We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotels at there best”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #318 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Tripadvisor and Jet2 holidays have got it right this time ,As always.The hotel is about 1/2 a mile from Wenceslas Sq , Good location ,The breakfast is very good , the hotel is very clean, and the staff are very help full .Four of us stayed for 3 nights mid week break 19/22 November 2013 With Jet2 Holidays. Eating out, There are plenty of restaurant's café We went to Vytopna in Wenceslas sq just in between KFC & Burger king this has a theme to it ,and has large model railway that is through out the building and your drinks are delivered to the table by model rail car. The food is good to. There is another one called Slovacky sklepek on Havelska this is on the same street as the open market just as you walk from the square brilliant. When booking your cab back to the airport use the hotels its cheaper about 550kr £16.50. TIPS do not leave the trip back to the airport to the last min the road to the airport is also the main rd out of town rush hour was bad. Also do not change any money in the street it will be Slovak and it is worth about half the price of CZ

Room Tip: Rooms are large and fully heated c/w shower room and separate area for clothing. Double glazed .c/w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (756)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 756 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel St George during the third week of November. We didn't want to go to Prague during the Christmas markets because we felt it would be too busy and would distract us from the city itself. The hotel is on the corner of a very busy, one-way, three lane road leading away from Wenceslas Square and there is another similar road leading the opposite way just one block behind. Having said that, the traffic and the traffic noise is not really a problem except when you want to cross the road. You must always use the crossings, which are timed in a similar fashion to those in America.
The hotel is typical of a city centre hotel having a small-ish reception on the right with an adjacent lounge, very clean and tastefully furnished. There is a small bar to the left. There are two lifts serving all floors, including the basement. The staff are very pleasant and always willing to help. Prague seems to be full of (well-behaved) students and there were a number staying at the hotel and maybe that is why we were allocated a room on the fifth floor (506), which is in the roof. The room was an adequate size but with a very small bathroom, although the shower cubicle was larger than many.
And now for the bad bits! There were two opening roof lights (Velux type) which of course don't give you a view except of the sky. On one of them the blind would not stay down because the cord was broken and so we left both blinds open all night. (no point having one closed when the other one is open). There were two single beds pushed together, which is quite the norm, but with two single quilts, which isn't. My wife quite liked that idea and to be fair it wasn't really a problem but I do prefer a double, or preferably a king-size quilt. The shower was worse than any that we have encountered before, one second running scalding hot and the next second running stone cold. At least there was room in the cubicle to dodge the water while you tried to sort out the temperature. The showerhead would not stay upright until I jammed a flannel between it and the tiles, which seemed to work reasonably well.
Breakfast was taken in the basement rooms with exposed brick arches, quite quaint really. There was a good selection of cereal, cold meats, hard and soft cheese as well as sliced cheese, boiled eggs and some hot continental sausage and scrambled egg. Also there were mixed vegetables, the sort you get from the freezer shop or out of a tin - very unusual for breakfast! Plenty of different types of bread with butter and conserves and also some yoghurts. Freshly percolated coffee and tea making facilities, all in all quite satisfying.
We didn't have a bad experience at this hotel but I don't think we'd choose to stay here again. It was a bit of a drag to walk back up the hill every day especially after walking around the many cobbled streets and squares of Prague. It didn't in any way detract from a wonderful few days in Prague and if you're not as old and knackered as we are then don't be put off by what I have said.

Room Tip: The attic rooms (fifth floor) are not so good
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laytonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

We are sorry about the Cold/hot water problem , we already repaired the jammed showerhead.
Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

well having stayed here several times before for sporting events this was first time for my wife and some of our group. Upon arrival we had one problem with a room which was quickly rectified . We had our room on the fifth floor and although lacked a view was the only fault we found . The breakfast was the usual continental offering this was more than enough to appease our group. the staff were great keeping everything moving without being obtrusive. The front desk staff were always on hand to answer questions and were able to help everytime . the barstaff were attentive and very good all spoke good English . I would like to thank all for making our stay as enjoyable as it was

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear client,
I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Saint George for your stay.
We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your nice experience on tripadvisor.com.
I would be pleased to help you personally with your future reservation in our hotel, please, do not hesitate to contact me directly on: manager@hotel-st-george.cz.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after a long drive and was straight away suspicious by the somewhat damp reception. It's an old building with friendly staff but the room was stuffy and carpets were dusty, beds were springy, sheets were old and the bathroom, albeit clean had a cracked sink and dust on towel rails and heated towel rack (which was broken) - admittedly it is 3 star hotel in a city that is still rediscovering wealth out of the end of communism... But at least a mattress that didn't leave me feeling like Uncle Fester when I woke up would have been nice.

I had to drink myself to sleep, which wasn't half bad given I'm an alcoholic and there is lots of good wine to sample in Prague.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Aussie-Foodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lumpy mattress with springs you could feel in your back. Lumpy pillows resembling a sack of laundry. Dusty towel rails. Stale smoke smell in the room even though we asked for non smoking. Noisy air conditioning that was too hot and not possible to adjust. Breakfast and service was good.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausietraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I visited Prague with my husband in October for 3 days. We stayed at the St Georges Hotel, it is ideally situated in relation to attractions, close to public transport and approx. 10 minutes walk to Wenceslas Square. Staff are very helpful and friendly and all speak English,very clean, continental breakfast with lots of variety, including some hot food, which is regularly replenished. You need to keep the windows closed in the bedroom because it is close to a busy road, rooms have good heating/air conditioning. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear client,
thank you very much for your stay and your nice review.
We would be very happy to welcome you back in our hotel soon.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed for a city break with my friend as part of a travel package . Very good value . Staff were helpful and pleasant. The decor was interesting, modern yet keeping a traditional Czech charm, lovely paintings and ornaments.The breakfast was continental style but plenty of choice.The radio was annoying however, too loud and interference. Not good after a late night in Prague.Coffee always just luke warm ( but I am now too critical. ) Very good breakfast.Our room was 01 and contrary to another review we could open the window if needed and the temperature was fine.
Looked like the room had a refurbish, good furniture very tidy everything was tasteful and and adequate in size. We were next to the busy road but did not find the traffic noise annoying. Its quiet anyway when you got to bed. Location was a little walk into town 10 mins . No problem I like to walk and look at the area. A comfortable homely feel overall. We had a great stay .

Room Tip: Dont know because I cant compare others ! Room 01 was good for us. Next to reception ( no noise how...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorecambeAlastair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear valued guest,
thank you very much for your stay in hotel Saint George and thank you for your review.
It is nice to hear you were satisfied with us.
Thank you and I would be happy to help you with your possible future reservation.
Markéta Modrá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#288 of 648 in Prague
254 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#132 of 648 in Prague
744 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#351 of 648 in Prague
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#331 of 648 in Prague
316 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#101 of 648 in Prague
860 reviews
Praha 5
Austria Suites
Austria Suites
#275 of 648 in Prague
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Tyrshova 1803/2 | corner with Sokolska, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: $36 - $843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint George 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is set in a renovated historic building dating from the 18th century. It is located 700 metres from Wenceslas Square and offers a wellness area featuring free hot tub and fitness facilities, sauna for a surcharge. The interiors at the Saint George are elegantly decorated with Biedermeier-style furniture. The spacious rooms all feature individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV and a minibar. Guests can relax in a lobby bar with a billiard table, which is opened from morning to late evening. WiFi is available in all guest rooms and public areas free of charge.The I. P. Pavlova transportation hub can be found within 200 metres and the Prague Opera and the National Museum can be reached within a 10-minute walk. The Charles Square is 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St George
St George Prague
St George Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing