We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique style boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #152 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our family stayed in two different rooms on the 3rd floor. The suite has a good view of the Prague castle, whereas the other room has small windows that look out to the Petrin Hill. The rooms tend to be on the smaller size, but quite comfortable. One thing we wish for our room was for the toilet and the bathroom to be together or next to each other. But they are completely separate, which is a bit of an inconvenience. The decor of the hotel is quite interesting - as its name suggests, it has vintage and retro items all around. Some may think of it as bold and odd; I think it's kind of cute.

We like the location of this hotel, being in Mala Strana, away from the hustle and bustle of Old Town. It's still within walking distance to tram stop, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Prague Castle and Monastery. Prague is a very walkable city when it comes to sights for tourists. Because of the proximity of this hotel to embassy buildings (including U.S.), cars passing by the area need to be stopped and checked by police.

The complimentary breakfast is very good. Aside from all the items placed for self-service, you can also have cooked to order breakfast, which is delicious and of a good portion. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank applied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for your possitive feedback. We hope that we usually met your expectations and that we even sweetened your stay in Prague. You stayed in the Superior double deluxe room - which has a separate toilet and bathroom. Our other rooms has these rooms in one. So it a coincidence that you get right this one. However the Superior room is one of the best in the hotel - it has a hall, small balcony, nice bathroom and it is very quiet room. So I think it was very good choice for you. Next time you can try our other rooms - you will be welcomed anytime.

Kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for Vintage Design Hotel Sax
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 998 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Choosing a hotel in Prague is not all that easy: once you're past chain hotels housed in communist-era buildings, you're faced with a bewildering choice of small B&Bs and boutique hotels. As we wanted something special, we opted for Vintage Design Hotel Sax and didn't have any regrets. It's conveniently located in Mala Strana, just 10 min walk to the Prague Castle. Each corner of this hotel is filled with quirky furniture or memorablia from 60's and 70's - both Czech and European. But it doesn't mean that the place leaves a "mothballed" feeling. All amenities are from the 2010's: super-comfy bed and pillows, well-equipped shower, well-stocked mini-bar. As a bonus to our superior room we had a charming view over Mala Strana rooftops and Prague Castle. The hotel staff was quite welcoming and efficient, but could have been more cheerful and anticipating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxLondon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your inspiring review. We are so glad that you like our decoration and collection. We will constantly strive to learn new things and improve to us for all future guests . Hope to see you next time.

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I loved reliving my youth surrounded by an eclectic collection of wallpaper, furniture, art, artifacts and objets d'art from the 60s to 80s. I had nights here and tried to extend my stay but they were booked out. The location is very quiet and secure (near the closely-guarded American embassy) but within easy walking distance to the castle and all of the old town highlights. A simple but good breakfast is included until a very relaxing 11am. The free wifi is excellent. Not quite an 'apartment' as advertised, as there's no facilities to cook, but I had a bedroom and bathroom with a sitting room, all of which were very well lit, roomy, very clean and comfortable with an espresso machine, bar fridge and 2 TVs. The female reception and restaurant staff were excellent....the males could be a little friendlier. I would highly recommend anyone stay here. I notice there was a complaint from a TripAdvisor correspondent regarding not being informed about the terrace, spa etc. There is a very comprehensive booklet in the room which has all this information available, but I would suggest that the staff could quickly inform each guest on arrival about these as the booklet is a little weighty to peruse. I had a look at the terrace and it is tiny, with not much of a view, and when I was there it was too cold to sit outside anyway. I didn't use the spa or other services, or have afternoon tea so cannot comment on these.

Room Tip: There's an elevator so it's easy to get to any room. I had a front room and it was very qui...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flitzaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased for your friendly comment. What a shame that we did not have rooms available and you couldn't have stayed longer. We hope that it wasn´t your last stay in our hotel and we will see you next time. Then you can try our other services like gym or SPA and we will do our best to make you stay as comfortable as possible.

With kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

everything is strange in this hotel. first we ask when we arrive if the breakfast in the terracw was near the entrance and the guy said it was right there
the next day we discover that for the terrace we were supose to fill a form to reserve the terrace. Then on the second day we notice that the shampoo that the lady left in the bahtroom was half empty and in the end of the day we realise that we didnt have any new shampo and soap for the shower. we went downstairs and this things in the bahtroom is the lady from the cleaning that leave them and we are supposed to pay her for those this is not included in the price of the room.... and no one says anything,this is not normal, at least and minimun is to inform the guest about this things, but they dont care less. I have never seen such a thing. or at least they should have told us. this hotel never ever again!! but its your choice and risk to take, unless they change and enhance their service.

3  Thank TelmaLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

unfortunately i do not exactly know what do you mean by your comment. I didn´t understand the whole context. Yes we do an extra service – breakfast on terrace – you have to fill the form what would you like to eat and we will bring it upstairs. Because we can´t know what would you like to have for breakfast. Anyway breakfasts are every morning in the hotel´s lobby from 7 to 11 am. You could ask for more infromation of the hotel´s staff at the reception or in the lobby. Everybody are very friendly and they speak good English – they are happy that they can help you with everything. The second thing is the shampoo and the soap. We give to the rooms the new shampoo and soap every day and if somebody want something extra – we will bring it to the room immediately ( in every room is the telephone to the reception – we are ready to solve any problem when you call). Our housekeeping team is in the hotel for 4 years and never happened something like that. I cannot imagine that you had to pay for shampoo – which is of course for free and everybody in the hotel know this information. You even have a confirmation in your reservation where is written that the Yves Rocher cosmetic is included in the price. So why if you had any problems, you did not spoke with our reception – they are 24 hours at the hotel– we would solve any problem. I spoke with whole hotel staff and ask who does know you or who met somebody with this problem to solve who did the mistake and fix it but no one knows anyone like you. So I am really confused and sad that if something of these problems happened – nobody complained and we could not do anything.

Sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Everything in this hotel is thoughtfully chosen. Every table, lamp, chair is 60's modern. Nothing is out of sorts or out of place. Located in Mala Strana. Across the bridge from Old Town and a close walk to Prague Castle. Great breakfast spread!
My only complaint is I was unaware of some of their amenities until it was too late. Such as roof top patio, spa, and sauna. Oh well maybe next time.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet. Maybe request a room with a view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear guests,

We are happy that you liked the decor of our hotel. It took a long time to collect all these design stuffs. We always tell to our guests on check in these important things like - we have a SPA, terrace etc. In July and August we accepted two new employees so maybe they forgot to tell you about all our amenities. I am sorry that you couldn´t try it. I hope maybe next time you will. We will we pleased if you return to hotel Sax ever again.

Kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

this hotel better than the 5 star hotel in the same block. Clean excellent breakfast and tea in the evening I am going for the 4th time this October price reasonable .simply fantastic I stayed in amethyst grand hotel and spa wich is a block away that is a very good hotel. This for the half price is equally good

Room Tip: ask for out side rooms non smoking facility. just simply the best in Prague nothing to choose clos...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raghava R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Raju,

thank you very much for your nice review. We are so happy that you keep coming back to us.There will always be our pleasure to meet your requirements and expectations. We will see you this weekend in the hotel again - looking forward to it !

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Fun modern design, large, clean and well-lit rooms, and a great location just below the castle. Couldn't ask for more. A more than ample hot and cold breakfast is also included, along with free, speedy wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halliejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for another possitive feedback. This is exactly why we enjoy our work - satisfied customers. We will welcome you back at hotel Sax anytime.

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#71 of 648 in Prague
1,090 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#42 of 648 in Prague
800 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#39 of 648 in Prague
321 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#12 of 648 in Prague
717 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#34 of 648 in Prague
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#130 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing