We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Waldstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Waldstein
Ranked #113 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Tucked away in a quiet corner of Prague, but in easy reach of all the sites the Waldstein is a great place to stay. The bed could have been a little more comfortable and the bathroom needed a face lift but the room was very clean and full of character.The staff are incredibly sweet and helpful and it is in such a peaceful area that a perfect night's sleep is guaranteed. Easy to get everywhere and lots of reasonably priced restaurants close by. Good breakfast too. A really good break.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 795 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

Three of us - friends spent a day in Prague before we rushed to the airport. The location was right in the centre of the historical city and by short walk to reach the castle, nice little streets,Charles bridge, and other places of interest on both sides of the river. The receptionist was very nice and recommended a good restaurant Malostranska beseda with good Czech cuisine and Pilsner beer and reasonable prices just five minutes from the hotel. We had a nice, quiet sleep as the windows of our suite faced the little yard. The breakfast was tasty and rich enough, with sweet things, fruit and cheese, ham and sauseges. Of course not as huge as in German 4* properties, but better than in a few 4* properties I experienced in Prague.
Generally I would say it was a deal as it was comfy, peaceful and also very close to the subway station and bus to the airport and also to places of interest. (I know they can organize a taxi for the airport for about $30 but we bought a 24 hours public transport ticket so we used it and it took us not more than 40 minutes to get from the hotel to the airport-including the walk.)
We are planning a trip to Prague with my husband and do want to stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank 805Leonora3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Staff was wonderfully helpful, especially with coordinating drivers for day trips, etc. The room was what I expected for a local hotel with overall good character (however don't expect to feel like you are in a Hilton). The shower definitely had much to improve on, and I would recommend bringing your own shampoo, etc. as the shower shampoo/body wash was the same as the sink soap. For those minor inconveniences, it is overall a good place to stay wtih a great location.

Room Tip: we kept our windows open at night, which probably didn't help the noise level as you could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very very good Continental breakfast. There is nothing you have to miss. Service is very nice and the Location is excellent nearby the oldtown and the Karl´s Bridge! The rooms are super clean. You can Change Money in the Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rene_Berger1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Friendly helpful welcome.
Nice big clean bedrooms.
Buffet style breakfast but loads of it.
Well situated for the Castle and Charles Bridge and trams and busses.
Very impressed and extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Not a bad place for the price....but we stayed in an annexe on the ground floor where the smell in the room was pure musty....we were supposed to stay for 3 nights but only stayed for 2.
Breakfast was lovely and staff were really nice.

Room Tip: Don't get annexe or ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank weekell75Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in July and we had a ball the hotel is one of the best places we ever stayed in the staff the food the rooms were second to none a big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so very very enjoyable and we cant wait to go back again how would my wife and I rate this hotel 10 out of 10 or as the song says Simply the best better than all the rest !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 237TOMMY22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#56 of 646 in Prague
457 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#35 of 646 in Prague
731 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#176 of 646 in Prague
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#108 of 646 in Prague
1,254 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
U Bile Lilie
U Bile Lilie
#164 of 646 in Prague
60 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#14 of 646 in Prague
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstein

Address: Valdshtejnske namesti 19/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $46 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldstein 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Hotel Waldstein is situated directly in the historical centre of Prague in the neighborhood of the Prague Castle, close to all places of interest and a metro station. Due to the preserved unique architectural elements, the building was included in the Czech National Immovable Heritage List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Waldstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing