We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy but comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #145 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
1 review
“Crazy but comfortable!”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Undoubtedly the best hotel I have visited. Excellent service, nice staff, comfortable and well furnished hotel. What more can I say about hotel where I felt as in a dream? It is situated in very good location, has a wonderful view from the suite's window, likable terrace and crazy style. It creates a positive atmosphere. Do not hesitate and go for it!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the comment.

Best regards

Dagmar Malá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    221
    51
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
604
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benidorm, Spain
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2010

It was my second time in Prague and I decided for small change. Before I stayed at Sax I prefered big, classically decorated hotels but now I know that it isn't only comfort what makes our stay pleasant and happy. Although I am not so artistically based I really liked the hotel decoration – the style is congenial and airy. Hotel staff is great – unobtrusive but still nice. This is what I expect!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpezanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that we delivered the goods.

Best regards

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I chose Sax hotel for it´s design and the location and was absolutely satisfied. The design is fantastic as well as the staff, room and service. The location is the best that can be, just behind the Prague castle, on the side of river, where you are far away from dence crowds of people. Parking was no problem, we had secure parking in front of the hotel for a very good price. Breakfast was substantial. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukasss31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased with your recommendation of our hotel. Thank you!

Kind regards

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pownal, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This was our first trip to Prague, and we found the Design Hotel Sax to be very nice. The staff worked hard to answer our questions, provide services, and make our stay a comfortable one. The location was fine, on a small street just off the streets that led to the Charles Bridge and very near some very good local restaurants. We would stay there again if we return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunwalke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your gladdening review. We are looking forward to see you again!

Best regards

Dagmar Malá and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Just echoing all the good reviews. It's a fun, sexy, sassy hotel - great design and warmth of service, unlike the coldness of hotels trying to be uber cool. Great location in quiet area but close to Charles Bridge. Great staff, and just all the little touches and thoughts that make a difference.

I generally never go back to same hotel twice, but this is definitely one I would.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_am_SFU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your original review!!!

Warm regards


Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Hotel Sax was everything we needed and more for a winter Europe city break. Its location is ideal, not too far from Charles Bridge and other attractions but not in the main tourist area. Picturesque cobbled streets lead you to the good bars and restaurants near by. The retro decor adds individuality and a bit of colour to the place. Good selection of continental breakfast and a small relaxing spa ideal to warm you up after a day spent exploring. Worth going!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your rewarding comments about our hotel.


With best regards

Dagmar Malá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I stayed in Sax for 6 nights and I can highly recommend this hotel. It´s design is special, I felt like in James Bond movie from the 60 ´s ( home of Goldfinger). The breakfast was delicious, with smoked salmon, tomatoes with mozerrela and home made bread. \even the tea at five was great with lot of sweat cakes free of charge! i stayed in room 36, which was standard room ( for a fantastic price 109 euros), it was spacious, full of crazy colours, comfortable bed and pillows. Also notebook in room was free of charge! There is also small terrace with amazing views of Prague castle. The location is close to Charles bridge and all the monuments, i felt like in fairytale when I was walking around all these beautiful churches, castles etc.. I am looking forward to visit this special place soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aef56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your valuable comment, it is nice to read so nice things from our favourite guests. We are looking forward to meet you again at Sax.

Warm regards

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#50 of 670 in Prague
738 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#83 of 670 in Prague
986 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#68 of 670 in Prague
1,718 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#48 of 670 in Prague
288 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#26 of 670 in Prague
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#123 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing