We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel,Decent Location”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #321 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Lebanon,Pa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel,Decent Location”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Since this hotel was booked as part of a travel package,I can not honestly comment on the value I received for my money,but I would book this hotel on my own if I were to go back to Prague.
While not 'centrally" located,the hotel is just a few minutes walk to a light rail stop and a five minute drive to the train station.The National Museum end of Wenceslaus Square is about ten minutes on foot,and Old town Square another twenty to twenty five minutes walk from there.Both of these areas are great places to relax and also have quite a few choices for dining and/or drinking.Lots of shopping can be found there as well.Please be aware that the walk back to the hotel from the square is mostly uphill,but it is not a steep walk. There is no secure parking lot for the hotel an spots in the immediate area can be a bit difficult to find.
The staff was very friendly and helpful,and they all speak English well.They can also assist in the booking of some tours and activities.
I stayed in a room on the ground floor next to the street,but the outside noise was minimal.The bed was comfortable,but a bit narrow,and I think that the pillows could be more firm. The bathroom was spacious with enough room around the sink for basic toiletries. There is a step in shower only, no bathtub.
There is only breakfast served at the hotel.The breakfast selection consists of a good variety of hot and cold foods and beverages to satisfy most people,including myself,, but some guests may like a broader variety of choices.
I was very happy with my three day stay at St. George,and I would recommend this accommodation as a lower cost option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear client,
thank you very much for your stay and for your kind review.
I am happy you have found the hotel satistying.
For your possible stay in Hotel Saint George in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I can assign the room with a bath tube for you.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    332
    145
    42
    38
See reviews for
70
340
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very pleasant hotel. Good sized room with comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and all speak English. Tried basic Czech and they helped with pronounciation. Gave directions, when required, to areas in Prague. Great selections for breakfast, either hot or cold. Only 3 or 4 minutes from metro station and tram stops. Would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldandailsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear client,
thank you so much for your nice review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and for your possible future reservation, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá
manager@hotel-st-george.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glostrup
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A very nice and cozy hotel, and the staff was nice and helpfull evrytime we needed help. A very good service. And our room was cozy and clean.
if we visit Praug again, we would like to stay at
hotel St. George again.
we had a very good stay at hotel St. George

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank st2403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear client,
thank you very much for your kind review.
We are happy you have felt good in Hotel Saint George and would be happy to welcome you back in our hotel in near future.
Thank you very much,
Markéta M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Very helpful reception staff who all spoke good English, they will provide advice concerning metro and tour bus tickets, taxis and day trips. Although they may suggest packages that can be cheaper if you 'do-it-yourself'. A 3 day pass to use trams, metro and buses will cost you 310 Czech Crowns and a taxi to the airport should cost between 450 and 550 Czech Crowns.

Breakfast was a typical European spread with frankfurters, scrambled and boiled egg, breads, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, yoghurt, jam, fruit, cake, tea, juice and filter coffee.

Room was spacious comfortable and clean, Bar is open until 11pm and is comparatively priced to the average bar/restaurant in Prague.

We stayed in room 210 which had a window opening onto the interior courtyard. The hotel is kept very warm so we had the window open at night with no noise disturbance.

Improvements would include tea and coffee facilities in the rooms for when the Bar is closed. The hair dryer in the bathroom was very poor quality and there was no way it was going to dry my long hair so I would advice taking your own if you need one.

Overall a very good low cost hotel with easy access to all the attractions in Prague. We used the trams and metro a few times but we also leisurely walked to/from Old town square (30 mins), Charles bridge (40 mins), Prague castle (1 hr), Wenceslas square (15 mins) so that we could enjoy seeing as much of the city as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nhfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear client,
I would like to thank you for your kind review.
We are happy you have been satisfied in our hotel.
If you decide to stay in Hotel Saint George in the future, please, do not hesitate to contact the reception to borrow the kettle in your room.
There are some spare hair dryers also for our clients.
Thank you so much,
Markéta M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dibrugarh, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed on sep 25 and 26. Good and helpful staff at the reception helped us with the maps,cab arrangement ,recommendation on the best places to see on our short visit and everything else we wanted to know.Very good location if you dont mind the noise, clean and spacious room and good breakfast.Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Manisha71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear client,

thank you very much for your stay and your nice review.
We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay in Hotel Saint George and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Thank you
Markéta M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were allocated to this hotel for our Jet2.com minibreak on our first visit to Prague. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is basic continental but you can eat as much or as little as you want. The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from Wenceslas Square, about 20 minutes from the Old Town Square, a further 10 minutes to Charles Bridge.

We will revisit Prague before long probably using Easijet and booking the same hotel again. Until you know Prague better you are best pre-booking airport transfers.

The only problem we found in Prague was that creidit cards are not always accepted when you would expect them to be accepted. The local exchange bureaux vary from bad to good,; if they don't match the displayed rate walk away. Restaurants accepting €'s tend to give you a poor rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a smoke free room away from the main road. They do not provide kettles but let you use your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Merseymog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear valued client,
I would like to thank you for your stay in Hotel Saint George and for your kind review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Prague and in our hotel.
I would be glad to help you with your possible future reservation in our hotel.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just come home from a three day stay at st George,we were in room 001 on the ground floor,the room was spacious and very clean but very very hot at night,we couldn't open the windows as the noise from the very busy road was very loud,wouldn't put me of going back though,don't think the mini bar worked as everything was warm,the fitness room was great after a long day walking,location was perfect,10minutes walk to the centre,staff were very friendly,we would definitely use this hotel again,

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandakaleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear client,
thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy you have found Hotel Saint George satisfying and would be happy to see you in our hotel in near future.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#135 of 649 in Prague
693 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#346 of 649 in Prague
327 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#354 of 649 in Prague
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#283 of 649 in Prague
236 reviews
Praha 2
Residence Select Prague
Residence Select Prague
#333 of 649 in Prague
288 reviews
Hotel Mars
#513 of 649 in Prague
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Property: Hotel Saint George
Address: Tyrshova 1803/2 | corner with Sokolska, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint George 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is set in a renovated historic building dating from the 18th century. It is located 700 metres from Wenceslas Square and offers a wellness area featuring free hot tub and fitness facilities, sauna for a surcharge. The interiors at the Saint George are elegantly decorated with Biedermeier-style furniture. The spacious rooms all feature individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV and a minibar. Guests can relax in a lobby bar with a billiard table, which is opened from morning to late evening. WiFi is available in all guest rooms and public areas free of charge.The I. P. Pavlova transportation hub can be found within 200 metres and the Prague Opera and the National Museum can be reached within a 10-minute walk. The Charles Square is 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St George
St George Prague
St George Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing