We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #149 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our experience at the sax hotel was great, hotel design is great very unique, room was clean, breakfast was good, afternoon snacks are provided are also great added value, sleep quality was good (king size mattress was one unit and not two attached like sometimes provided in hotels), staff was nice, hotel covered with wifi which is standard those days but also each room include a laptop which is very useful.
Hotel location is cross the river from the old town, which might be the only disadvantage but on the other hand it's located near us embassy which makes it safer i guess and quieter at night, and its close to Prague castle and Petrin hill, anyway it's about 5 minutes walk to Charles bridge and maybe 15-20 to old town square.
Overall only good things to say, we enjoyed our staying at the hotel, and decently recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad that you did enjoy your vacation and hope that you would visit us again in the future.
With my Kindest Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

It is difficult to describe the Design Sax Hotel. What can I say? Wonderful? Perfect? Maybe unforgettable is the right word. I can affirm without any doubt that Sax was the hotel I got more satisfied to stay in during my life. Staying in Sax for me was not a simple stay, it was an experience. Is Sax the most luxurious hotel? No. Is the most confortable? No. Has Sax the best location? No. Has the best breaksfast? No. Sax may not be the best in any isolated aspect, but when we put everything together, Sax becomes one of the best, great, funny and unforgettable hotels I ever stayed.

Location is not exactly the best in terms of proximity from main touristic places. It is necessary to walk around 15-20 minutes to get the old city. In order to arrive the hotel, is necessary to walk through a steep street. It is not so steep, but it may become more difficult to win it with luggages. I recommend to get a taxi from airport or train station. On the other hand, the hotel is located in a very calm street without any noise and near to USA Embassy, maybe one of the safest places in Prague

We were very welcomed in the reception, we received informations about the hotel and maps and recommendations about the city.

The hotel interior is unique, fully decorated with furnitures and objects from 50's to 70's at most. It has a glass roof that provides natural light. We walked through the whole hotel in order to see all those things. It was very funny, each area had a surprise. Wonderful! We reserved a room with outside windows. There are some other rooms with windows that open for the hotel interior. The room was beautifuly decorated. Bed was quite confortable, we had good sleep on there. Each room has one laptop with free internet. Bathroom could be bigger, but it is not really a problem, just ok.

The hotel offers an afternoon tea, very nice for taking a break. The breakfast had a good variety of tasteful food, very nice. Besides the regular buffet, it is possible to choose some other things from the menu that are prepared on demand. We simply loved the french toasts with red fruits, the best I ever ate, delicious! The breakfast was really good, but it became even better with Elvis Presley, Beatles and some other great names of the music playing on the sound system. We had good times during the breaksfast.

The staff was very pleasant and prompt to answer the requests and most of them speak English very well. Special mention for Jan, the young guy who works on the restaurant during breaksfast and tea. I hope I wrote his name correctly, sorry if I didn't. He is great, very friendly, attentive and I got the impression that he really likes his job. He helps to maintain that lovely atmosphere of the hotel.

Last but not least, we loved, we really loved the small bag of "C's" we received after the check out. Thanks a lot, we made a small but beautiful mini-curtain with them. :-) This was the perfect gift to conclude a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Renato_Mechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear guest,
I would honestly like to thank you for such a kind comment. We are very pleased that you experienced great time in SAX and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon. Also i would like to thank you for so many beautiful photos.
With Kind Regards
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in a suite for 7 nights. Overall we had a good stay. Breakfast is very good and you can choose from a freshly cooked hot menu.
There was very stong smell in the living room which was very annoying.
The location of the hotel is excellent if you are staying for less than 3 days, if you are staying for more than that, then perhaps its better to stay in the old town as you will be bored from walking every day to the center for 20m!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Waleed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are very sorry for inconveniences with the smell in your room. There was a problem with the floor, the room is under reconstruction now and everything will be again without faults :)
Best regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was amazing!! It was very well located on the castle side and allowed us to walk in the early mornings before the hoards of tourists descended upon the area. The breakfast buffet was a great start and the afternoon tea was a very welcome treat to rest the feet in the afternoons! We absolutely loved the decor - patterned wallpapers and blast from the past artifacts made it very special. Would be lovely as a couple getaway too.

Room Tip: We got bumped up to a luxury room under the roofs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank camsbeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your beautiful review. We are delighted with your feedback and also with the fact that you really enjoyed your vacation at our hotel.
With kind regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent four wonderful days in Prague. The hotel is a real experience. It seems to really live in those wonderful 60's (with a bit of nostalgia). Inside, the presence of numerous objects of the most famous designers in the world make this experience even more charming and unique. The hotel is situated in an ideal location as it is safe and quiet but at the same time close to the castle and Charles Bridge. Breakfast is excellent as well as the 5 o'clock tea in the lobby. The staff is friendly and very professional ... our special thanks to Martina, Jan and the friendly driver from / to the airport. We recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to live in prague as a unique experience. Miriam & Luca from Italy

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank falcolux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear guest,
we thank you for so nice comment and we are really happy that you did enjoy your stay at our hotel with our personal treatment.
Thank you for your visit.
Our best regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a great hotel, located very close to Prague castle (and super close to public transit!). It's a little hard to find, without a good map, but once you've found it, it's very easy to get back to.

We stayed on the top floor, and had a view of the St Nicholas church, and a partial view of Prague castle. The view, was simply, amazing. We took so many pictures out the window, at different times of day, just because of how stunning the view was.

The hotel itself has a really retro design - but with a modern spin. The rooms are equipped with a laptop (HUGE surprise!), and satellite tv (although, we couldn't figure out how to work the satellite part -- but regular tv worked).

The room and bathroom were both quite a bit larger than most rooms we've encountered in Europe, which was a nice surprise. It's tucked away in a little neighborhood, which is just far enough off of the main path, that it's quite quiet. The location, with regards to all the sites in Prague is really great. You can walk to everything, within 10 - 15 minutes. We also found that it was close to a tram line, which helped for lugging around luggage.

The breakfast they serve (which i believe is included in the room rate) is really awesome. They had everything one could imagine.

The staff is also really attentive, and willing to help the guests with everything (they also speak fluent english, for those of you who aren't fluent in Czech!)

I'd definitely stay here again, and recommend to friends/family!

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor - amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Elisarigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear guest,
i am glad to thank you for such a warm review. You are right, the view from 4.th floor is really breathtaking. We hope you will come to visit us again.
With kind regards
Dagmar Malá and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Excellent location, near the center but in a quite place (near USA embassy and Malastrana square). Clean, big and original rooms. Incredible relation quality vs price. We will come back ti this hotel un Prague.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Serdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,
i would like to thank you for your nice review, it is great to see another satisfy comment from our guest. We hope you will really come to visit our hotel again.
Best regards
Dagmar and hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#39 of 647 in Prague
820 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#70 of 647 in Prague
1,114 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#37 of 647 in Prague
324 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 647 in Prague
731 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 647 in Prague
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#128 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: $76 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing