We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bed, little rooms, bad breakfast. ”
Review of Hotel William

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel William
Ranked #118 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good bed, little rooms, bad breakfast. ”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Atmosphere nice.location good,in the center.supermarket near. Poor and bad quality dishes at breakfast but the rooms are really clean and comfortable.silence nights considered we had the window on the street side.

Helpful?
Thank ziobranco
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    297
    103
    27
    10
See reviews for
150
297
46
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Bolivia
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

First of all, the value for money: you can get a very low price if you book well in advance. Second, location: walking distance from Petrin Park, from Kampa Park, from Charles Bridge... which means you are a few streets far from the very center of Prague but also close to the Prague Castle, so you can walk in one direction one day and visit the other side of the river the next day. Third: rooms are small but recently renovated and confortable (though the beds are a bit hard). Privacy is guaranteed, you don't even go in front of the reception every time you go in and out. In short, a good choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back, so you don't hear the tram on Karmelitska Street during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just had 4 fabulous days in prague helped by this smashing value.for money hotel. Room 505,small but adequate and spotlessly clean. No noise from outside either. Only.one little moan,wish the staff would smile more.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandcking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Value for money good, hotel was clean and breakfast good and well presented, but we found the staff unhelpful and unfriendly. On our checkout day we had to leave the hotel by 7am when breakfast starts. Even though the staff were on duty they did not even switch on the coffee machine until exactly 7am it was almost as if they wanted us to leave before they began serving breakfast even though we had paid for it.

Room Tip: We were on1st floor by main road very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_at_William, Manager at Hotel William, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Elisabeth,

first of all let me thank you for your review. We are very sorry for your discomfort during check-out. There had to be misunderstanding with our staff during your check-out and you were not informed properly. Unfortunately our modern coffee machine have to go through cleaning programme, which takes some time. That procedure was done before breakfast time to ensure the best coffee quality for our guests during breakfast. In this time coffee can not be served, which was propably time of your check-out. But thanks to your valuable input, from now on we will do the cleaning procedure during night time to ensure that the coffee machine is ready even before breakfast time.

We are glad to hear about your experience in our hotel and we hope that this little discomfort will not distract from your overall positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Excellent value for money.The hotel is nice, rooms are renovated and comfortable, basic, but sufficient and with the usual amenities. Breakfast is served in a beautifully decorated dining room and there is more than enough choice to please everyone and a great start to every day. You have enough choice and the staff fills regularly the plates.
The tram stop was just near the hotel but one could easily walk to the Karl's bridge, the castle and other attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Neostream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Every tourist attaction is just a few minutes by foot. We stayed in the family room at the fifth floor, very spacious and very clean. We will definitely stay in this hotel again if we ever go back to Prague.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel is friendly, clean, safe, inviting and typically 'Prague'. Don't get lured in by other hotels saying they are in the middle of the city - likelihood is that you will end up on Wenslesslas square and you will hate it! This lovely hotel is located in the lesser town area of Prague and is a 5 minute walk from the Charles Bridge, Kumar Island, Lennon Wall, Kafka museum etc etc! There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which will take you directly to the metro, Prague Castle and also across the river to the Jewish Quarter. Across the road is the station for the Funicular railway to the top of the hill for glorious views over Prague (top tip - if you don't want to walk up the 300 steps to the viewing deck then get off on the 1/2 way stop on the train and enjoy a drink whist enjoying the views from the lovely cafe/resturant there!).
Back to the hotel! - we were given the biggest room i have ever seen (i think because i had e-mailed them saying it was mum's birthday treat!). Very comfortable beds, nice comfy lounge area, big bathroom and two other bedrooms (locked owing to us not needing them). So ideal for a hen party group or even a family. Breakfast is served on the 'cinderella carriage' and is a quirky mix of small pastries, cold meats and cheese, pickles, chilli peppers, yoghurt, dried fruit and cereal, loads of bread too. On the table opposite you will find the toaster and then a small mix of hot food - eggs, beans and frankfurters. Top Tip - don't delay your breakfast arrival! we got there at 9am (breakfast served 7-10) and there was not a lot left. However the hotel staff are happy to make more eggs!
The hotel has a luggage room and the hotel staff are happy to let you store your stuff before check in and after check out (we left our bags at 10am before the 2pm check in and then picked them up at 7pm after the 11am check out)
All in all a VERY happy stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airhighfiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#82 of 649 in Prague
734 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#127 of 649 in Prague
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Mala Strana
Hotel Mala Strana
#217 of 649 in Prague
593 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#80 of 649 in Prague
814 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Merkur
Hotel Merkur
#111 of 649 in Prague
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel William

Property: Hotel William
Address: Hellichova 5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel William 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
William Hotel Prague
Hotel William Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing