicle is small but it is clean and the water was hot.A few cleaning bits in the bathroom basket.
Bed (two singles pushed together)was comfortable,as were the pillows.
The buffet breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the coffee was nice.
Pleasant and helpful staff. Wifi in the room works well.
There was a kettle,cups and spoons but no coffee in the rooms.However the little shop next door sells sachets, wines, beer, spirits,snacks at pretty reasonable prices again.

The metro station and tram-stop are about 400mtrs away.The old town can be walked but we did enough walking when we got there!
Go prepared to walk plenty,there are a lot of cobbled streets and pavements so not easy under the wrong footwear.
Temperature didn't go above 5c whilst we were there so....
Eating and drinking out we found very reasonable, in fact most meals and drinks for four seemed very cheap! EXCEPT!! The ham/fat and bread stall along side the clock tower in the square (pic inc) far too dear for a poor stand up lunch surrounded in pigeons.The prices aren't what they seem!!!
Tram no22 took us almost everywhere. We bought a THREE DAY ticket at the airport for trams and metro that got us from the Airport and ALL trams after that, there are hundreds of trams,hop on hop off.The ticket even includes the up and down car to the 'Eiffel Tower'
All for about £10 each, for the last day it cost about £3 for the day.Great value, frequent, clean and warm.
All in all a very good trip and reasonable cost.

Room Tip: 403/402 at the front were fine for us. Warm without heating on.You can open the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAW400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay! It's always a great pleasure to hear from our guests how they enjoyed their trip to Prague and stay at the hotel Praga 1.
Hope we will be able to welcome YOU again!
With best regards
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

i enjoyed my stay in praga1 hotel, hotel very clean and smart, breakfast was very nice , rooms are really nice and comfortable, showers are top quality power shower, rooms cleaned every day, new towels, and beds are the best comfortable beds you are likely to stay in and pillows are just so soft and relaxing after walking round or been round the bars in prague,

i recommend this hotel for first timers or people who have been prague before

cheap rates and top service

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kopite74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your staying at the hotel Praga 1.
I am very glad to hear that you have been satisfied with your stay, this is the best appreciation of our work.
I look forward to welcome YOU back!
Kindest regards
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Just returned from a 4 day visit to Prague.Booked in the Hotel Prague 1,which provided excellent service in all areas for a very moderate price.The room was quiet and comfortable,the breakfasts offered a variety of choices and the staff behind Reception were friendly and polite,providing a 24 hour service.Very good location,near the metro and trams but within walking distance of most of the sites we wanted to visit.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a friendly visit to Prague.
Tom Morton

Room Tip: I believe the rooms at the back have a better view,but even though we were facing the strret(Zitna)t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay. It´s always a great pleasure to hear from our guests how they enjoyed their trip to prague and stay at the hotel Praga 1.
I hope we will be able to have you as our guest again shoud you decide to re-visit Prague in the future.
With best regards
Federica Fiori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#177 of 649 in Prague
1,287 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Beseda Prague
Hotel Beseda Prague
#212 of 649 in Prague
865 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#151 of 649 in Prague
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#115 of 649 in Prague
957 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#94 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#103 of 649 in Prague
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1

Property: Hotel Praga 1
Address: Zhitna 1670/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Praga 1The Hotel & Residence PRAGA 1 is situated in the centre of Prague at 5 Zitna Street.There is an underground and tram station nearby (approx. 100 m) named ″Karlovo náměstí″, from where you can get anywhere you need to go. The famous Wenceslas square is only 5 minutes' walk from our residence. We look forward to your visit and we wish you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praga 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga 1 Hotel
Praga 1 Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing