We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Safe, and great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #177 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was impressed by the how they Design their hotel, there will be surprise every level, i took some time to walk each floor using stair and admirer what they decorated each comer of the hotel.
Helpful Staff as they try to explaine everything once you reach their hotel, they tell me everything about prague! there is a lappy in each room for our convenient to surf net, so sweet!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelvin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your nice review. We are glad that we have such an enthusiast in you. We really played with the decorating of the rooms. Hope you made enough pictures. If you ever want to visit Prague again, please do not be hesitate to contact us anytime. We will be happy to accommodate you again. Wish you the best!

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar& hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed in a standard room, which has no external facing windows. The windows instead faced the internal atrium and unfortunately breakfast and afternoon tea is served at the bottom of the atrium. Every morning we were woken very early by the staff setting up breakfast and were then kept awake by the other guests enjoying said breakfast. If you are a heavy sleeper or plan to get up very early every morning to make the most of the sightseeing then this won't bother you. However, for us we like to have a bit of a lie in on holiday and went home feeling more tired than when we arrived. The room was also extremely hot and stuffy, even though the weather outside was cold. Opening the window on to the warm corridor/atrium did not help at all. There was an air conditioning system behind the curtain but if the curtain was closed the cool air didn't circulate and keeping the curtains open was not very appealing due to guests walking along the corridor outside our large window. The hotel's website does say that the windows to the standard rooms face on to the atrium but it doesn't tell you that breakfast and afternoon tea is served at the bottom of the atrium and that sound travels easily under the glass roof! I guess I hadn't fully appreciated how unpleasant it would be to stay in an internal room - so just be aware of what you are booking. On the plus side, the decor was nice, staff very friendly, good location and nice breakfast. If there had been availability for us to stay in a different room then I expect our review of the hotel would have been very different.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esta82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guests,

we are sad that you had this feeling. What a shame you did not book a double deluxe room. It is little bit more expensive but this room has external windows with fresh air. The standart rooms are the chepaest double rooms what we have and yes, as you wrote, on the website is written that this rooms have internal windows to the hotel´s atrium. On the photos you can see how the interior of the hotel looks like. Nobody never complained about the noise from the breakfast. But if you had opened windows it is possible that you heard something. In the standart rooms is air conditioning anyway and it always helps to. So next time you can try one of our rooms with windows, it will be more comfortable for you i think.I Hope you are doing well.

Witkh kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

The trouble was that we payed the room number 31 (design suit with the view), but later, we saw a lack of hot water.. so as the result after a bit long negotiations, we had room number 33, without any view, but it's big and u can smoke at weeny terrace.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Александра С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you anyway for your understanding. As we noticed, unfortunately later - after your arrival, in the room 31 was some problem in the tubes , the preassure of water was lower than usual. We were fully booked but we found a solution together. We removed you to the Superior double deluxe room, which is very nice, spacious and it has a small balcony what other rooms did not have and it is one of the best rooms what we have. Also we apologized by a complementary SPA so hope you enjoyed you stay in the end. We gladly accommodate you anytime in the future again. Just write an e-mail and we will find some nice room for you.

With kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel as a young couple. The location is quiet, near the Petrin hill and only 5 minute walk from the Charles bridge. Breakfast is excellent with daily fresh fruit and included meals. Service is helpful. Tip: don't forget to use the spa!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sander85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your positive feedback. It is always very pleasant to hear about satisfaction of our guests. Hope you enjoyed your visit in Prague with us as much as you could. We will be happy to see you in hotel Sax again!

Best regards,

Dagmar & Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent hotel. We stayed 4 nights at that beautiful hotel, and enjoyed every minute. The location is perfect, between the Castle and Charles Bridge.
The rooms are very clean and unique. Each room is different. The breakfast is delicate and tasty. Staff is very friendly.

Next visit to Prague, I will definitely stay in this excellent hotel again.

I am fully recommending this hotel.

Best Regards

Haya - Israel

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but I think the delux rooms are better then the standard rooms since they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haya-Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Mr. Haya,

we remember you very well. You were very nice, likeable, always smiling guest. We tried to help you with every request and hope also successfully. If anytime you want to visit our hotel again, please do not be hesitate to contact us directly via e-mail or telephone. We are looking forward to see your nice face again !

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our second stay at the Vintage Design Hotel Sax, then known simply as the Hotel Sax, and we definitely would return. It's cheerfully theme-designed in 1970s style, with pleasant (and clean) rooms and bathrooms, helpful staff, and great breakfasts, not to mention afternoon tea. The management has put a lot of thought into extras such as a large selection of DVDs, and the hotel's location is perfect--in Mala Strana, just below Castle Hill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmack08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guests,

we are so glad that you honored us by your second visit. I dare say that you were satisfied twice with us and hope we will surprise you maybe third time. Me and my staff will welcome you always with arms wide open ! Have a nice time!

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a great stay at hotel Sax. The hotel is just a few minutes away from the castle and the Charles Bridge. Make sure you book a deluxe room so you can open a window because it gets hot in the room. Unfortunately we were on the first floor so we couldn't sleep with an open window because of the noise. That was the only thing I didn't like about our stay. I don't think the hotel was fully booked, and we got a room on the first floor. I would have rather had a room with a nice view. Nevertheless, we had a great stay. The rooms are very nicely decorated, and the shower was just amazing! Furthermore, the breakfast is really great and the staff is very friendly. If I ever come back to Prague I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room so you can open a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrid U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guests,

we really thank you for your possitive feedback to our hotel. We are glad that you had a nice experience and that you were satisfied with location, equipment, decoration. About your room, we really did not have more double deluxe rooms. We have two in the highest floor, but they are renovated during March, April and the rest were occupied. The double deluxe in the first floor is really nice one so we hope you enjoyed it. We will be happy if you ever come back to Prague and wewill gladly welcome you again in hotel Sax!

With kind regards,

Dagmar& Hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#37 of 646 in Prague
861 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#65 of 646 in Prague
1,849 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#182 of 646 in Prague
1,498 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#59 of 646 in Prague
1,209 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 646 in Prague
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#65 Family Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#146 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $76 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing