We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel William
Ranked #117 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, a few minutes walk to the Charles Bridge, surrounded by pubs and restaurants. The room was a little on the "cosy" side, but the bathroom was a decent size, very clean. The breakfast area is very quaint with a good selection of cheese, meats, breads, fruit, cereal, pastries and a small selection of hot food, sausage, bacon, eggs and beans.
Easy quick check in and out, small elevator and friendly helpful English speaking staff.
The hotel is located in the Lesser Town area which was a little quieter than the Old Town but very central to The Castle and Cathedral, Petrin Hill, Old Town Square and the Astronomical Clock. The zoo was very good, a metro and bus ride away. Cheap transport tickets can be bought from newsagents left and opposite of hotel. A 24 hour pass for Metro, trams, buses and Funicular railway to Petrin Hill is 110 CZK (around £3.60). Food and drink is very good value especially the local dishes outside of the main tourist areas.
We have already recommended this hotel to our friends and family and would have no doubts staying there again when we return the beautiful fairytale city of Prague.

Room Tip: Try to request a higher floor room away from the main street to avoid the slight noise of the trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mutterfamily,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and for indicating you would recommend our Hotel William.
We certainly look forward to welcome you.
Sincerely
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    281
    97
    27
    10
See reviews for
136
281
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The location of this hotel at the price we paid is hard to beat. It is just minutes to Charles Bridge, close to Petrin, right next to Kampa Island. Tram station is right in front of the hotel which is very convenient but may result in a lot of noise at night if you end up with a room facing the street. I recommend asking for a room with a courtyard view. There is no AC, so if this is a deal breaker, book somewhere else. We stayed twice in July 2011 and August 2012 and noticed that not all the rooms are the same size. Breakfast was always decent but they don't always seem to refill everything they run out of during the serving hours, so it pays to get there early. I grew up in the Czech Republic, so language was not an issue for me, but had a chance to observe that the front desk staff spoke fluently at least English and Russian. Upon request, they arranged a ride to the airport for us. It was more expensive than taking a cab but seemed worth it. The driver was on time (actually early), helped with luggage, spoke English (which we did not need), did not drive us around (as cabs often do to charge more) but went straight to the airport, price was preset (however, he charged less in the end that what we agreed on with the hotel receptionist). Overall, the hotel is good value in a great location for a reasonable price; however, nothing fancy and I have to admit, that the decoration of the interior is--well not my taste. The only reason why I am not giving it 5 stars is that on our second visits, it looked like the sheets, towels, and tablecloths have seen better days and the hotel would benefit from some upgrades. But I have to admit, I will take a less than brand new-looking towel over a price of other hotel in the area. Tip: The hotel is 5-10 minutes away from Charles Bridge which gets really crowded in summer. My recommendation:Get up early and have quick breakfast an walk to the Charles Bridge through Kampa. Get there before or around 8 a.m., don't forget your camera, and if the weather cooperates, you won't regret it. You will probably be rewarded by the bridge almost to yourself and have the ability to take some pictures without hundreds of tourists in the background.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a courtyard room to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Vera L.
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
Our hotel offers several sizes of rooms, it is true, and this is due to the historical construction of buildings.
Thank you for your insights for breakfast quality, I will do everything for your satisfaction on your next visit.
Greeting from your home country.
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great old style hotel, which would benefit from some improvements especially in the public areas. The carpet on the stairways looks like it hasn't been cleaned since they opened the Hotel ages ago:-) We would also suggest those intending to come with a bicycle to thing twice about alternatives as the locker room provided is upstairs and doubles as storage for normal luggage, which hve to be removed every time you want to get your bikes out.

Overall a great place to stay with some limitations. We witnessed a few guests heavily complaining about the street noise. We were lucky staying here this May as it seems to be the best month to visit Prague and especially this Hotel - in the summer the guests staying on one of the rooms towards the streets surely will have a little bit bigger problem as we did as you can either close the windows and are reasonable protected against the sounds of the streets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgolander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Helgolander,
thank you for your review from your stay at hotel William and also thank you for your information and observations to the services of cyclists.
With best regards
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Brilliant location, we walked from the metro station, it took us about fifteen minutes. It's the other side of the river the the old town, but it is all within walking distance.
The room was huge, we were on the top floor in a family room.
Plenty of choice for breakfast, for all nationalities!
Room was always clean, and reception very helpful.
Would go and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauralaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Lauralaycock,
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at hotel William.
We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Tomas Lev
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable, with large rooms for a city hotel, and in our experience friendly and helpful staff. Its location is excellent - only a few minutes walk from the western end of the Charles Bridge.
Our room was on the third floor, facing Hellichova, and I think probably rather quieter than those facing the main road (Karmelitska, I think), which carries busy tram traffic - we could sometimes hear them during the night, but not obtrusively.
Breakfast is buffet-style, with both hot and cold food - the latter with a good selection, of good quality. The decoration of the reception/breakfast room is somewhat idiosyncratic, but you soon get used to it - fortunately the same theme isn't repeated in the guest rooms!
There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there are many in the near vicinity, covering a wide range of style, sophistication and cost.
I'm happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main street, and is preferably above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillsCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear WillsCheltenham,
I am most grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor.
We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Sincerely
Tomas Lev
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very nice hotel. Warning, the outside looks bleak, however the inside is totally different. It is in a great location just a few blocks from the St. Charles Bridge which will lead you to the center of town so you are not in the hustle and bustle but very close for easy access. Our room was very neat and clean. We had a 2 bedroom suite (setup for a family). It had a large king sized bed and a sitting room just outside the master bedroom. Then it had a second room with two twin beds. In the sitting room was a love seat which turned into another twin bed. Down the hall within the suite was a very nice bathroom. The shower was the best I have used anywhere! The people who worked there were pleasant and helpful. For me this was a great find in a great location. Breakfast was very nice with lot's of options. Very close to shopping, restaurants, and tour areas. Safe location within the city although I never felt concerned anyplace within the city. A lot of the embassy's were nearby which gives you an idea of the area.

Room Tip: We rented room 103 and loved it but there were 4 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Ray,

thank you for your kind review on Hotel William. It was great to meet you during your stay at our hotel. I am looking forward to your next visit.

Sending regards to you and your family in Utah.

Ivo Velisek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend Hotel William to anyone traveling to Prague! It's in a perfect location, within walking distance of everything you could want to see. Everyone we met during our stay was so friendly, and the breakfast was phenomenal!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiannaB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#80 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#218 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#149 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#121 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#220 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel William

Property: Hotel William
Address: Hellichova 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel William 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Hotel Prague
Hotel William Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing