We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money but don't bother pre-booking airport transfers!”
Review of Hotel Waldstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Waldstein
Ranked #110 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent value for money but don't bother pre-booking airport transfers!”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location with a gorgeous view of the castle and in close proximity to Charles Bridge. The staff are all very friendly and helpful - particularly the breakfast staff. The room was fairly basic as was the breakfast, but they were both adequate, and compared to other hotels were excellent value for money! Just be careful about paying up front for airport transfers though. When I stayed, the driver asked me to pay even though I had already pre-booked the transfer. The hotel were very quick in removing the pre-booked transfer from my bill, however had I been prepared for this I would have taken more currency with me. Otherwise, a great find.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr1pRev1ewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    304
    78
    41
    22
See reviews for
162
337
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We booked a 4 day weekend in Prague in November and ended up staying at this hotel. We paid the extra £40 for a deluxe room and were surprised that we had an enormous room, a second bedroom with two more beds in it, a kitchenette and a large shower room. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was cleaned well each day.

When we initially walked into the room there was a faint smell of damp but then the building is exceptionally old and with the windows open for 20 minutes it was gone for the rest of the stay. There was enough equipment to have prepared meals in the kitchen area however we ate out each night. Breakfast was served in a lovely cellar with the curved ceilings above and had plenty of options for various tastes.

The location is what is great about this hotel, it is within 5 minutes of the Charles bridge and you can also walk up to the palace in about 10 minutes although the slope does slow you down a bit. There are a number of nice restaurants nearby as well which means you never have to go far for anything you want. If I was returning to Prague I would certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We paid the premium for a deluxe room and it certainly seemed worth it compared to some of the pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwEets10
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I love old but well kept. That would describe this quaint hotel. This hotel is within walking distance to pretty much all of the town squares and very close to the Charles Bridge. It has a gorgeous view, especially in the evening of the Prague Castle. The Breakfast that's included in your price is like none other. Love, love, love, this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwEets10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the waldstein for 4 nights over a weekend. We had expected to stay in one of the rooms in the building but we're relocated to an apartment attains the corner on arrival. The apartment lacked the charms of the hotel rooms but made up for it in space and facilities. We had a full kitchen, a huge living space, a big bedroom and a big bathroom. The decor was abit cheap but it was warm, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was typical continental buffet. .. cereals, frankfurters eggs beads and juices, which was fine. The staff were lovely and very easy to deal with. Liason was great. .. just on a back Street so very little noise but walking distance to all the sights. Would recommend if you're looking for cheap comfortable accommodation.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool. UK.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Waldstein from 7th Nov - 12th Nov to celebrate both ot our birthdays. Firstly, the location of the hotel is very convenient. As first timers to Prague the transport system was something of a mystery at first, but once you get the hang of it it's fine. The trip from the airport to the Walstein was quite easy in hindsight. You can purchase a transport ticket from the public transport office in the airport for 32czk, which gives you 90 minutes travel on bus, tram, and metro all for just 32czk, which is just over 1 pound sterling. 90 minutes being more than ample for this trip.

On leaving the airport you board the 119 bus to Dejvicka. This drops you right outside the metro station (Line A, Green). For the Waldstein you get off the metro two stops later at Malostranska. On coming out of the metro station at Malostranska you simply walk down Valdstejnska for a few minutes and Waldstein is tucked away to your left as you pass through a car parking area. I found it beneficial to do this walk on google maps beforehand just so we didn't get lost. It's a lot easier when you have an idea where you are going, because as we found out a number of times over our time in Prague, it's easy to get lost. Anyway, a little bit of preparation and this trip is easy, so no need for expensive taxi rides to and from the airport.

On Arrival at Waldstein on the evening of the 7th we were checked in by a lovely lady. She was full of information and recommendations and informed us that we could book trips and make restaurant reservations through reception. On being shown to our room (101) we were rather disappointed. The room was small, and because of the rather dark decor and carpet my parrtner (who booked this whole trip as a birthday treat) found it a little depressing. As it was also right next to the front door of the hotel, there was also some noise from people coming in and pressing the buzzer to open the door to go out.

Personally, I think this room was a surprise to us simply because when you look at pictures of this hotel the rooms shown look beautiful, and this room was nothing like those we'd seen advertised before. So, we decided to ask for a move to another room. My partner made the request and the lady in reception was fantastic. She asked us to stay in 101 overnight and we would be moved to room 121 (a deluxe suite) after breakfast the next day if we liked that room. True to her word, we were shown room 121 the next morning and moved once the room was prepared a few hours later.

The new room was more like a small cottage than a room. It had its own small courtyard, and once through the front door it felt like home. Beamed ceilings, nice, bright and modern bathroom. A main bedroom, a room with a TV and free Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, safe (free, but a refundable deposit is required of 20 euros or the czk equivalent) minibar (fees apply, pricelist supplied) and stairs up to another floor with balcony. There is a single bed up there, and a further small room upstairs with another single bed. This would be great for a family with two children, although caution is needed on the wooden stairs. Don't walk up them in your socks because you are likely to slip, as we found out after a few beers from the mini-bar.

We don't go around looking for muck and problems unless they are obvious, so we found the room clean and comfortable. No complaints at all. We never saw a maid once, but they had been in every day and restocked the essentials (loo rolls, clean towels etc) while we were out and about. Again, no complaints. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and friendly. All the reception staff we spoke to spoke good english, which helped us greatly as our Czech is abysmal, sadly.

Breakfast was from 7am - 11am and set downstairs in the cellar. A rather lovely setting it is too. Well worthy of a few snapshots with the camera. Welcoming staff, and plenty to choose from. Cereal, tea, coffee, juice, meats, cheese, bread, as well as some hot food such as sausages and scrambled egg if you prefer that. Anyway, our stomachs were well satisfied and breakfast set us up nicely for the day.

All things considered, apart from the first room we were given, we were happy with everything at the Waldstein. If we went back to Prague then we would be happy to stay there again. I don't like to recommend anywhere, because experiences are so subjective. All I can say is that we loved our stay here and in Prague in general.

The location of the hotel is very convenient. As said earlier, Malostranska metro station is close by, as is Malostranska Namesti (square) and this is where you can catch trams to other areas. Charles Bridge is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. If you fancy an uphill walk to Prague Castle then walk out of the Waldstein on to the road (Tomasska) and turn left towards Malostranska Square, turning right as soon as you get to the square and walk up Nerudova. This road has some nice restaurants on it. We spent an evening in one and the food was beautiful. I can't recall its Czech name, but it translates as the ''Three Violins.'' We approached the castle from Nerudova then walked right through to the other end, exiting through the vinyard, down the steps and back to near Malostranska metro station.

We found the transport system in Prague to be very good. For the able-bodied much of what there is to see is within walking distance, but for the less able, it's easy to get around using public transport. For those who don't know, there are a selection of tickets on offer in Prague. You buy transport time rather than pay from one destination to another. A 30 minute ticket is 24czk, 90 minutes is 32czk, 24 hours is 110czk and 72 hours is 310czk. You validate your ticket at the start of your first journey on that ticket, and your ticket allows you on to public transport buses, trams, metro and the Petrin Hill funicular train.

Petrin Hill is worth a visit, and the funicular is within walking distance of Malostranska Square. Just take Karmelitska, a road off the square, onto Ujezd to board the funicular. There is Petrin Tower up there and this gives you great photo opportunities on a day with good visibility. There is a fee to go up the tower itself. Not sure now, but I think it was around 155czk to walk up (299 steps) but more to catch the lift to the top instead. Great views up there, so well worth the climb. Another good view of Prague is from the Zizkov Tower on the other side of the river. A futuristic looking building which has statues of babies climbing up the outside. It's said to be the second ugliest building in the world. It seems totally at odds with the stunning architecture of old Prague, but it still compelled us to visit. We travelled there on metro line A (Green) from Malostranska. The train should be going to Depo Hostivar, but you get off at Jiriho z Podebrad for the Zizkov Tower. There is a fee to go up the tower, and although I can't recall the exact fee, it's not that much. A similar fee to the Petrin Tower. Anyway, more good views to be had up there. Although we never used it, there is also a restaurant in the Zizkov tower on another floor. I assume you'd need to book in advance if you wanted a night time table, but I imagine the view would be spectacular.

To comment on Prague in general, I'd say the transport is excellent. The city is beautiful and we never felt uneasy at any time. The people seemed friendly and we didn't get hassled by anyone at all. You do get warned (even in the Waldstein info book) to beware of pickpockets, but we didn't have any problems or see any problems on that score. As when going to any city in the world, though, it pays to be vigilant and take the same precautions that you would at home.

We found Prague to be a rather magical place. We loved it. It does have a seedy side too though, just like everywhere else in the world. At night, the end of Wenceslas Square by the museum seems to have a number of prostitutes on the street touting for business. I'm making no judgement there, rather just saying how it is. Another thing I've heard said about Prague has been about aggressive begging. In our experience, although we saw a number of beggars, particularly on Charles Bridge, they don't hassle you at all. As I said before, we felt safe in Prague. Safer than we do in England, anyway.

All in all I'd say that we had a wonderful time in a very historic hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is well placed, close to good transport links and attractions. We couldn't really have asked for more. A fantastic stay in a magnificent city.

PS, In the room ratings I gave 4 rather than five after taking into consideration the first room we were given. I'd give that a three, my partner would maybe give it a two. On the second room alone, though, it would have been a five.

Room Tip: Not really a tip on choosing a good room beforehand, but if you don't like the room given, do as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidandDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a long weekend in this hotel and it was very centrally located and a nice little hotel. We stayed in a ground floor room in the adjacent building to the hotel reception. A complimentary bottle of wine was provided with this room. Bathroom bright and modern. Continental breakfast was good and plentiful. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it. It was handy for the castle and trams. We used the trams on a few occasions to get to some places and it was very easy to use. Britain could take a leaf out of the Prague transport book. You bought your tickets in advance and were able to use them on either tram, subway or bus.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerSun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite at ground floor level in the adjoining building and were surprised by how quiet it was in the room. The room was beautifully decorated with antique furniture. Breakfast was lovely, well organised and good quality food. Prefect location for sight seeing and minutes walk from the tram station. All in all a lovely break.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Unkown186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#129 of 649 in Prague
244 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#37 of 649 in Prague
683 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#124 of 649 in Prague
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#184 of 649 in Prague
359 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#44 of 649 in Prague
791 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel u Schnellu
Hotel u Schnellu
#300 of 649 in Prague
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstein

Property: Hotel Waldstein
Address: Valdshtejnske namesti 19/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldstein 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Hotel Waldstein is situated directly in the historical centre of Prague in the neighborhood of the Prague Castle, close to all places of interest and a metro station. Due to the preserved unique architectural elements, the building was included in the Czech National Immovable Heritage List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Waldstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing