We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel William
Ranked #123 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good choice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Best for people requiring quieter stay - which we did. Easy walk to bridge and old town. Staff were excellent - very friendly and most helpful. Room was spacious (for two) and very clean. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasLev, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Clive P.,
I am most grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and for indicating you would recommend our Hotel William.
We certainly look forward to welcome you.
Sincerely
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    260
    95
    26
    9
See reviews for
128
262
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sèvres, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is okay. The location is 2 minutes away from karlove moste and 30 seconds away from petrinska park, beds were cozy, maids and cooks friendly, the buffet breakfast was pretty complete, and decoration fancy (in a good way).... BUT: I asked for the hotel's transportation to pick us up at the airport a MONTH prior to our arrival, but when we arrived there was none. ???. Then we asked for changing beds,we booked for 1 large bed and 1 single bed but they said not possible so We had to stick to the 2 single bed. I thought, Okay the hotel Must be booked up, whatever. But then we had to face stubbornness or resentment, idk. The receptionist didn't book the taxi for our arrival, then, we asked for being waked up at 8:30 am by phone... didn't happened. We asked at reception counter for the hotel's transportation, never arrived either and i felt a certain lack of regard from the receptionists when asking for anything except when I had to pay for it. Once I asked where was the nearest laundry (no so popular in Czech Rep) they shown me that place near wenceslas square which is a long way fro the hotel. I finally found one 200 meters away. I was willing to tell them where it was on a map so it could be useful for next customers... They stared at me like I was some freak.. While the maid were lovely, and appreciated that we made little effort to learn a few Czech words, and even offered to make us sandwiches for lunch!!! So I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to avoid eye contact or doesn't need a reception at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Decoust H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomasLev, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Decoust H,
thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.com.
Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Tomas Lev and I'm the new director from 1st. of September at Hotel William.
I really do apologize for the experience from our hotel. I am confident that your next visit to the hotel will have no complications and you will be fully satisfied.
With best regards

Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We only spent a night in William hotel in one of their apartments in the first floor. Very spacious and comfortable, quiet enough to get rest and night sleep after walking the "marathon of Prague". Location of the hotel made it perfect for short outings nearby and shopping sessions in downtown quarter, same for coming back to our apart. for downloading the shopping basket, or breaks for rest.
Wifi-internet connection & reception service - all right, but not to speak highly about ~ ( their ' speed ' is not exactly 'high speed' ). Pleasant personnel, but only the concierge was speaking English - I think :) .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altauprieten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Altauprieten,
I am very pleased to read your comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
Kind regards.
Tomas Lev
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent location to visit the center of Prague!

We stayed for two nights with our baby daughter, brought our own travell crib. Our room was nice and spacios, but it only had one window to a tiny courtyard. As we used our room only for sleeping, maybe it was better this way, as the room was really quiet.

The breakfast was good, and they had a highchair as well for the baby.

The only disadvantage of the hotel when travelling with a baby is that the elevator operates only between the first and the fourth floor. You have to climb about 20steps from the entrance. Our buggy is not the smallest, that is true, but it did not fit in the elevator we had to leave it in the car.

The hotel has a private parking (relatively expensive) but the parking situation in the center is terrible, so we were happy about it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank centperle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Centperle,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
Kind regards
Tomas Lev
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremona, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

pro:
- central position
- room is clean
- breakfast is ok

contro:
- room is extremly noisy, even with the double window closed. you hear your neighbours walking in the room.
- there is nothing to darken the room in the night; light from 5 a.m.
- room is very small

Room Tip: if you just slep in the room, and don't mind noises and light, is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCCR_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Diecan68,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and your observations.
Greetings from Prague
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Mala Strana, in a calmer and more quiet part of the city but very close to all main attractions, especially the Charles Bridge. There's a tram stop right in front which makes it easier to go around when not on foot, we never needed to take a cab.
The hotel is very comfortable and clean, and we would definitively recommend it. As noted in other reviews, the hotel has a fancy decoration style at the entrance and lobby, but the rooms are quite comfortable, with a simple clean design. We had a large and spacious room at the 5th floor, and we didn't have any noise issues as described in other reviews. The hotel even had a lift, which evidently helped carrying the luggage to our room. There was a reasonable breakfast already included in the rate. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, we had a pleasant stay and the hotel was really great value, since the last minute rate we got was actually lower than double rooms with private bathrooms at hostels, with much better quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrottersaopaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Globetrottersaopaulo,
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Greetings from Prague
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is situation just half a mins walk from the local tramline (Hellichova) which provides a good connection to the rest of the city to see most everything that Prague offers. It was good budget price and clean but a few things to be noted which is not noted on its website.There is one long flight of stairs to reach the floor where the (tiny) elevator is situated and from there when you get out on any floor, you have to either climb one flight of stairs up or down to get to the floor where your room is. That was a problem for me as i have mobility issues but otherwise may not prove to be a detriment to others
The hotel is clean but has no fans so gets a bit stuffy in summer, and there are no toiletries given in the bathroom. Also the towels are not changed unless you leave them inside the shower cubicle - thats a point to note. The continental breakfast spread was good.
This hotel is only very good if you want to be on a strict budget.
The hotel is situated only about 8 mins walk from Charles Bridge ...and if you cross the bridge its another 5 mins walk to reach the Old Town Square, which itself is 5 mins walk from the new town square (or little town square). Its two tramline stops to the nearest Metro station in Malostranska from where its just one underground stop to Prague Castle. From Hellichova if you take the tram to one stop on the other side to Uzjed stop then its 3 mins walk to Kampa where there is a tiny island strip...and if you follow that route it brings you to the base of Charles Bridge in 10 mins - this is an interesting place as it has lovely restaurant by the River Vlatava. Also there are some lovely shops beneath the bridge to shop for Czech art glass - they are varied and interesting. From there ofcourse its just a 10 min walk back across the bridge to Hellichova to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mun M.,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at Hotel William.
As a new hotel manager since 01.09.2013 I will do everything for improve our services.
Greetings from Prague
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#89 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#215 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#154 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#219 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#135 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel William

Property: Hotel William
Address: Hellichova 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel William 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Hotel Prague
Hotel William Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing