We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #152 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband booked a long weekend in Prague for my birthday and warned me that I will either love or hate this hotel.....however he need'nt have worried as I loved it! It was so different to any other hotel I have stayed at as it was all decorated in 50's - 70's deco. Location is perfect for all attractions especially the castle and the bridge and staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and had everything you could want including bath robes, hair dryer, tv, DVD player, bathroom scales and laptop! Oh and not forgetting the huge rain shower which was lush!. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard and fresh water and snacks were left every day. The breakfast was perfect and there was a lot of variety. The French toast is certainly worth a try. I would certainly return here if I came back to Prague. Thank you for making our trip so perfect :-)

Room Tip: We went for a delux room as they had an outside window which I don't think the standard rooms ha...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear guests,

we are so happy for your satisfied comment. Me and my colleagues from the restaurant are pleased by your positive feedback on the breakfast. I hope you enjoyed Prague and you will get back soon! You are always welcomed in hotel Sax!

Sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for Vintage Design Hotel Sax
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 999 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights during our honeymoon trip. The room and bathroom are very clean. Friendly staff. Though it is not located at the old town square, it is an excellent choice if you want to stay away from the crowd but still enjoy the convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendee0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your positive feedback. Hope you enjoyed the honeymoon in Prague and also you will visit us again for example in some warmer weather - Prague is very beautiful in spring and summer! See you next time!

Best wishes,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Walking distance...to everything. Explore the back streets. Takes you directly to the bottom of the castle. Also very close to tram stations, metros, and Charles bridge. The location is amazing! The ease of travel to other places was more than enough reason to stay there!

Room was spacious, clean and VERY comfortable. Amazing pillows and beds. Felt like I was sleeping on clouds. Very chic design too.

Breakfast and afternoon tea is delicious. For breakfast, make sure you give the French toast a try. It's mouthwatering delicious!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkPanda1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

we are very pleased by your nice comment. To read your positive impressions is so fulfilling! We will try more and more to meet the requirements of our guests. Hope to see you again in hotel Sax!

Kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The location of Sax is unbeatable, being in the heart of lesser town and at the foot of the Prague castle. We stayed for three nights and could not have picked a better place. You are literally 2 minutes away from Neruda street, part of the royal way that leads up to the castle (we didn't realize this until the last day we were there) and just 5 minutes from the famous Charles Bridge so we were able to get up early one morning and got pictures before anyone else gets there. And that's just the advantage of Sax's location, everything else about the hotel was just exactly what we needed. Clean spacious room with a bright design, cozy lobby with friendly and knowledgeable staff, a terrace with a view of the castle, and the amazing spread of breakfast. I ordered the french toast every morning it was that good. I was definitely glad we stayed in lesser town (Malastrana). It's beautiful and not as crowded with tourists and cheap trinket shops as the old town. We walked along the river from malostraska station to Legion Bridge, simply the most peaceful and scenic walk and best view of the charles bridge from both side. And eat at U magistra kelly if you are in the area. Thank you Sax for a memorable and comfortable stay in Prague.





Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Phoenix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

we thank you for such inspiring and beautiful review. As we say: the breakfast is the start of the day :) We have a really good position in Prague. We have close to everything and we are not directly in the biggest tourist centre of Prague. We are 10 minutes by walk from the centre BUT also 5-10 minutes from the Prague castle - one of the biggest prague attraction. It is just amazing! If you ever will visit Prague again - you are welcome in hotel Sax !

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I loved the decor in this hotel. Every last detail is 60s/70s-chic. Exploring the hotel was almost as much fun as exploring Prague. The buffet breakfast was very good, the views from the roof were fantastic, and the little "extras" like having a laptop in our room and getting a little tray of snacks each day really made the experience perfect. We were never able to find the afternoon tea -- just a machine -- but the snack platters in our room mostly made up for it. The neighbourhood was a good choice, in that it's in a quieter part of the city but very close to the Old Town. I had a bit of a dispute with a difficult staff member upon leaving, but that was the only negative experience (and to be fair, it turned out that she was mostly right). The price seemed high to me, but I think it was moderate for Prague, and by staying three nights we got a reasonably good deal. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms have only internal windows. If you open your curtains, people walking through the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guests,

it is nice to hear that you liked our decor and small extras in your room. We just want to make your stay as comfortable as is possible. The 5 o´clock tea is in our hotel every day - we prepare coffee, tea and some afternoon snack so it is weird that you could not find it.
Anyway we are looking to welcome you again in hotel.

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a tough one. Okay, first the upside. The hotel is an easy walk to the Charles Bridge. I liked the neighbourhood as it seemed to be a mix of business and private homes and so felt more like a "real" neighbourhood. As to the hotel itself? It's not like any you've ever stayed in before. The high concept design is amazing. My husband was suspicious that the 70s thing was going to be an excuse for old and tired. Far from it! There is almost a museum quality feel to the decoration and design of the place. I've never seen anything like it. The breakfast options were diverse and suited us very well; the included afternoon tea was a nice touch with a lovely selections of canapés. A great thing for those with tired feet who needed some down time before even thinking about what to do about dinner. One young man on staff (they all have excellent English) gave us 2 great recommendations for dinner out: one "classic" Prague and one "new cuisine" Prague. Great food in both cases. Our second room (more on that later) was terrific -- top floor overlooking the city. Great bed and bathroom (they include a weigh scale if you want to know how much you've been eating!). Windows that opened so that we could control the temperature most effectively as we like a cool room in which to sleep.

Which leads to the difficulty. Be very careful that you understand what you are booking as the rooms are quite different. We hadn't realized that the room we had booked overlooked the internal atrium which is artificially lighted well into the night. The sounds from the lounge/eating area echo up to the glassed in roof above. There is a walkway right outside the room's windows whereby other guests access their rooms. That means you aren't going to sleep with the windows or draperies open. We tried to turn on the AC (both to cool the room and mask noise) but were informed that in winter (this is October 7) the hotel air was turned to warming instead of cooling. It was stuffy and hot and there wasn't anything we could do about that. We asked for a different room which was not possible until the next day. I appreciate that we were given what we had reserved -- we just hadn't realized that wasn't what we wanted! Not the hotel's fault and we really appreciate their ability to give us a different room for the last 2 nights of our stay.

Dining out in the city was very cheap for us Canadians (dinner for 2 with 2 courses and wine was maybe $50 Canadian before tip -- and we never quite figured out if we were supposed to tip or not, so we just did.) The hotel was about $200 Canadian a night for that interior room which seemed pricey by comparison. Perhaps that is the going rate for interior rooms in Prague, we haven't done any subsequent research on the point.

There is a fitness facility, at a substantial additional cost for using it. That is unusual in our experience. We have found that such facilities if available are routinely included in the room rate. Not having visited the Czech Republic before, perhaps this is customary there.

The hotel arranged transfers to/from the rail station and a city tour which was all very helpful.

So all in all, a mixed review. And the ratings are hard to apply. That which I've rated as "excellent or "very good" relates to the second room. The value I am rating as "poor" based on the first room.

Room Tip: Research carefully as the rooms are all very different.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tansay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

in this case we have a clear concience because you've got exactly the room you have ordered. On our website,on booking.com, everywhere is a description of every room in our hotel. About the standart double room there is written:,,Their windows look out upon Prague design hotel inside a glass-covered atrium". And there you can see also the pictures. Yes, these are the cheapest rooms, which suits some customers (a view of the city they do not prefer), but if you prefer certain conditions- the cheapest is not always the best option.

And of course, we understand your needs so we did not have any problems to change your room for better next day. And we are happy that you liked it.

To air-conditioning - hotel is in an old building and it is usually quite cold in Prague at this time, so we heat. Unfortunately, it is possible to heat the whole building and not individual rooms separately.

However, we thank you for your positive reviews of the hotel and hopefully next time it will be a better selection of suitable rooms for you and you will enjoy Prague again.

Regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

vey nice,clean hotel with a very polite and helpful staff-everybody spoke english;localisation perfect-you can go sightseeing on foot,many restaurants are just around the corner,breakfast tasty and a nice suprise with an afternoon tea and cakes,rooms are charming (you should choose one with a street view)

Room Tip: there are two kinds of rooms-some have a view on a street and some on a glass covered atrium
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annika5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your nice review. Hope you enjoyed the stay here and everything was to your liking. We will be happy to welcome you again at hotel Sax!

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#71 of 648 in Prague
1,091 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#42 of 648 in Prague
801 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#39 of 648 in Prague
321 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#12 of 648 in Prague
717 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#34 of 648 in Prague
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#130 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing