We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standard, great location, yummy food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #144 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“High standard, great location, yummy food”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here with my sister and friend in Dec and was really impressed. From arriving at the hotel and getting an early check-in, we were shown around the hotels facilities which include a spa and gym (additional costs to use) and free tea making facilities including afternoon tea every day (free of charge). Each room is decorated in a very funky and unique way with comfortable beds, warm rooms and good showers including flat screen TV and satellite channels including english movie channels. Include a large selection of dvds which may be useful if travelling with young children.

It is located near Prague castle ( 5min walk) and approx 10-15min walk to Charles bridge and the old town square. Feels like a very safe area with restaurants and wine bars etc nearby which are much less touristy than in the old square etc. Short walk to tram stop if you want to travel further afield for sightseeing.

The breakfast was a buffet option including meats/ cheeses/ cereals/ fresh bread/fruit and some hot options of sausages/ mushrooms etc and one main meal per person from a selection of french toast/ pancakes/ omelette. Very filling and tasty! We had a wonderful stay and could not fault the friendly staff and perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Jessica M,

we would like to thank you for your praise. We think our hotel is suitable for the young people because of the colorful and funny decoration. So we are glad you have enjoyed the stay here. Also the breakfast is colorful and various as you could notice. If you ever want to visit Prague again - we will happily accomodate you.

Regards,

Dagmar & Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    221
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
605
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Felt so welcomed upon arrival; although arrived at 10pm, the very helpful staff still showed us around the dinning room and coffee room!
Requested a room on the higher floor with a view and the hotel did read out request! We got a room on the 4th floor, overlooking the cathedral!
Room is very clean. There is a laptop in every room, even though we didn't use it because we brought our own, it's a very nice offer for those who travel light! The room is in good size. Also, there is a printer for guests, very convenience since we need to print out bus and train tickets for our journey. Tea and water are free to refill in the coffee room, however it will be great to have it in the room, without going all the way down to the lobby.
Breakfast are ok. Everyday selections are different for the buffet. There are rooms for improvements but for the price I paid and this boutique hotel, I am quite satisfied.
The hotel situated near the embassy which is very safe, all vehicles passed by needed to be checked. Walkable distance to the Castle and Charles Bridge but still give you the quietness you want for leisure travel. We walked everywhere and did not take any transportation throughout apart from airport transfers!

Room Tip: our room is on the 4th floor, overlooking the cathedral. It's quiet but it's the penthouse s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are so glad for your possitive feedback. Our staff is 24 hours/day on the reception - always helpful, smile and in a good mood - even on 10pm. Although it is not our duty to comply with the comments mentioned in the reservation ( like you want a higher floor) - we always try to accommodate them as much as possible. In your room was a nice view over the Prague roofs - it is right. We are happy you liked it. You were close to everything and very safe because of the embassy. That´s why is Hotel Sax very good choice. We will be happy to accomodate you and your family anytime in the future. Happy New Year wish

Dagmar & Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for a long weekend in November. The hotel is a little gem. Design is quirky, hotel is clean and spacious and the staff were friendly and willing to help with all our queries. Loved eating breakfast in the dining space- good selection of food in a fun space.
Definite recommendation!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MissCMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your recommendation. It was a pleasure to have such nice guests in our hotel. We are so happy to hear you were satisfied with all mentioned things. You are always welcomed in Hotel Sax!

Best regards,

Dagmar & Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on Avon United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband booked a long weekend in Prague for my birthday and warned me that I will either love or hate this hotel.....however he need'nt have worried as I loved it! It was so different to any other hotel I have stayed at as it was all decorated in 50's - 70's deco. Location is perfect for all attractions especially the castle and the bridge and staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and had everything you could want including bath robes, hair dryer, tv, DVD player, bathroom scales and laptop! Oh and not forgetting the huge rain shower which was lush!. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard and fresh water and snacks were left every day. The breakfast was perfect and there was a lot of variety. The French toast is certainly worth a try. I would certainly return here if I came back to Prague. Thank you for making our trip so perfect :-)

Room Tip: We went for a delux room as they had an outside window which I don't think the standard rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guests,

we are so happy for your satisfied comment. Me and my colleagues from the restaurant are pleased by your positive feedback on the breakfast. I hope you enjoyed Prague and you will get back soon! You are always welcomed in hotel Sax!

Sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights during our honeymoon trip. The room and bathroom are very clean. Friendly staff. Though it is not located at the old town square, it is an excellent choice if you want to stay away from the crowd but still enjoy the convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendee0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your positive feedback. Hope you enjoyed the honeymoon in Prague and also you will visit us again for example in some warmer weather - Prague is very beautiful in spring and summer! See you next time!

Best wishes,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
244 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Walking distance...to everything. Explore the back streets. Takes you directly to the bottom of the castle. Also very close to tram stations, metros, and Charles bridge. The location is amazing! The ease of travel to other places was more than enough reason to stay there!

Room was spacious, clean and VERY comfortable. Amazing pillows and beds. Felt like I was sleeping on clouds. Very chic design too.

Breakfast and afternoon tea is delicious. For breakfast, make sure you give the French toast a try. It's mouthwatering delicious!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkPanda1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased by your nice comment. To read your positive impressions is so fulfilling! We will try more and more to meet the requirements of our guests. Hope to see you again in hotel Sax!

Kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The location of Sax is unbeatable, being in the heart of lesser town and at the foot of the Prague castle. We stayed for three nights and could not have picked a better place. You are literally 2 minutes away from Neruda street, part of the royal way that leads up to the castle (we didn't realize this until the last day we were there) and just 5 minutes from the famous Charles Bridge so we were able to get up early one morning and got pictures before anyone else gets there. And that's just the advantage of Sax's location, everything else about the hotel was just exactly what we needed. Clean spacious room with a bright design, cozy lobby with friendly and knowledgeable staff, a terrace with a view of the castle, and the amazing spread of breakfast. I ordered the french toast every morning it was that good. I was definitely glad we stayed in lesser town (Malastrana). It's beautiful and not as crowded with tourists and cheap trinket shops as the old town. We walked along the river from malostraska station to Legion Bridge, simply the most peaceful and scenic walk and best view of the charles bridge from both side. And eat at U magistra kelly if you are in the area. Thank you Sax for a memorable and comfortable stay in Prague.





Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Phoenix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for such inspiring and beautiful review. As we say: the breakfast is the start of the day :) We have a really good position in Prague. We have close to everything and we are not directly in the biggest tourist centre of Prague. We are 10 minutes by walk from the centre BUT also 5-10 minutes from the Prague castle - one of the biggest prague attraction. It is just amazing! If you ever will visit Prague again - you are welcome in hotel Sax !

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#51 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#77 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#45 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#125 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing